1993 Oldsmobile Silhouette Reviews

1993 Oldsmobile Silhouette 3.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired185000 miles
Most recent distance220000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

Great value for a minivan

Faults:

Bought it with oil leak from the valve gasket. $130 to replace it.

Water pump leaked. Fixed it for $120.

Some minor problems with certain wiring.

General Comments:

Very stable and reliable family van. I bought it when I was a student and had the flexibility to move my stuff around.

Great fuel efficiency on highways with its overdrive.

Spacious inside and comfortable on long rides.

Others don't believe the odometer considering the quick start and quiet engine.

Awesome on snow and wet roads.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th August, 2004

1993 Oldsmobile Silhouette GLS 3.8L from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired27000 miles
Most recent distance109000 miles
Previous carMazda Protege

Summary:

Reliable and sharp looking

Faults:

A/C compressor failed @ 50K miles

Rear hatch lock solenoid failed @ 50K miles.

Water pump failed @ 70K miles.

Wiper motor replaced @ 70K miles.

Heater core failed @ 95K miles.

Both electric window motors replaced @ 100K miles.

Wiper motor replaced @ 105K miles.

Engine cooling fan failed @ 106K miles.

Heater fan relay failed (twice) @108K miles.

General Comments:

Great family van.

Love the modular seats and the plastic body panels.

The engine kicks butt, and out performs our 2000 Olds Silhouette.

GM should have kept the plastic body panels, because they are extremely durable and make the van a lot quieter than our 2000 model.

Only real problems have been electrical. Never left us stranded in 10 years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd August, 2003

20th Nov 2003, 05:56

What type of electrical problems did you experience? I have a 1999 Silhouette and am seeing the dash light for the TCS and Brakes come on. Also see the turn-signal indicators (Both) come on when I hit the brakes if the lights are on. The blinkers operate normally unless I hit the brakes while they are on then they blink rapidly. I have replaced all of the bulbs and the blinker unit. Still happening.

10th Dec 2004, 16:01

Purchased at 115,000 miles currently 230,000 miles and still gets 28mpg. Pulls a trailer a 16'boat. Bullet proof 3.8 engine. Smashed front end hitting a deer at 60 mph, repaired and keeps going. Front end cv joints and front bearings were a bit of a problem, but once replaced they work great. Why did they stop making this one? Currently looking for a parts van. I just can't get rid of it.

15th Sep 2012, 08:59

I had that exact problem: the bulbs are fine, there´s nothing wrong with them. It´s the ground contact between the brake lights and the turning lights. Once the short circuit is gone, they´ll work normal again.

1993 Oldsmobile Silhouette 3.8 6-cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8 6-cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

Does not make a dependable daily driver

Faults:

A/C compressor went out immediately after I got it took 7 tries to get the correct re-manufactured compressor.

@120,000 mile over drive went out in the transmission cost 1700.00 to have rebuilt and now at 130,000 miles it going out again.

Hatch will only open with key, power door lock work when they want too, drivers door lock motor froze up, when A/C is working good it only cools the front seats remains hot in back of van.

General Comments:

Aside from the transmission problems and others mentioned above it is a very nice van the engine is great plenty of power very impressed travels very well, very roomy, but unfortunately couldn't bring myself to buy another Oldsmobile product too many bad experiences in the last 2 I owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th July, 2003

23rd Mar 2009, 19:45

I think if you transmission went after 10,000 miles since you rebuilt it, it´s not a problem from the car, maybe was a bad job you had. I have a ´97 Silhouette and a ´96 Trans Sport (same thing) with a lot of trips between Mexico and USA and I have never had a problem with the transmission.

1993 Oldsmobile Silhouette Sport 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance280000 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

Great Vehicle, Very Dependable!

Faults:

Transmission went out a week after I got it. (around 98,000 miles) Went back to the dealer, and the claimed "sold as is" and were not willing to do anything for me. Kinda ticked me off a little. Went to a transmission shop and had it rebuild, with a shift kit, and stall converter. Was great after that! No problems since. Very quick!

Cost: $2,300.00.

At about 150,000 miles the starter went out, along with the Cam sensor. Maby $300.00 no big deal.

Around 200,000 miles the throttel positioning sensor went out.

Cost $ 50.00.

New tires at 100,000 miles. And 190,000 miles.

New brakes at 200,000 miles (had new brakes when I bought it)

Needed new exhaust when I got rid of it.

General Comments:

I would defiantly recommend this vehicle to anyone! I loved the power it had, and was very comfortable . I paid $5,000.00 for it when I got it, ended up sticking $2,300.00 into the transmission a week after I got it. But was totally worth it.

The engine never had any problems to speek of (other than a couple sensors going out) and at 250,000 miles it still rain great!

I would definitely recommend this vehicle to anyone that needs to haul people around or has a family!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th June, 2003

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 5 reviews