1996 Peugeot 306 Reviews - Page 3 of 15

1996 Peugeot 306 D Turbo s 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired105000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Metro

Summary:

Great car for the cost, insurance, performance etc

Faults:

Ball joints.

Track rod ends.

Brake cylinder.

Drive shafts.

Engine mounts.

Wishbone.

General Comments:

Engine's great; turned up the pump a quarter a turn and the turbo to 22psi. The dump valve sounds great.

It's go an Impreza style bonnet scoop get some cold air to the intercooler.

It smokes VTRs, Golf TDI 130bhp, and have beat a VTS; all sorts.

Excellent performance for a P-reg diesel.

Handles excellent; lowered 60mm on front, 2 clicks on the torsion bar, and has the standard XSi alloys with 195 15 50 tyres.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th December, 2007

1996 Peugeot 306 XRTD 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired75400 miles
Most recent distance76300 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Economical to run, sporty looking

Faults:

None as yet - I have only owned it for 3 weeks.

General Comments:

Nice looking car, great fuel economy; I usually get 600 miles per tank.

Turbo cuts in well, giving you a feeling of power when you need it.

Very heavy on the clutch - takes some getting use to.

Upholstery on seats of poor quality - passenger seat worn right through.

Very cheap to insure considering the power as a 1.9 turbo.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd August, 2007

1996 Peugeot 306 D Turbo 1.9 TD from UK and Ireland

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.9 TD Manual
Distance when acquired159000 miles
Most recent distance164000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 106

Summary:

Brilliant

Faults:

Drivers seat has some minor wear, but nothing major as there are no holes present.

Airbag light appeared, but disconnected wires underneath drivers seat and reconnected and airbag light disappeared.

General Comments:

The performance of this car is excellent and it pulls like a train!

The fuel economy is brilliant, and it averages 50 mpg around town, and even more on long journeys!

It has done nearly 165000 miles and is still running like new - thanks to regular oil changes and filters!

Full electric pack such as sunroof, windows, power steering, sports seats and much more.

It is comfortable and drives nice. Would highly recommend purchasing one!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th June, 2007

1996 Peugeot 306 XLD 1.9 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.9 diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired142143 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

Brilliant - Thank you Peugeot

Faults:

I've only had it 3 months, and apart from a new exahaust needed, no problems.

General Comments:

Brilliant car. Will not have a bad word said about it.

This car can go very fast and would thrash my mate's Punto and my mate's Nissan Micra .

The car is so comfortable you could sleep in it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th September, 2006

22nd Sep 2006, 08:45

Just because that happened to you doesn't mean it will happen to me. No disrespect meant. Anyway, 306s are more reliable than Fiats. I don't have the turbo because of the insurance as I am only 18, but like I said, I've had no problems with the 306.

The next car I buy will be a Volkswagon Golf TDI.

25th May 2007, 10:31

I was reversing out of my drive when a thumping sound came from the engine, so had to get rid of it. My cousin had a look, but it was completey knackered.

1996 Peugeot 306 Dturbo 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired97000 miles
Most recent distance99000 miles
Previous carSAAB 900

Summary:

Cheap, but cheerful

Faults:

The o/s electric window doesn't work.

Seats look good, but aren't the most comfortable.

General Comments:

Seats have worn well which is strange.

Picked it up for very cheap only £950 with a full years test.

Runs very well, but not really quick although I did have a saab turbo before.

Generally a good cheap diesel with sporty looks and a strong engine. Watch out for poor examples, there are plenty about.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th November, 2005

25th Nov 2005, 12:16

You may find that unplugging and reconnecting the multiplug to the electric window motor will make it work again.

1996 Peugeot 306 DTurbo 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired74000 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 309

Faults:

Rear shock absorbers needed replacing.

Glow plugs needed replacing.

Drivers seat has worn badly.

General Comments:

I bought this car as a cheap run-around to get to work as my 309 GTI was becoming increasingly set up for rallying so less practical as an everyday car. I settled on the 306 TD from a combination of low insurance, economy and still reasonably fun to drive. It worked well on all counts and is only being replaced as a friend is selling his 405 Mi-16.

It's rare to get less than 45mpg over a tank of fuel, and the car goes round corners like all proper Peugeots :)

Acceleration off the line is a bit sluggish as it takes a while for the turbo to get wound up, but once you're on boost you can push on quite well. (It's very handy on the motorway as peak turbo boost is at 3000rpm which is about 80mph).

When I got the car it was sounding very rough when it started, (running on 3, or even 2), and a large cloud of smoke would appear as you started it. This was solved by changing the glow plugs and it now starts fine first time every time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st September, 2005

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 57 reviews