1999 Peugeot 206 Reviews - Page 7 of 7

1999 Peugeot 206 XR 1.6 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance2800 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corona

Summary:

Great car for the price

Faults:

Knocking sound from the engine bay.

General Comments:

I love the way the car handles and steers, and it's very stable for a small car. At first I was disappointed with the way it handled bumps until I took it for a drive on country roads, the faster you go the better the suspension works.

The engine is nice and torquey, but the gearbox is slow.

What I like most is the way it goes around corners, the grip is amazing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th January, 2001

1999 Peugeot 206 LX 1.9 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.9 diesel Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance24000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Corsa

Summary:

Good looking and economical car

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

Car looks great, and looks even better with the Peugeot SP Bodykit on.

Only problem, it's a diesel so acceleration is poor and the engine is noisy at 80mph+.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th September, 2000

1999 Peugeot 206 GTi 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance12000 miles
Previous carCitroen Saxo VTS

Summary:

Not the fun it should be!

Faults:

Suspension collapsed OSF.

Stereo completely packed up 2 months after the end of the warranty.

Various electrical glitches: horn jammed on, doors opening by themselves, stereo won't come on, aircon starting by itself.

General Comments:

Very poor driving position, steering wheel too far away, footwell very cramped, so that I hit brake/clutch at the same time.

Handling quite good, engine not bad, fuel so-so at 30-36mpg.

I wish I had kept the Saxo VTS - more comfortable, no problems, faster ,handles better, just more fun!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th August, 2000

29th Jan 2001, 08:19

I got a 206 on a weekend's hire because I was thinking of buying one. I was glad I did because I suffered back pain from the poor seat and also had problems with the pedals being too close together.

It's a pity because it's a great looking little car, but it's a case of all fur coat and no knickers.

1999 Peugeot 206 GLX 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance12400 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 416 GTi

Summary:

Almost perfect

Faults:

Noisy engine on idle.

Gearbox problems.

Drivers seat needed rebuilding as runners collapsed and jammed.

Radio cutting out.

Engine mountings needed adjusting.

Intermittent leaking of driver's door.

General Comments:

Lovely car, shame about the aftersales or rather the extreme lack of it. Even on a higher level, ie. Peugeot UK rather than my dealer, they do not reply to any correspondence.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th June, 2000

30th Nov 2000, 08:42

I purchased a 206 in Jan 2000 - sounds like I've been having a similar problem with my radio which I can't get sorted - did you get problem with the radio sorted and how?

1999 Peugeot 206 GTi 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance11000 miles
Previous carMazda MX5

Summary:

Great performance, shame about the dealers and the reliability

Faults:

Loss on fuel injection system within 1000 miles, car unlocking itself, failure of drivers wiper on motorway (in driving rain!), leaking water cap, squealing fan belt, and cam noise (a feature apparently).

General Comments:

Dealers and Peugeot UK are useless, uninterested and inefficient. The whole ownership experience has been ruined by them. Great car - shame about the reliability and the dealers. Just ordered an Audi A3.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th June, 2000

1999 Peugeot 206 GTi 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance500 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

Has the worst seat adjustment ever! Very difficult to get a good driving position. Drivers footwell rather small & controls rather close together for those with large feet!

GTi is loads of fun though!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd February, 2000

12th Dec 2007, 05:07

No. Not a good hot hatch at all.

24th Mar 2009, 02:36

How has Peugeot managed to muck up so many hot hatches when it has made some of the greatest? French luck I say...

1999 Peugeot 206 GLX 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
Engine and transmission 1.6
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10

Faults:

The stereo has been problematic. Every few weeks it requests the code to be entered when I start-up. I am told by the dealer that it's a problem with the standard-fit Blaupunkt unit, there isn't a fix for it either. There was an intermittent problem with the engine idle speed when the air-con was on, the dealer fitted a new control unit under warranty which seems to have done the job.

General Comments:

After 6 months of ownership I still love the car. I chose the GLX over the XS for the spec and CD player which was definitely the right decision. My brother drives a 1.4 which feels lifeless when compared to the 1.6.

Two things need to be improved - the driving position, seats are tricky to get right and the engine is a bit on the gruff side.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st December, 1999

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 27 reviews