2003 Opel Corsa Comfort 1.4 from South Africa


Good on Fuel consumption and no rattles like the previous model


When I purchased the car it was not very resposnive, but the dealer upgraded the Software on the car.

The central locking gave a few problems was in at least 4 times before problem got fixed.

General Comments:

Very good on fuel consumption.

I would like to see that Opel fixes their central locking system because that is the only problem I have ever-ytime I send it for a service.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th July, 2005

2003 Opel Corsa Choice 1.4 16v 90hp petrol from Greece


Quite decent actually


The car is 1,5 years old; nothing to report; everything has been OK so far.

General Comments:

I have been using this car for 20,000 km. I have bought it new, a base model, no ABS / EBD, just prior to the Opel release of their TwinPort engine version. The more electronics you've got on, the most likely something will go wrong.

I assumed that their current model would be a ripe debugged mechanical design; since their 16V 1.4 engine motor had been in the market for almost 6 years. To this point I have had no mechanical problems. The engine efficiency is quite good. I am ordinarily getting 6,5 lit / 100km.

Performance for the 1.4 90hp engine? The car weighs 1.100 kg; It is rather heavy for this engine. The previous model scored much better in acceleration, because it was lighter.

Road grip is very much improved compared to the previous model. High speed cruising is quite stable too.

Comfort? Look to french rivals for that. The seats are stiff and uncomfortable. Noise? Rough and felt over 4.000 rpm; with 5th gear that is 135 km/hr, bellow that it is OK; I can live with that.

Service cost? Service intervals are every 30,000 km, double to the previous model. Generally speaking, opels are rather expensive to maintain in Greece.

It is quite roomy for its size. I had a very consciencious decision among cars like Honda Jazz, VW Polo, Ford Fiesta, Daihatsu YRV and Fiat Punto and this model. It was a compromise between value for money, performance, room, and previous owner experience with the Opel brand.

On the whole, if the car maintains its reliability, I would consider it a decent purchase, worth the 12,400 Euro I shelled for it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th January, 2005

22nd Dec 2005, 06:02

I have a Holden Barina (rebadged Corsa). Fuel economy in the city and town driving is very good - for high speed country driving, it's not so good. Seats are only comfortable for a few hours. After 24 hours, they're not at all comfortable. Inside space for seating is good - space once the back seat is down is very good - I've carried a clothes dryer and a small fridge with no problems. Brakes good even without ABS, aircon good, but struggles in very hot times.

In general, a very good vehicle for around a town and city commuting, but not a long-legged interstate cruiser.

2003 Opel Corsa CDTi 1.7 turbo diesel from Belgium


Fast, Fun, Cheap to Run


Door panels scratch easily.

Problem With Battery Light Coming On.

Drivers door is mounted poorly with a large gap.

General Comments:

Great in snow, doesn't slide at all, will out drive anything else on the road when it ices over, very predictable if it does slide, very easy to catch.

Leg room can be a little lacking for taller drivers.

Wind noise at any speed. Opel problem.

Bad rear visibility; especially when pulling out of junctions.

Noisy engine. Quite primitive, but pulls well in each gear and gives amazing economy.

Good powerful lighting and fog lamps.

Surprisingly comfortable for a small car.

Handles like a go cart on continental - sport contacts; (factory issued) will corner at any speed safely, with little or no body roll.

Good Brakes, with ABS.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th March, 2004

13th Aug 2004, 15:10

It is a wonderful car. I use it as a motoring school.

30th May 2006, 14:50

I Have a 1.3 CDTI I think it is great cheap to run quick off the mark, I would buy another, only fault with mine was a failed alternator, but Vauxhall repaired that free of charge great little car.

13th Oct 2006, 20:25

I have a Vauxhall Corsa 1.3 CDTI. It's superb. I love it. Very nippy for a 1.3 diesel.

19th Oct 2008, 03:09

Bought a Corsa 1.3 CDTi 5 weaaks ago. When in 2nd gear at about 10-15mph it makes a knocking noise. Vauxhall say their technicians can't hear it, and say it's fine.

Also the the light that looks like a car split in half by a spanner now comes on and stays on; it takes numerous attempts to start it. Again Vauxhall said there's nothing wrong.

It's going back in again overnight for them to do a cold start, so let's see what fob off story they come up with next.

One thing's for sure, I ain't stopping till its sorted. I've paid 5k for this car and honestly wished I'd kept my old 99 T reg 1.7tdi estate; at least I never had a grumble from it.

The turbo is very noisy on the Corsa too.


11th Jan 2009, 15:05

Just bought a Corsa 1.3 diesel 56 Dec first registered 17k genuine mileage, immaculate. Poor starting from cold horrible turbo whine in all gears. Wish I had kept my old 1.7 Astra. Junk is the word.

2003 Opel Corsa 1.2 petrol from Belgium


High performance economical car, but so terribly noisy inside the cabin


No remarks.

General Comments:

Uncomfortable seats for long trips.

A high quality build car with a super economic engine, but SO terribly noisy engine + 3500 rpm. On top of that wind, road noise exceeding speed +100 km/h makes the trip uncomfortable. Are all cars of this size so noisy on the highway? Why do engineers do not pay more attention on this point!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th December, 2003