1996 Peugeot 306 Reviews - Page 5 of 15

1996 Peugeot 306 xrdt turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance176000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

A quickish, economical drive, overall 4/5

Faults:

Power steering pump has gone

Flipping bulbs need replacing all the time

Water in Oil Filter light comes on now and again for some unknown reason.

General Comments:

I have had this car for 5 years now and I have to say it has been a reliable car all of that time.

It failed to start once or twice, once due to glow plugs and then due to an old battery.

Otherwise comfortable seats with good back support.

Quick around the midrange.

Very good economy, I get 600+ miles to a tank.

Dash is a bit boring.

Service intervals make it a bit costly 6000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th May, 2005

1996 Peugeot 306 XR 1.6 Injection from UK and Ireland

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 Injection Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance66500 miles
Previous carRenault 21

Summary:

Very pleased overall, still exciting to drive with excellent reliability

Faults:

Electric Window passenger side needed to be replaced.

Uneven idling fault, this was fixed by fiddling with the control box that connects to the carburetor.

Petrol Tank sender unit failed and had to be replaced.

General Comments:

Handling and comfort are excellent.

Seems quite heavy on fuel when driving around town.

Very reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd May, 2005

1996 Peugeot 306 s16 2.0 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired93000 miles
Most recent distance99600 miles
Previous carPeugeot 306

Summary:

Beautiful beast

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with it so far.. but when I start her up, wait for ten seconds then rev it, sometimes she dies out then I have to start her again. Nothing serious though. Theres also a little noise in the engine when it hits 3200revs, haven't worked out what it is yet.

General Comments:

It's a beautiful car, especially in sigma blue. It handles OK, I've lost the back-end a few times although I was going over 100mph around the corners! top speed is 145mph, which I had along a long long road in wales, altough I've fitted a k&n induction kit, a resistor chip and a Peco 4"exhaust. 180bhp isn't bad!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th November, 2004

1996 Peugeot 306 xtdt 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance176000 miles

Summary:

Good motor body needs replacing

Faults:

Air bag warning light either flashes or stays on or does nothing.

New servo and master at 80.000

Water leaking from somewhere unknown several garages have looked, but nothing found. From 110000 ongoing.

Rattles everywhere.

LCD display clock gone at 67000

Wing mirror controls useless.

Door leaks and no accident damage.

General Comments:

Apart from the faults this is a machine designed for driving hard and well.

Handles excellent

Brakes fair

Engine and performance outstanding.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th October, 2004

30th Sep 2005, 08:43

There is common problem with water leaking into 306s mostly from around sunroof and aeriel mounting - have a good look around.

1996 Peugeot 306 GTi-6 2 litre 16v from UK and Ireland

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2 litre 16v Don't Know
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired77000 miles
Most recent distance93000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 306

Summary:

Ultimate hot hatch, real drivers car

Faults:

Despite Peugeot's bad reputation for going wrong, the only thing I've had to pay out for is a new wiring loom in the door, which is a common fault with these cars.

Tyres wear out very quickly.

General Comments:

Fantastic drive.

Handling is solid.

Passive rear wheel steering is a hoot once you get used to it.

Interior is very comfortable, good driving position and the seats hold you in place nicely. The leather and suede compliments them perfectly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th October, 2004

1996 Peugeot 306 XRDT 1.9 turbo diesel from Malta

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Great drive, great handling, great speed, I'd buy another one anytime!

Faults:

The suspensions on the Peugeot have been replaced. This seems to be a very common problem with all peugeot models, but it wasn't too expensive.

I changed the Glow plugs once last year, but they had never been changed since 1996.

Central locking sometimes plays up a little.

Definitely much stronger than my Honda Civic Type R previously owned.

General Comments:

This is a great car, very comfortable to drive and be driven in.

Speed and torque are great especially mid range.

Acceleration is excellent for a diesel and consumption is OK. (could do better on consumption).

The turbo is very quick and it pushes you nice and tight in the seat with the acceleration.

The engine is one of the best Peugeot ever made.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th September, 2004

1996 Peugeot 306 s16 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 306

Summary:

Understated, lots of fun

Faults:

Nothing so far. Got rid of an XSi not so long ago, was wanting to replace it with a GTi-6, but trying to get hold of one proved pretty tough. Saw an S16 at a very reasonable price, so jumped at it, but not without good thinking...

General Comments:

After the XSi, well this thing flies. Heard a lot about the S16, most bad, I guess I picked up a good one!

Forget Peugeot Dealers for help, most of them are useless, and very rude, I had that with the XSi too!

But my new one flies, handles on rails and looks so understated, which means it works. Don't get me wrong, it needs the revs to get her there, because it all kicks in later in the band, but is that not part of the fun?

Don't be shy with these cars, and when you think the back end is coming out...it's not, it's the car working for you, it's called the torsion bar!

Just bloody lovely, and this is my second, and I will be trading it in for a GTi-6 shortly...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th August, 2004

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 57 reviews