1998 Peugeot 306 Reviews - Page 2 of 20

1998 Peugeot 306 LX 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired94000 miles
Most recent distance107500 miles
Previous carPeugeot 406

Summary:

Fantastic, it's not a Ford!!

Faults:

Nothing!!

General Comments:

Brilliant!! Does exactly what I ask it do!!

Carries lots of heavy engine parts, a real workhorse.

You can nearly get a 3 metre length of copper pipe in it!! Which is better than some vans :o)

I am seriously happy with this car, starts every morning, never let me down.

Body work is excellent, road tax is a bit high, but what I save on welding makes up for it :o) Excellent fuel economy, runs on anything!!

Compared to Fords and Vauxhalls of the same age, this car is by far much better!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th February, 2009

1998 Peugeot 306 Meridian 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.7 / 10
Distance when acquired8000 miles
Most recent distance48000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Corsa

Summary:

I need help

Faults:

I have had problems with the battery and electrics.

New battery fitted and then all my wipers and rear screen wouldn't work ie alternator faulty, more costs, 3 alternators later, rewiring another new battery.

Recently all my air con, heaters and blowers have failed to work.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th July, 2008

1998 Peugeot 306 Dturbo S 1.9 diesel turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 1.9 diesel turbo Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired115000 miles
Most recent distance118000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

Don't underestimate it because it's a diesel. A great young person's car

Faults:

Well to start off with it's a really bad starter in the morning. I think its firing on 3 cylinders at first. It also shakes on the motorway at 70; however I think this is the tracking.

Doors are also creaking, but you expect this with a 10 year old car.

General Comments:

Firstly the car is pretty quick of the line; 0-60 in 11 seconds.

It is especially good on the motorway.

It's a noisy stater in the morning, and the interior is very dark and full of rattles. However it does include sports seats and is very comfy on long journeys.

The car is brilliant. It will do 45 mpg easily and will give boy racers a run for the money.

It's cheap on insurance (Group 5) and great for your first or second car.

Its getting on a bit now, but it still looks great and handles superb. There's little body roll also in the corners.

It's also easy to tune to get more power and torque.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd March, 2008

28th Apr 2008, 07:31

306 D Turbo, best car I have ever owned, a true pleasure to drive. 45mpg inspiring performance. After 9 years with the 306 I have just moved on to a 207 HDI and am very disappointed with it, the performance is adequate but does not have the exhilarating surge I had with the 306.

27th Sep 2011, 10:53

A Rrover 25 faster than a 306 dTurbo?

A 306 would runs rings around it.

Also the 306 has awesome handling, where the 25 doesn't...

29th Sep 2011, 14:19

I agree, you'd expect the 306 to handle better, but the other poster is correct about the figures. The Rover diesel is faster in a straight line than the 306 1.9 TDI in either HDI or the earlier form. It's got more hp and weighs about the same.

4th Oct 2011, 13:23

We had a 25 diesel some years ago, and with some minor mods - injectors, decat, remap etc knocked it up from 100hp to 150hp and it flew. I had an EP3 Civic Type R at the time, and it didn't beat the rover until past a ton! Not bad for an old diesel, plus it always did around 50mpg!

1998 Peugeot 306 GTi-6 2.0 from Belgium

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired83000 kilometres
Most recent distance101000 kilometres
Previous carAlfa Romeo 33

Summary:

Still worth your attention, but needs attention

Faults:

MAP sensor went after three weeks. Similar models struggle with the same issue. Once heard that heavily oiled air intake filters (K&N...) are not a positive thing to keep air intake sensors healthy - which was the case when inspecting mine.

Replaced rear shocks, brake pads, battery and some other basic stuff during the first months of ownership.

The car produces all kinds of rattles when warm/hot weather. The colder the weather, the more suspension seems to tighten itself up!

Rear beam rattle is most frequent/annoying.

General Comments:

The 306 gti is fast... but not lightning fast (or as fast as some tend to say). The engine only starts revving hard over 4000 rpm. Under that rpm, it feels a little underpowered. On the other hand, the fact it reaches 7200 rpm is a good thing: there's a very large power band. You need open roads to spread its legs. If you stay in the upper regions of the engine speed, it's OK.

Road holding is good, the car behaves in a stable way. Due to the construction of the rear beam, the car passive steers you through all kind of changes of direction with great ease. You can drive the car in a cool way, also at higher speeds, as long as you don't look for its limits. There's a great chance you'll find yourself with your nose in the wrong direction: over steer kicks in promptly, staying on the throttle in bends is an issue, progressive reacting a must. In not-dry conditions you need to calculate some margin when diving into corners. It's the kind of old fashion road manners you have to love and (be able to) control if you wanna give it a go.

Build quality is very good, as long as we're not mentioning suspension noises. Overall the car ages in a decent way.

Gear box is good, needs a little warm up to function at its peak.

Fuel consumption can be an issue: my average is 10-12 l./100km. (23-29mpg). I'm making lots of short trips, +30 mpg is not a problem when doing longer trips. I guess my right foot and an enthusiast driving style is the main problem.

For the money, it's still a good thing to buy. I like it's discrete way of being. Overall, it does what it's made for: going fast. Regular servicing is a must. It' not the cheapest way of driving. It should have been a little faster and a little easier to drive at the limit.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st November, 2007

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 71 reviews