1995 Peugeot 306 D Turbo 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland


Good all round car


Radiator replaced due to corrosion.

Power steering hose burst.

Rear brake cylinders leaked.

Rear wheel bearing replaced (60,000 miles).

Water in diesel sensor faulty (warning light was continually on).

Various rattles from the dashboard.

General Comments:

Overall I am very pleased with the car. It has a great mix of performance and economy. However I am disappointed with the reliability of the car and the general maintenance costs.

I found that the dealers were not interested once the vehicle was sold.

I also found very little work is actually carried out during servicing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th April, 2001

1995 Peugeot 306 XT 1.4 from Finland


Good and reliable shopping basket ;-)


Nothing yet...

General Comments:

Looks nice and handles good.

But the front seats are TOO SMALL!! They must be designed for a midget.

Going to buy Recaro or a Cobra seats.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th March, 2001

1995 Peugeot 306 UK and Ireland 1.4 from UK and Ireland


Good car but it's turned out to be an expensive ride


Numerous brake system problems - and very expensive one's at that.

New cooling fan required.

Hates damp and refuses to start completely if it's rained all night.

Even after pointing the problem out pre-service, if it is damp or very cold there's a lot of jolting until the engine warms up.

I had a VW Polo for 12 years and never spent that sort of money on it - plus it was a much stronger vehicle.

General Comments:

The car does handle well, is nippy and comfortable.

Never had any major engine problems and the original battery is still going strong.

Pity the other problems overshadow this.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd February, 2001

1995 Peugeot 306 XSi 2.0 8v SOHC from Peru


The shape has aged well, the ride and handling is superb but not as reliable


Extremely weak suspension, not good for bad roads.

Dashboard squeaks since new.

General Comments:

Great handling and ride.

Front suspension rubber bushings break all the time.

Seats hold well, but very poor for long trips (lacks lower back support).

Extremely short 1st gear, great 3rd gear... flexible and has great punch.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st February, 2001

26th Feb 2001, 09:39

The 306 is one of the best handling cars for its price range you can buy. Its performance is superb. The dash doesn't squeak... haven't you thought perhaps you just bought a dud one?

8th Sep 2001, 15:41

I have 2 306's and the dash rattles/squeeks on both from somewhere behind the instrument cluster. The door window mechanisms also rattle. Not that it worries me too much.

1995 Peugeot 306 S16 2.0L 16v from Australia and New Zealand


Hot euro hatch, fun and style


Hard to replace driver's side lock barrel (after a thief attack).

One of the ignition coils went.

One bulb blew... that's it.

General Comments:

Very quick, keeps up with Integra Type R's and standard WRX's.

Takes most cars around bends, but lower it 30mm, no more, and fit Pirellies.

Could use a bit of colour inside though, and needs a CD stacker.

Pulls the chicks easy...!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th February, 2001

14th Jan 2005, 18:40

I have had to replace two ignition coils since I have owned it from brand new.

Could be a common problem with an S16?

3rd Apr 2005, 05:57

I have a nasty nocking on mine on idle its fine, but rev in to 2000 and it starts do you no anybody who has had the same problem.

1995 Peugeot 306 XSi 2.0i 8v petrol from UK and Ireland


Great performance, handling and looks


The battery died 2 weeks after buying (probably down to the poor servicing of the previous owner).

Had to replace severely worn brake discs and pads all round (again due to poor servicing).

Brakes have developed a worrying amount of judder upon use. Also, brake application inconsistent at low speed (it's going back into the garage).

General Comments:

In the dry, the handling of the car is superb. The steering is responsive, the suspension is fantastic on cornering, the car sticks to the road.

Handling in wet is disappointing due to the poor grip of the tyres (although they are non-standard wheels and tyres).

I love the shape of the body. Stylish but subtle - no ridiculous huge spoilers, excellent front bumper and fog lights and the trim is nearly identical to the GTI6.

Engine performance is also very good. Below 3000 revs the power is a little understated but the car is perfectly happy being driven at 35mph in 5th gear doing 1400 revs or so. Racing performance is fantastic above 3000 revs. Despite the relatively low BHP I can out-race the majority of cars on the road. I even kept right behind a GTI6.

Despite the faults I've had to deal with, I have no regrets about buying this car. My next car will either be a GTI6 or a BMW.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th February, 2001