2002 Perodua Kembara Reviews

2002 Perodua Kembara EX 1.3 from Malaysia

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance145000 kilometres

Summary:

Simple and reliable

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with my car.

General Comments:

Simple and easy to handle.

My manual model is more fuel efficient and better responds to the accelerator.

Seats can be folded to accommodate more goods or boxes.

The high build of the vehicle makes it easy to drive through roads with many road humps, and easy to go slightly off road terrain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th January, 2008

2002 Perodua Kembara EX 1.3 from Malaysia

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired2 kilometres
Most recent distance67565 kilometres

Summary:

Bravo!

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong and all in tip top condition!

General Comments:

A good Sports Utility Vehicle or 4X4! Easy to handle even though I drove a manual transmission Kembara. It gave me the satisfaction on normal road with other drivers and the extra satisfaction that other car can't perform, that is the off road. I have driven it through rough terrain and cross streams and it never fail me! Just go for its regular servicing and the vehicle is ready to run for you!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th August, 2004

8th Oct 2004, 07:33

Kembara is not a great SUV as it is not a SUV or even a mini SUV. It is reliable purely because its design is very simple and used commonly available technology without a single cents paid for its engineering. It serves for those people who like to have a SUV, but could not afford it. We all know the pricing structure here I am glad that there we produce something for local consumptions. But having said that the car is far from being a good ride, the fact that one can g beyond normal sedan is because the wheels are continuously on 4x drive mode indiscriminately and it has extra inches in height. But don't praise it too much as we should continuously improve it.

2002 Perodua Kembara EX 1.3 Manual from Malaysia

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired2 kilometres
Most recent distance65657 kilometres

Summary:

A good bargain for money!

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with my car. I went for regular normal service according to the manufacturer's manual.

General Comments:

Generally a good vehicle. Easy to handle and good fuel consumption as compared to bigger 4WD vehicles. The small size fits in nicely for 3 big size adult passengers and 4 smaller or medium sized adult passengers. Ample space for luggages too. The seats are high about other vehicles and gave good view over other vehicles around. Good for mild off-road driving especially driving through rubber and oil palm estates.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th August, 2004

13th Nov 2007, 23:29

My 2002 EX model is now at 142K! Is is still running smoothly as before. Easy on flash floods in Kuala Lumpur. Good handling. Good and reliable MPV.

16th Jan 2009, 14:10

I own Kembara Manual 2001 EX. Until now no problem at all, running like in its early years.. value for money. Now it is already eight years in service (187K km), really love it.

I went for medium core offroad and once crossed about 3 feet river depth, no problem..

10th Feb 2009, 11:01

Talking about crossing rivers, we have rivers instantly after sudden heavy rain in Kuala Lumpur. Instant flash flood rivers. No problem for my old trusty Kembara EX 2002.

2002 Perodua Kembara EX 1.3 cc from Malaysia

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.3 cc Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired7 kilometres
Most recent distance9516 kilometres

Summary:

A Must Have 4WD!!!

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong yet. Engine smooth and so silent! Amazing!

General Comments:

Very responsive engine. Gives higher view over other drivers. Fuel consumption is not that bad as some of us think, quite economical compared to other 4WDs. Interior finishing tough and comfy. Ample space for 4 adults and some luggages. Moderate off-road driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st April, 2003

3rd May 2003, 10:20

Just got my Kembara on Feb 03 and have travel a distance of 5000 km.

Guess got no complaint for the baby, but with frequent start and stop, I feel that the engine shake quite a bit.

9th May 2003, 02:22

Basically, a reliable 4WD vehicle. Easy to handle.

18th May 2003, 17:41

Not much problem. Reliable handling, but watch out for sharp cornering and curves. Good for driving in flooded area especially during flash flood in KL! Cheers!

16th Oct 2003, 02:44

Nice design and good for single passenger usage. However, two weeks back encountered a bad experience while driving to Bukit Tinggi, Pahang with four adults in the vehicle. The Kembara having problem going up the hill leading to the Japanese Garden. Halfway, the vehicle stalled and have I have to engage into 'N' gear, and slowly reversed back and park at the foot of the Japanese Garden. Real embarrassing to my friends and to Perodua as well since they advertised aggressively on their DVVT model.

9th May 2006, 19:33

Your Kembara DVVT must be the automatic version. My 2002 manual Kembara EX does not have any problem in driving up to the Bukit Tinggi Japanese Garden right to the door step. I think the manual version has more traction power than the automatic version. Anyway, don't be sad. You can still park below and walk up a bit distant to the Japanese Garden. Good exercise too. Cheers!

4th Oct 2006, 22:40

Yes, your Kembara must be of the automatic version. The manual transmission do not have any problem going up hill in Bukit Tinggi, Cameron Highlands, Fraser Hills or Genting Highlands.

19th Nov 2013, 11:29

I drive a 2000 Kembara EZI. With a Kembara auto you should have switched off the OD and used the lower gear L2 when climbing steep hills, or L1 for very steep hills.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 4 reviews