1995 Peugeot 306 Reviews - Page 17 of 18

1995 Peugeot 306 XTDT 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carford escort

Summary:

Economy and performance at the right price

Faults:

Not a lot really, just general maintenance ie. new heater plugs, new exhaust etc..

General Comments:

I feel it's a good all rounder, very economical, when you're not playing with the turbo of course. Third gear's a dream when you give it some turbo, very smooth and nippy.

It can be a bit rattley on the rear suspension over humps and on cornering. Other than that a lovely car with a good drive and a bit of a surprise (the turbo)....

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th December, 2000

1995 Peugeot 306 S16 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired33000 miles
Most recent distance56000 miles
Previous carNissan Bluebird

Summary:

A rare and often overlooked addition to elite group of genuine Hot Hatches

Faults:

Radiator required replacing due to corrosion.

General Comments:

Great fun to drive fast. Excellent handling and acceleration.

Superb stereo.

ECU diagnostics light has recently been coming on although after charging me £181 for fitting a new oxygen sensor after consulting them about the light coming on, my local Peugeot dealer now tells me the light coming on is not indicative of anything.

Benefits from a good air-filter and exhaust. Head work expensive and not as effective on the S16 as other Peugeot models.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th August, 2000

9th Dec 2005, 18:40

Head work will produce big gains on the S16 engine. The S16 is the same as 2.0L Mi16 engine, and uses the same head as the 1.9 Mi16.

1995 Peugeot 306 DTurbo 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Nova

Summary:

Great looks and handling, but not as economical as suggested

Faults:

Alarm system faulty, siren does not work, indicators may stay on if remote is used to set the alarm, head gasket went at 75,000 and cracked a cylinder head.

Minor electrical faults.

General Comments:

Handles very well, nice to drive, great looks, not as economical as expected, about 37 mpg, could do more if driven very carefully.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th July, 2000

8th Feb 2001, 11:09

I've just bought a used XTDT - am picking it up on Saturday! Can anyone tell me something positive? It seemed good fun when I took it for a test run. Eek!... it sounds like a nightmare from some of these reviews.

14th Oct 2001, 19:43

Expect electrical problems. Other than that the car should be a pleasure to drive.

1995 Peugeot 306 D Turbo 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance51598 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Does the job, in style, cheaply

Faults:

Dashboard relay packed in, and they would not turn off with engine. Lots of small electrical problems, but all cheap to repair using private garages. Quotes from Peugeot dealers are sky high!

General Comments:

Mpg is not as good as claimed and the close ratio gearbox does not help the efficiency on the motorway. Other Peugeots with the same engine do for more mpg. Racing type seats are not as comfortable as they look, and are too narrow, even for me. Other than that, the bodywork is average, with front wheelarches showing huge gaps.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd June, 2000

1995 Peugeot 306 Mardi Gras 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired28000 miles
Most recent distance42000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Polo

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

The cars been 2 years without a service (I haven't had the time) and it still runs perfectly... Only had to replace standard service-like items, but apart from that it's been perfect. Don't know if I will buy Peugeot again because I'm buying a Porsche in the next couple of months (and that's a car in a different league).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd April, 2000

1995 Peugeot 306 S16 2.0l 16V from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0l 16V Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance37000 kilometres
Previous carFord Laser

Faults:

Second gear and synchro replaced after 1000km, ECU replaced, body welded to stop creaking noise, engine fault light illuminating randomly, sunroof replaced, rear wiper intermittently works, sensor for climate control replaced, receiver for infra red remote replaced, minor oil leaks from engine around oil filler.

General Comments:

Excellent handling and ride - pity about the brakes.

Australian models seem to be detuned and lacking power.

Once initial problems fixed has been an excellent reliable car for long trips.

Local dealer in Adelaide was next to useless at repairing faults.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 2000

1995 Peugeot 306 XRDT 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10

Faults:

Heater fan not blowing onto windscreen or onto feet. Apart from that the car keeps getting dirty !

General Comments:

Great car with electric windows and central locking and fog lamps. Might try for the XTDT or Dturbo 5dr next time, but not purchased Peugeot a dealer as they are useless!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th January, 2000

1995 Peugeot 306 XN 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10

Faults:

Poor starting in damp, cuts out when cold. Idle speed problem, either too low or too high. Dealer has looked at these 4 times without fixing, latest theory is that I need a completely new wiring loom.

Wiper blades go every service.

Spare wheel stolen because it's stored on outside of car.

No light in boot.

General Comments:

The newest car I've ever owned and also the worst. I would gladly drive it off a cliff most of the time. I'd rather own a banger. It's a shame because I like the drive and comfort.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th February, 1999

18th Apr 2001, 08:34

Oh dear, I have just got one : (

14th Aug 2002, 07:12

I have an XL model, and although I haven't had the same starting problems I have had 6 months of central locking and alarm difficulties. New wiring looms in both front doors seemed to cure the central locking, but I've just been told that the alarm needs a new ECU, which will set me back over £300 inc VAT for parts and labour!

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 71 reviews