1987 Peugeot 205 Reviews - Page 3 of 5

1987 Peugeot 205 GTi 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired134000 miles
Most recent distance136000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Good luck finding a good one.

Faults:

Brake servo failed.

Needed new rear wheel cylinders.

Reverse lights didn't work.

General Comments:

This was one of the earlier models and although it was quick and fun I will never have another for the road. (Can't rule out the track though)

The worst build quality ever. Made of tin foil, held together by mud and rust.

The interior was probably worse with cloth seats that ripped and wore if you looked at them too hard.

Also the thing leaked water in through the rear clusters every time it rained.

Smokey engine as well.

I of course did write mine off. Although I still insist that the brake servo failed.

Test: Push the brake pedal all the way to the floor. If when held tight there it still continues to creep to the floor the servo is gone. Also walk away if you here a hissing noise.

I coudln't recommend to anyone that you bought one. If you must get a low miles, end of the line, spotless 1.9Gti. Good luck finding one though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th July, 2002

4th Aug 2002, 17:41

Your "test" to discover if the brake servo may be broken is somewhat flawed, the symptoms you describe (pedal going to the floor) can be caused by many other problems in the brake system (such as air in the system etc).

I agree about the rather poor build quality!!!

Wonder why you did not buy a late, immaculate, 1.9 model?

1987 Peugeot 205 XS 1.4 petrol twin carb XY8 E from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol twin carb XY8 E Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired113770 miles
Most recent distance135600 miles
Previous carTalbot Horizon

Summary:

A GTi look alike with the performance to match. Well, almost!

Faults:

Exhaust decided to fall off in the Dartford tunnel.

Speedo drive failed and it was an absolute pig to replace. I since found out I put the wrong one in and so the dial reads slow!

It currently has a collapsing fuel pipe, and I can't replace it because it's been raining for a while.

Persistent oil leak.

General Comments:

Customise to look like a 1.6 GTi, with the alloy wheels and side mouldings.

Retro-fitted part leather interior from a 1.9 GTi.

GTi instrument panel (6 dial type).

Engine has minor tweaks to improve exhaust flow and breathing, and power up 5 BHP to 86, otherwise standard. Other things to come soon, I hope!

Quick, comfy and reliable. I'm over 6 feet tall, well built and can comfortably sit in the back of this tiny little French car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th November, 2001

1987 Peugeot 205 XS 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired127000 miles
Most recent distance127100 miles
Previous carMorris Minor

Summary:

The fastest car you can get at 18

Faults:

The driver's side seat cover has worn away from getting in and out, I can't leave the car alone.

The odometer has stopped working.

General Comments:

This is the best car I've ever driven and I've driven over 50 different cars.

It's quicker than any of the cars I've raced, 0-60 in 8.4 seconds.

It handles like a dream and if it was lowered I could push it further, fantastic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd August, 2001

10th Mar 2005, 06:15

8.4 seconds, WTF!, you have a M3 pulling you or something?, not even it's GTi brother can do that :/

23rd Mar 2005, 09:08

Got to agree 8.4 no way add another second or so. have to admit this car is amazing though and very fast for a 1.4 engine.

1987 Peugeot 205 XS 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired96000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles

Summary:

Best first car in the world!

Faults:

CV joint replaced - still don't know how this got past the MOT. Rattling for ages, got it replaced and it's perfect!

Engine flush & fuel line blockage - When I first got the car it was chugging a bit so I got the engine flushed, oil replaced and the fuel line cleaned out.

Rust - a bit of rust on the back window, no leakage.

General Comments:

Great car, loved every minute of driving it, up until the last 20 seconds of its life when I went into a ditch. Handled really well, out-accelerated all my friend's cars and most other cars on the road.

Loved the interior, high-spec (for that time). Gear change was brilliant. Everybody used to say I should have married the car, but no.

Only slight problem was it didn't handle well on ice - being why it is now scrap.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th June, 2001

11th Jun 2001, 11:52

I'm thinkin of gettin an XS but unsure about insurance. how old were you when you insured it and how much?

G.

11th Aug 2001, 13:09

Hi, thinking about buying a car for next year. My dad reckons a Nova will be good. I have had my eye on a 205 though and was wondering really how good they are. Is the best one (for the cheapest insurance of course) the XS or the GT? I would prefer the XS, but was wondering whether anyone could convince me otherwise?

Please email me at:

flfe@hotmail.com

22nd Aug 2001, 16:24

I've got a 205 XS '87 and the insurance ranges from £2700 to £1000. However, go through your parents and it's only £460.

Dom.

9th Jan 2002, 18:53

I had a G-reg 205 XS as a first car, excellent car had a few problems, but don't we all. A quick little car. Insurance was £750 under my dad's name. Sadly I blew it up so now it is a squashed bit of metal. I have now got a 205 CJ Convertible.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 21 reviews