1987 Peugeot 205 Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1987 Peugeot 205 Junior 1.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 miles
Most recent distance81000 miles

Summary:

Quite good for a 1st car

Faults:

Tappets, the noise the engine made sounded like it was on its way out, which was a shame because it was a nice little car, which I would have kept longer, if the rust wasn't quite so bad and the engine was better.

While I'm on the subject on the engine, after I got it, I discovered it was an Chrysler Alpine engine!

Seats looked worse for wear.

General Comments:

Not a bad first car, pretty nippy for a 1.0 litre - I had over 90mph out of it (though acceleration was slow!).

Handling was good for its size, it didn't shake all over the place.

Interior: seats were a nice sporty blue colour and quite comfortable.

I definitely recommend a 205 as a first car, just don't go for a 1.6 or 1.9 GTi until you've had some no claims!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd May, 2001

25th Nov 2001, 06:57

Sorry. The engine is not from a Chrysler/Talbot Alpine. It's from a Talbot Samba.

20th Jan 2002, 14:08

Talbot and peugeot are the same company, the alpine uses the same engine as the horizon.

22nd Jan 2002, 04:24

In the last two months I've had to replace the front two brake callipers!

I've only had the car for a year. apart from that, good car.

22nd Dec 2004, 19:25

My Pug has sprung a leak in the boot? I don't have a clue where it is coming from at all.

But other than that its doing well for a 1987,.9 model. Bit slow, but I'm still learning to drive so I can't complain.

If anyone has any ideas about the leak in the boot, please tell me!

1987 Peugeot 205 XLD 1.8 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 diesel Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired196000 miles
Most recent distance230000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 205

Summary:

The ultimate economical workhorse

Faults:

New battery.

New tyres.

Bad wear to seats.

Replaced the heater matrix.

General Comments:

Paint tends to fade badly on this model.

Watch for slight collapse of the rear suspension, causes rubbing of rear tyre on inner wheel arch.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th March, 2001

1987 Peugeot 205 XS 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired67000 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

Cheap and cheerful pocket rocket

Faults:

Burst brake pipe.

Leaking boot seal.

Exhaust joints always go.

Heater motor gone.

General Comments:

For a motor with only 1360cc's, it goes! Top speed performance is poor but it gets there damned quick.

Very few problems had with this car and I will be keeping it a lot longer. One annoying thing is the spare wheel tray keeps dropping down, no matter how much you tighten it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th January, 2001

1987 Peugeot 205 GTi 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

Run away as fast as you can. I am serious

Faults:

Electrical system was a law unto itself.

Driver's door window wound itself down every time I went over a bump.

Glovebox catch snapped off.

Alternator.

Starter motor.

Fuel pump regulator.

Driveshafts.

Headlights.

Seats.

Fuel gauge.

Speedo.

Tacho.

Gearbox.

All the above were cream crackered after 80k.

General Comments:

Went like stink... when it went.

It spent more time at the Peugeot dealer than on the road and they never knew what was wrong with it, but made sure they charged me plenty to fix the wrong bits. I am loathed to say much more about it.

In fairness I've rarely seen anything go round corners quite like it and it did have more than its fair share of power, but the electrics just weren't sturdy enough to cope and in the end, what with the dismal fuel economy, it cost more to run than a Sherman tank so I cut my (considerable) losses and waved goodbye.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th November, 2000

26th Nov 2000, 07:27

This is a serious warning to anybody even remotely considering a Peugeot of any age and any model.

I have a 405 MI-16, apparently a superb performance saloon. This is utter rubbish, every time you drive it you wonder if it will break down - and it usually does! The last time the throttle jammed at 7,000rpm and I struggled to stop. A few months earlier the brakes failed. These cars are lethal.

The same can be said for my father's 306 XSI, at two years old it also is just as unreliable - with the bonus of being even slower than my 405 despite being rated as one of the best hot hatchbacks available. This car has recently developed a tendancy to increase acceleration when you lift off the accelerator!

A friend also had a 405, again the brakes failed!

Now with this review of the 205 I can confirm my belief - Peugeots are the British Leyland of France, the worst cars in the world.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 21 reviews