2001 Oldsmobile Intrigue Reviews - Page 5 of 7

2001 Oldsmobile Intrigue GL 3.5L from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.5L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance52000 miles
Previous carBuick Skyhawk

Summary:

A competent touring car

Faults:

Drivers window operator failed at about 30,000. Repaired under warranty.

Replaced OE tires at 25,000.

General Comments:

Excellent interstate car. Comfortable, roomy and convenient. 30+ mpg at 75 mph+. Cruises easily at 2000 rpm, 75 mph. Down shifts on hills where I would make them with a manual transmission.

Automatic, dual cabin environmental controls took some getting use to, but now I wouldn't trade them.

Best (smooth and responsive) passing acceleration between 55-90 that I've experienced.

Dead pedal is in perfect spot at correct angle for me.

Caveats - I maintain this car religiously. Oil changes 3-5000 miles. Tire rotation and balance every other oil change and 2 wheel alignments. I burn mid-grade fuel instead of regular.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th July, 2004

27th Sep 2007, 09:07

I wrote the original review that I'm commenting on. It's now September 2007 and the '01 Intrigue has about 86,000 miles on it.

Since the original review, I've had to have the wiring harness under the battery rebuilt, replaced the regulators in all 4 windows, the transmission and, most recently a crankshaft position sensor. The the final drive bearing failed and required transmission replacement at 84k.

When I talked to GM the only help they offered was a customer loyalty discount toward purchase of a new car. I told them I wouldn't be needing that. There are still many features I like about the Intrigue, but I'll be looking for them in a non-GM car in the future.

2001 Oldsmobile Intrigue from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Looks can be very deceiving

Faults:

Oh my god everything!

I've taken this junkyard car to the mechanic about 28 times.

It broke down in the middle of the street at 20,000 miles.

Typing its performance in the winter here would be just way too much for you.

Horrible get up and go.

Just one big mistake. I don't have bad driving habits, I took very good care of that lemon. But nothing seemed to work.

Power lock controls stopped working.

General Comments:

It looks nice.

If you're thinking about buying an Intrigue, please do yourself a favor and don't. The car will just put you in a horrible mood.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th July, 2004

29th Jul 2004, 11:57

So... you don't like your Intrigue... Fine, go back to your Toyota and stop complaining alright. My family has been buying Oldsmobiles since 1947 and we don't have any complaints about them except that they are stopping the production! Oh, and for your information, if you drive another Oldsmobile, your opinion would probably change, since they're better than Japanese cars and most American cars (i.e. Ford).

2001 Oldsmobile Intrigue GX 3.5 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.5 Don't Know
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Intrigue

Summary:

Decent car

Faults:

The only thing that has gone wrong on the car is the Hazard switch. On all 2001 Alero the hazard switches have been recalled for defect, but Oldsmobile has not recalled the ones on the Intrigue, enough of them have not failed and the switches are doing the same thing. Intermittent directionals, hazard flashes are intermittent. They are making money on this. Part is $40 but with labor it is $300.

General Comments:

The car is so far extremely reliable except for the hazard flasher switch.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd July, 2004

2001 Oldsmobile Intrigue 3.5 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired19800 miles
Most recent distance122500 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

Unbelievable reliability and performance

Faults:

A/C Button acts up since about 90k goes on and off, probably just simply need to replace it, but afraid to find out the dealer cost.

Signals work when they want since about 110k.

General Comments:

Excellent handling.

Have not done anything, but change the oil, brake pads and tires.

Should probably do a tune-up and serpentine belt soon just because of the mileage, but runs great anyway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th July, 2004

2001 Oldsmobile Intrigue GL 3.5 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.5 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carPontiac 1997 Pontiac Grand A

Summary:

This car has been one big problem

Faults:

At 79,000 miles I had my first problem with this car. The power steering rack and pinion went on the car. I tried to contact Oldsmobile directly, but they did not want to help me with this problem.

At about the same time I also noticed that the car does not shift well sometimes, and that it will shift very hard into the next gear.

I have also noticed that sometimes my drivers side window does not want to work.

At about 85,000 miles my shaft sensor went bad in my car, which resulted in the car stalling and rough starting.

General Comments:

This car offers a lot of room and is comfortable and I loved driving it for long time when I first purchased the car.

However when I started having mechanical problems with it, I sometimes wonder how reliable the car is since it is in the shop more than I drive it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th May, 2004

24th Nov 2004, 08:13

I agree, I also own a Olds Intrigue at 50,000 miles Crank sensor replaced due to stalling and hard starting. The total bill came to 425 dollars.

7th Dec 2004, 17:07

Same problems with my 2000 Intrigue. Brake rotor problems since it was new, now (50K) the cam shaft sensor - fuel pressure regulator starting problems. My 1991 Cutlass (150K) still runs and never had any of these problems!

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 23 reviews