1996 Peugeot 306 Reviews - Page 11 of 15

1996 Peugeot 306 D Turbo 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance53000 miles
Previous carFord Orion

Summary:

A superb car with beautiful styling and great performance

Faults:

There are a few creaks from the dashboard at low speeds.

The front seats are starting to wear.

General Comments:

The car is great fun to drive, it handles brilliantly.

The fuel return is superb, even when driven hard.

This is a car that will become a classic due to its gorgeous looks and ageless styling.

My previous car was an Orion Ghia with EFi, compare the two cars on every pointer and the D turbo wins every time.

The D turbo has to be the best car in its class, its performance, reliability and its gorgeous looks make it stand out from the rest by a very long way.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th May, 2001

1996 Peugeot 306 XRDT 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired46000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Scirocco

Summary:

A good little street racer

Faults:

Air bag warning light flashing at 46,500 miles. Dealers sorted the problem out under warranty.

Air bag warning light flashing, again, a day later, but the problem was sorted for good.

Dashboard rattles a little occasionally.

Excessive wind noise at 60+MPH.

General Comments:

Generally I am pleased with the car.

Handling is very good.

The performance is very quick for a diesel.

Quite a lot of engine mods for this car, if you're into that sort of thing.

Looks damned sexy too!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th April, 2001

25th Apr 2001, 10:48

Hi. If you check your airbag light warning, I bet you £10 that all they have done is disable the warning bulb - probably by just cutting the wire.

When they have problems with the brake wear sensors, most dealers normally just cut the brake sensor wires.

21st Jul 2001, 17:48

I bought a 306XRDT with 22000 miles on the clock and it has now covered 133000 miles.

The engine has been excellent, but the electrics are crap.

I've changed the starter motor, the windscreen wiper motor, both electric window motors, and have had problems with the central locking.

The car rattles and creaks like nothing else.

Would not buy another Pug - that's a cert!

24th Apr 2003, 12:58

I have problems with central locking too. Peugeot tried to fix, but did it cheap so a year on, I need to take it back. However I'd rather disable the central locking all together. Anybody knows how to do this??

According to the book, it seems the fuse for central locking also disable the electric windows and courtesy lights.

I have a Peugeot XTDT 1994, 124000 miles on the clock and going strong!

B.

10th Dec 2003, 07:01

I have an XRDT on a 96 P plate and have just battled with the cooling system, changing the radiator, the hoses are a nightmare you also need a pit or ramp to be able to get at them, the hose clips are spring metal and very troublesome, take care with the hose stub bit coming off the pump if you try to remove the pipe from it.

Central locking is also a problem and is jumping, said to be 2 broken wire in the loom on the drivers side door.

It's a nice quick, hard wearing car, but be prepared for quite costly services and repairs as she matures over 60,000.

1996 Peugeot 306 XSi 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.8 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance56000 miles
Previous carBMW M3

Summary:

A car built of Lego would be more reliable

Faults:

This car is total crap, the build quality would be outshone by Datsun. I have had so far:

The door lock knob on the inside fell off.

All the foam in the drivers seat has shifted so you are sitting on a metal bar.

The car drinks more oil than a medium sized oil tanker.

The alloy on all 4 wheels has begun to peel off.

The clock has stopped.

The ABS light keeps coming on.

The windscreen wipers have mental fits now and then.

The automatic choke doesn't always work so on a cold day it won't start.

The dealers did not stamp the service book when I had it serviced, when questioned they said they do not trust their staff to enter a customers glove box without permission!!!!!!!

Please don't make the mistake I did, my car is under a full Peugeot extended warranty and of the above listed faults, only the wipers were fixed under the warranty.

General Comments:

It's crap.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th January, 2001

5th Mar 2001, 16:39

Perhaps after a BMW M3, you were expecting just a little too much.

27th Mar 2001, 15:05

Sorry to hear you`ve bought a banger of a 306XSi. But sorry, you are well off the mark when describing the car and dealer services you have received. I`ve had mine for over 5 years (2nd owner) from 25k (`95 - M plate) and I haven`t had one bit of bother with it apart from the usual wear and tear problems.

Maybe next time you buy a car you`ll check it out fully and let your head make the decision. Sorry but it needed to be said.

You may have bought a mutton dressed as lamb car so check it out next time before you hand over your cash.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 57 reviews