1999 Peugeot 106 Reviews - Page 7 of 7

1999 Peugeot 106 GTi 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired16000 miles
Most recent distance22000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 106

Summary:

The best hot hatch available

Faults:

The radio (head unit) broke, so I had a new multichanger and head unit fitted instead of repairing the old one.

General Comments:

This car is brilliant! I can leave most other cars standing without even trying on the straight. Then it corners so well, that once you have the correct technique it will just stick to the road, I actually find myself accelerating around roundabouts, thank God for the brakes.

If you are after performance and a truly beautiful car to drive, get one of these, but beware of the costs as this car uses quite a lot of fuel when pushed (but motorway crusing is pretty good for the speed), and is pretty expensive to insure.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th October, 2001

1999 Peugeot 106 GTi 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired22 miles
Most recent distance21000 miles
Previous carRenault Clio 16v

Summary:

A complete waste of time and money

Faults:

From *new*:

When I picked the car up it had a poorly painted bonnet and scuffed front and rear bumpers, the finish on the rear seats was awful and parts that I had ordered to be dealer fit were on back order.

After 4 weeks the alternator belt tensioner seized and it broke down.

The parts on order did not fit correctly and I had to have CD player and jack moved.

Engine would not idle at correct speed. Often 'stuck' at 2000rpm instead of 1000rpm. (Never sorted)

Interior carpet came away from the trim.

After 3 months the accelerator cable snapped and it broke down. Again.

Nut came off the track-rod end.

After 9 months the car kept cutting out while driving and not starting again for about 10 minutes. This was due to a faulty seal around the petrol filler cap. It had water... in the petrol tank!

This lead to a cleaned out tank and replacement parts that were contaminated.

After 18,000 miles my front brake discs had to be replaced because they were 'fractured'.

After just over a year, the car started cutting out while driving again. The catalytic converter had collapsed due to faulty oxygen and inlet manifold sensors (probably caused by the water in fuel tank episode).

The catalytic converter was not covered by the extended warranty, but the sensors were.

General Comments:

The good points first: Nice seats, pretty quick and good handling.

In general, it was horrible to drive at 'normal' speeds and around town.

It was not fun to drive at all and was very 'gut-less'.

The above faults speak for themselves.

From day one, the service from Peugeot (the dealership and head office) was appalling. They were unbelievably unhelpful and uninterested - even though I had just spent over 14000 UK pounds.

To add insult to injury, Peugeot still have the nerve to contact me and ask me "How's the car going?"

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th March, 2001

23rd Apr 2001, 19:18

Hello, these are the early hours of Tuesday, and I am eagerly awaiting the arrival of an 'R' reg 106 gti in a garage in Glasgow on Wednesday. It is sitting at 24k miles and priced at 7.5k. To find such a deal I have found to be scarce, in fact there would seem to be only 2 106 gti's advertised in the Central Belt of Scotland, from a dealership (I need a trade in) under 8k, the other one has 38k priced at 8k. But on reading your site I was reminded that the Saxo Vts was faster, and in my neck of the woods, cheaper, 9k for a delivery mileage, 5 minutes walk from my house! I like the looks of the 106 better and as I said they are harder to obtain so in theory should hold their value. The thing that swayed me 1st of all towards the 106 was the amount of Vtrs bombing around so fast I couldn't notice if they were Vtr's or Vts's. The 106 gti is nearly unique, unless its silver. I know someone who just traded in a 106 gti for a Clio 172, and never said a bad word against the 106, but I don't know anyone who's owned a Vts, only Vtr. I once owned an AX gt, and so did my mate, with the only visible difference being 1 number on the reg. He had fractured brake discs and numerous other problems, but thankfully I had no problems for 3 years. So here goes, I will let you know what I think of the 106 if I buy it, which I aim to do!!! happy safe driving!!

15th Oct 2001, 14:56

I have a 106 GTi and it's easily the best car I have driven, it can leave most other cars standing without even trying. And as an added bonus, quite a few girls I know think it's the sexiest car about. Brilliant car!

28th Oct 2002, 17:27

I have owned a 106 gti for just 12months. It is an ex-company car that I purchased for what I thought was a steal for a 98 S reg 4800 pounds. It had a full peugeot service history. A trouble free 6 months followed until it started running rough and losing power. Leaving it with a peugeot main dealer I found the head gasket, catalytic converter, oxygen sensor and the manifold sensor had gone. At the same time I had MOT done which it failed miserably on suspension, brakes and pads, ABS sensor, exhaust and bearings all on a car that had covered just 39000 miles.

It cost me 2500 pounds to put it right just so I can get rid of this white elephant of a car. Wouldn't touch one with a barge pole again.

1999 Peugeot 106 Quicksilver 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance18000 miles

Summary:

A nippy but cheap to insure motor

Faults:

Nothing whatsoever.

General Comments:

A brilliant little Pug. Easily modified and looks the business. Very nippy 1.4 engine that is good around the town and on the motorway and it's also very stylish (looks exactly like the GTi but with a smaller engine).

This is my 1st car and I have been over the moon with it. No problems at all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th September, 2000

7th Jan 2004, 08:25

I own a quiksilver and I am over the moon with it! It looks great and is very economical.

18th May 2006, 15:45

I own a Pug 106 Quicksilver, and I think it is great to drive, and good on fuel. I have no problems with the 106, and hasn`t let me down. Keep them up to service and nothing should go wrong unless driven like a mad man. LOL

1999 Peugeot 106 GTi 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance9900 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Be careful even with new cars!

Faults:

Brake fade.

Power steering squeaking.

Handbrake coming loose.

Trim falling off.

Fuel gauge breaking two times.

Engine managment playing up.

Rust under the bonnet.

Rattles from the sunroof.

Jumping out of 1st and reverse.

General Comments:

Nice car, must of got a lemon, Peugeot are giving us a brand new 206 for our trouble losing £200 on the deal.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd August, 2000

1999 Peugeot 106 Quicksilver 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance10000 miles

Summary:

Wow

Faults:

Problem with the ECU but fixed eventually by the dealer.

General Comments:

This car is fantastic, extremely nippy and handling is great for the size of engine, it shifts as well.

Easily modified.

Well worth the price ticket.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th August, 2000

13th Jun 2001, 04:23

Good car, cheap insurance, and fast for a 1.4, more 11s 0-60 than stated.

1999 Peugeot 106 GTi 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance11000 miles
Previous carpeugeot 106

Faults:

Wheels needed re-balancing, probably due to hitting bumps too fast!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th February, 2000

1999 Peugeot 106 XR 1.4 from Israel

Year of manufacture1999
Engine and transmission 1.4
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10

General Comments:

Great late in life cycle car, most quirks have been fixed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th May, 1999

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 28 reviews