2002 Peugeot 206 Reviews - Page 4 of 5

2002 Peugeot 206 XS 1.6 from Latvia

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance2550 miles
Previous carRenault 9

Summary:

Excellent car, at unbeatable price

Faults:

Things that I hadn't noticed when I first began driving my car was that the steering wheel was out of sync. The car would steer itself to the left when you let go of the steering wheel. Took it to the dealer and got if fixed with satisfactory results.

General Comments:

A very high performance car at a bargain price. Handles very well on curves; even at high speeds that is 150km/hr. :D.

Anyways, I would recommend this car for anyone who wants a good looking car, and have a thrill driving.. get the Peugeot 206 XS.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th July, 2003

2002 Peugeot 206 1.4 HDi from Malta

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.4 HDi Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance4800 miles
Previous carRenault Renault

Summary:

I can't believe it's not petrol

Faults:

Nothing so far.

General Comments:

Extremely comfortable car.

Good acceleration, especially considering it's a diesel.

Fuel economy is far better than I could have expected. I spend about a quarter of what I used to spend with my previous car.

Handles corners very well.

Deceleration through engine brakes is disgustingly efficient. 80 miles an hour, down to 35 in a space of about 30 meters.

Driving in Malta I haven't had a chance to take it to the top speed, but at 160 km/h I'm sure I'm close.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th May, 2003

2002 Peugeot 206 CC 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance2600 miles

Summary:

An expensive car for the make and model.

Faults:

1) When I first got the car I had problems with the roof. The alarm beeped whenever I drove. The car went into the service center 3 times before they figured out it was a faulty part.

2) I have a problem with this suspension which has been ongoing for over 6 months now. By mid-November I had calculated that I had taken the car in to the service center more times than I had filled the tank with petrol. I now have a battle with trying to get Peugeot to reject the car or fix it. They tell me speak to the dealership, dealership tells me to speak to Peugeot. What a surprise.

General Comments:

The car does not handle well on the road, low riding means that you can feel every bump on the road.

It's a great car for a single or couple, as I rarely have to go anywhere with more than one person.

Looks are great, which is why I wanted to buy it, however with all the problems I've had this year, it has put me off owning another one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd February, 2003

26th Oct 2004, 07:59

Do you know of any problems with the 1.6 auto?

13th Dec 2004, 00:56

My bf's sister has the 1.6L 206 cc... it too has a leaking roof.

2002 Peugeot 206 GTi 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired2000 miles
Most recent distance7000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

A high performance bargain

Faults:

No problems as of yet, Faulty oil sensor reading at first, but the problem hasn't occurred since.

General Comments:

The car is fast, reliable and has good brakes. A good handling performance hatch. Excellent interior and great looks, buy one and you will agree.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th February, 2003

20th Mar 2003, 17:14

I test drove this model and whilst I agree that it is a fine handling machine with excellent, smooth acceleration I found the interior to be a real disappointment. My personal gripe was with the quality of plastics used throughout. For the performance flagship of the range I did expect better. The biggest fault I had with the car though was its pathetic seats. I almost fell out of it when I introduced the car to a challenging bend; the car gripped beautifully, the seat did not; far too unsupportive.

2002 Peugeot 206 XR 1.6 from Chile

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance7000 kilometres
Previous carSubaru Impreza

Summary:

Uncomfortable as a entry car, but more expensive

Faults:

Just after 9 days the start engine was burned.

Now the computer on board is failing

From the beginning there is a lot of noises from the console (plastics)

General Comments:

The car is generally uncomfortable (suspension is too hard)

The after dealer service is not good enough

The power steering has not enough power, I need apply more strength than the average.

The car is fast, you really notes 110 HP.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th February, 2003

2002 Peugeot 206 DTurbo 2.0 HDi from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 HDi Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance9600 miles
Previous carCitroen Saxo

Summary:

Frugal performer

Faults:

Engine leaked substantial amount of oil from new. Faulty oil filter to blame.

Front brake disks squealed and had to be cleaned at 3000 miles. Road grit to blame.

Clutch pedal squeaked and whole mechanism had to be replaced.

Fuse box cover rattled which I fixed myself.

Passenger seat didn't return to original position after being reclined forward.

Instrument panel sometimes "crashes" and then recovers almost immediately. Very weird.

General Comments:

Generally happy with the car for the diesel performance and economy.

The build quality is typically French dare I say (my previous Saxo was no better).

Most problems have been fixed under the warranty at my local Peugeot dealer. They seem to be having problems with the passenger seat though. Or they can't be bothered?!

I find the seating position uncomfortable. The sports seats provide insufficient support, and the lack of steering wheel adjustment (forward reach) gives me neck-ache.

The engine power is adequate, but could do with chipping to 110bhp. But then my previous car was a Saxo VTS.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th January, 2003

Average review marks: 5.9 / 10, based on 20 reviews