1993 Peugeot 205 Reviews - Page 7 of 7

1993 Peugeot 205 Sceptre 1.8 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired87 miles
Most recent distance93 miles
Previous carNissan Micra

Summary:

An economical, reliable, easy to maintain, fast car. How rare is that?

Faults:

Required new discs and pads straight away. More recently a small coolant leak has developed via the thermostat gasket. Nothing else so far.

General Comments:

I was fortunate to come across this car in such good condition and with an almost perfect Peugeot service history.

The performance and economy are both very impressive and the car grips the road quite well too, with responsive and well weighted steering.

Finally, the cabin is a little dated and drab, but I think I can live with that because generally the car is as good as many modern, and more expensive cars I've driven.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th April, 2001

1993 Peugeot 205 GTi 1.9i petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.9i petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired62482 miles
Most recent distance68810 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Faults:

Starter motor went completely and had to be replaced.

Needed a new exhaust when I got it, but apart from that, only little things like bulbs etc.

General Comments:

This car is brilliant, the handling is great (the best chassis on any hot hatch), and the performance is excellent - 60mph+ in 2nd gear, 0-60 7.8s, Oh yes.

Beats any Golf GTi.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd July, 2000

1993 Peugeot 205 GT 1.4 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 1.4
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10

Faults:

Umm starter motor, oil leak around the head gasket, brake lines, tensioner bearing in the cam shaft.

General Comments:

Good car, handles like a dream.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th August, 1999

7th Feb 2001, 05:02

I'm 20 and I own a red 205 GT on a 'G' plate. It's my first car, and I tell you what, I certainly have some fun at the lights, when pulled up side by side with boy racers (like myself) in Nova SR's, XR2's and the like. It's got quick acceleration for a 1.4.

I'm hoping to get 'Twin 40's' on it, then I'll write more comments about it!

10th Mar 2001, 04:11

Does the 205 GT have the same engine as the XS (with the twin carbs)?

Paul.

13th May 2001, 15:08

I have just recently put a GT engine in my car and your right about the head gasket, mines gone. Mine does not have twin carbs but I can tell you I'm putting them on, overall: A good car for young drivers, loads of fun, eats Nova's alive! YEAH!

16th Jun 2001, 10:47

I've got an 1987 GT With twin Weber Carbs and its the best car to take off I've ever had the pleasure to drive. This car can spin the wheels in 3 gear from a stand still!! And get you from 0-60 in about 6 sec.!! A trualy amazing car for a 1.4L.

11th Mar 2003, 07:30

I've bought my daughter a 205 SR 1988 with only 46000 on the clock. It is super to drive, better than the 106 xnd which my wife owns. Only trouble so far is it needed a new starter motor.

M McG.

1993 Peugeot 205 STDT 1.8 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo diesel
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10

Faults:

Front suspension drop links replaced. Rear rubber suspension bushes rotted and were replaced.

Air leak into fuel system caused after dealer replaced fuel filter, fixed at no cost by them, but only after the car left me stranded! Minor coolant leak was cured by tightening radiator hose.

General Comments:

A terrific blend of power and economy. When the turbo kicks in the car just sits down on its back springs and goes! This allied to well over 50mpg on a decent run, yet still managing 42mpg around town! GTi-like looks still appear fresh after all these years and the car corners well despite being nose heavy.

Downsides? The ride is a little rough, trim gets creaky with miles, body panels dent easily, and why oh why can't Peugeot improve the design to get the metal wheel centres to stay in place? [Witness the number of STDT's and various 405 models with the 8-spoke alloys with them missing!]

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 1998

14th Oct 2001, 19:28

Yup. Got one of these. Fantastic cars.

Always wanted a 1.9 GTI but frankly this is a damn good compromise - same torque as 1.9 so very flexible and with all the trimmings it handles beautifully too. Very entertainling and blisteringly quick once into 3rd gear (not a lights racer myself).

I got rid of the 405 alloys for that very reason - nice set of 1.9 15" wheels now.

1993 Peugeot 205 Gentry 1.9 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 1.9
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10

Faults:

Tailpipe fell off after 1 day. Dealers fault, repaired free of charge immediately.

General Comments:

Excellent car, very comfortable drive , handles like a dream. Unfortunately poor MPG (25).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th March, 1998

10th Jan 2001, 06:29

Fantastic car. It beats everything away from the lights. Handles like a dream and the fuel ain't too bad at 35 mpg.

20th Mar 2001, 08:00

Poor mpg? I get 31 mpg out of mine and that's round town. Super little car - sadly *too* little.

11th Jul 2008, 17:37

There were 408 Gentry models made between 1992/1993 for the U.K. On the continent it was called the Griffe and as many as 3000 were made between 1992/1993.

31st Oct 2008, 20:12

That's not true, the Griffe and the Gentry are two different cars. The Griffe has 122BHP like a normal GTi.

About the Gentry, it's a great car. Im driving a '91 Gentry myself. Love it!

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 21 reviews