2001 Peugeot 206 Reviews - Page 5 of 11

2001 Peugeot 206 GLX 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired26000 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

Great, but uncomfortable

Faults:

Climate Control is a bit strange - seems to blow either hot or cold, not just comfortably warm : (

Strange crumpling sound on acceleration when cold - dealer couldn't rectify.

General Comments:

Performance is good, a 1.6 engine in this car gives great power, yet returns 50 mpg+ quite easily too.

The standard 6CD changer is a big bonus too.

Pleasant interior styling,and of course wicked outside 206 looks.

Let down massively/solely by really uncomfortable seats/driving position.

Impossible to get comfortable on a long journey, and legs are very sore on arrival. (I'm 37,5'9 av build male).

Disappointing, as I want to sell it now, due to 90 mile commute each day : (

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th October, 2004

16th Dec 2004, 00:52

Great car, but... since I get my 206 I have a problem with the car stopping while running and so far I am OK, but is dangerous and has not been sort out although the car has been with the dealer for a while.

Also from time to time a STOP STOP STOP signal came up on the dashboard and the needle of the temperature goes up to the top strait away. Once I stop for few minutes I can carry on driving without more visible problem.

I agreed that the car is so nice I love it with the above concerns in mind.

Sorry about my English I am a foreigner.

Thank you very much.

15th Aug 2005, 00:43

The car I own is brilliant; it has everything I wanted. No problems at all and has never had any work done since its day of manufacture.

I have it serviced regularly and the staff at Peugot garages have always been really helpful.

I love the seats and all the different adjustments I can make. As I have a back injury it was a feature that sold the car to me. I am so impressed I am considering up grading my present 2001 model for a more recent one.

2001 Peugeot 206 LX 1.4 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance55000 kilometres
Previous carPeugeot 206

Summary:

Nice car once the faults were rectified

Faults:

Knock sound from engine bay from new until engine mounts replaced at about 20,000km.

Wheel alignment slightly out - a pain.

General Comments:

Good handling on difficult roads.

Fantastic looks and design effort.

Performance reasonable - could be better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st August, 2004

26th Dec 2005, 18:12

I have seen many cars with the tops of the doors being bent back, and they are not just 206's! Cars are made a lot cheaper these days, as we all want cheaper cars, so something has to give!

2001 Peugeot 206 XSi 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance29000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 1.4GS

Summary:

An expensive 206 model which should perform more consistently

Faults:

Front suspension drop links have been replaced twice.

Recalled for essential brake modification.

Has been rough running for 8 months - engine management software has been reinstalled, sparks & coils have been replaced and all 16 valves have recently been replaced to try and remedy this problem.

General Comments:

A very good car to drive when all components are functioning properly.

Too many recurring problems to be considered a reliable purchase.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th July, 2004

19th Apr 2007, 14:35

Exactly spot on!! Had my 206 XS for 2 years, and had nothing but problems! I love my car to pieces, but it's costing too much on repairs :(

2001 Peugeot 206 DTurbo 2.0 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance28500 miles
Previous carPeugeot 206

Summary:

Good looking and cheap to run

Faults:

Brakes need cleaning on a regular basis due to the build up of dust.

Needles on the instrument panel dials (rev counter, speedometer, fuel, oil, temperature) will sometimes drop to zero as I drive. This has happened under a variety of driving conditions (motorway driving, driving around town).

General Comments:

I have found the 206 DTurbo to be an excellent all round car.

It returns very good fuel economy, but sill offers excellent performance (for a diesel engined car). I regularly get upwards of 50 miles per gallon.

It can cruise comfortably on the motorway, but is equally at home driving along city streets due to it's compact shape and great handling. The turbo can be useful for pulling away at the lights!

As for the accommodation, it can move 2 adults and their luggage on short or long distance journeys in comfort. The front seats are supportive and comfortable - I have even had envious comments about them from a 206 GTI owner! As the back seats can be cramped I would suggest that you only carry adults in the rear for short trips.

I've had the sports pack added to my 206. The rear spoiler elongates the car while the mesh grille at the front give it a mean look.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th October, 2003

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 40 reviews