2002 Peugeot 206 Reviews - Page 2 of 5

2002 Peugeot 206 Style 1.4 HDi turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.4 HDi turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 200

Summary:

Very economical and reliable

Faults:

So far there has been nothing go wrong in just over 20K of driving.

I've changed the oil/filter, cambelt, tyres - just general wear and tear items, but other than those, haven't had to touch it, most reliable car I've owned.

General Comments:

Great little car, doesn't sound like a diesel when you are on the motorway, nice and quiet. It can get stupidly good MPG, I've had over 750 miles to a full tank before, but average about 630 miles when not driving like a granny. You can get high 60's and sometimes more MPG if you stick to 60mph, the car will also happily sit at 90mph if you so require and still get 45mpg! Gets much better MPG than my mates Mini diesel (he only gets 500 miles to a tank).

Not as slow as you would think, not a fast car by any means but its quick enough when you need it to be.

Really cheap road tax here in the UK - £35! Insurance is as cheap as you're going to get as well.

Basically it's probably one of the cheapest cars to run, it's very reliable as well so you're on to a winner with these.

Seats aren't very comfortable, I've got a base model so they are low quality with no lumber support etc. Can't see me selling it, would find it hard to justify swapping it for something more costly to run. Would like to keep it and see how many miles it will keep going. Just clocked over 100K and she's completely sweet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th January, 2009

2002 Peugeot 206 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance50000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Commodore

Summary:

A lemon, avoid at all costs

Faults:

Oxygen Sensor failed at 35,000km.

Brake discs required replacement at 40000km.

Automatic transmission failed at 50,000km.

General Comments:

All of the above failures were outside the very limited warranty period and quite expensive to repair.

The transmission failure has rendered the car useless and Peugeot Australia are refusing to accept any responsibility or to provide any assistance.

This transmission problem is well known among transmission repairers and exchange transmissions are expensive and difficult to locate.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd February, 2006

2002 Peugeot 206 LX 1.1 from UK and Ireland

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carNissan Micra

Summary:

Don't do it, no matter how cheap it is!

Faults:

Clutch broken

Gearbox broken

Seats broken

Wheel-trims won't stay on

Random engine faults.

General Comments:

This is by far the worst car I have ever owned. I bought it new and it has been nothing, but a disappointment since day 1.

The engine, when it works, is gutless even for a 1.1. The Micra before this was supercar performance compared to it.

The gearshift is like stirring a bucket of cement.

The plastics mark at the slightest touch.

The trim falls off at the slightest knock.

The dealers have been useless unless they are trying to sell you a new car.

Service and parts are a rip off.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th June, 2005

2002 Peugeot 206 GTi 2.0 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired2 kilometres
Most recent distance30000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Supra

Summary:

Good fun... When its not at the mechanics

Faults:

Drivers seat broke in first week of ownership. Took 6 weeks to fix.

Engine cover rattle.

Instruments failure.

Gearbox feeble, falling out of gear.

Engine cutout at 60km/h.

A/C problems.

Key-less entry problems.

General Comments:

Great car to drive. Don't buy one in Adelaide as there is only one dealer and they learn about the car as you do.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th January, 2005

2002 Peugeot 206 cc 2L from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2L Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance28000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Pulsar

Summary:

Pathetic lemon

Faults:

I wrote the previous review in September 2004 (please refere to this review) about the car being a lemon.

I would like to mention that my car is now going back into service next week for the 10th time, still with a leaking roof from the same left roof catch, causing puddles of rain water on my passenger seat. This time, there is also a squeaking driver window as it opens or closes.

General Comments:

Since I last wrote a review, I have been told by my service center that the 206cc will always leak, especially under fine pressure hose, as the car is not designed for this, and that all convertibles will leak. My family and friends own convertibles of different models, and none leak! But tell the service people this, and they don't care. I want my money back.

I also found out my expensive extended warranty which took me 8 months to finally negotiate, despite the car being initially sold as having this option, doesn't even cover new roof seals IE it doesn't cover them because Peugeot has the assumption that any seals which need replacing will be due to wear and tear. The service guys also told me this is regardless of the service history the car has, as the extended warranty is like starting a completely new service record.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th December, 2004

12th Jan 2005, 14:10

Someone I know was searching for a second-hand 206cc and gave up because they kept seeing examples with water ingress.

There are some good fan club web sites that explain the problems and this might help you with the dealers!

5th Mar 2005, 01:50

I was driving rented 2 years old 206cc for 8 days on heavy rain, and it didn't leak a bit.

28th Mar 2005, 06:31

As the writer of the review, I would like to answer this comment. I too had numerous friends who owned 206cc's. When I told them of my leaking roof problem, they all denied it happened to them...however, they also all kept them in garages... next time it rained, I told them to leave it in the rain. THIS is where the problem starts. A drive in the wet is USUALLY OK, until the roof lip fills up - then it leaks... After leaving it in the rain, all their roofs now leak and it is a problem none of them would ever have found out about. If you managed to get your hands on a non-leaking 206CC then congratulations - you are one of the lucky few!

24th May 2005, 17:13

It is easy to find quality problems in French cars. Sure, they have great suspension, brakes and finesse in design, however their build and craftsmanship is not top of the line.

Sadly we can't have it all: French design, German craftsmanship, Japanese motors, Albanian prices!!!

It is all a big compromise.

I have just bought a new Peugeot 206 Dynamic 1.4 (90 bhp, Clima 2A/B, ABS, brake assist, sport seats, etc) and it works like a Swiss clock. Before I owned the last version of the 306 (fully equipped). I just wonder why didn't they equip the 206 with passive 4 wheel steering; it was quite handy and helpful.

Sorry for any grammar mistakes, I am Greek after all.

Other than that, it's an honest buy for its money, that 206.

It's only that Peugeot cannot guarantee quality manufacturing for every car that walks out of its factory.

Average review marks: 5.9 / 10, based on 20 reviews