1998 Peugeot 306 Reviews - Page 3 of 20

1998 Peugeot 306 d Turbo 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired79000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles

Summary:

Great fun for a first car!

Faults:

Well the battery went, but it has lasted 10 years so that is it.

It needs a service and a cambelt, so nothing really.

General Comments:

Well it drives; really well.

It pulls through the revs good, especially when the turbo kicks in!

Mine is standard, and does 120mph and 0-60 in 9.9 seconds, so pretty quick!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th September, 2007

19th Sep 2007, 06:04

More like 12.9 to 60.

21st Sep 2007, 09:10

Yep, I've got a 306 (love the car!), and the best I can do is 11.9s.

1998 Peugeot 306 L D from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission D Manual
Distance when acquired125000 miles
Most recent distance146000 miles

Summary:

Good looking, cheap to run, good first car

Faults:

Cylinder head cracked. This happened six months after I bought it; I got lucky and got one for £40.

Exhaust split between mid box and cat converter. This cost £50 to fix, just got it welded.

General Comments:

Very cheap to run and very economic.

Very good looking for its year.

Nice interior, I put on some black leather seat covers and sprayed the center console gloss white, (the area around the radio and heater controls etc)

Mines is a 1.9D (only 70bhp), so it's quite sluggish, but has good handling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th June, 2007

1998 Peugeot 306 d Turbo 1.9 from UK and Ireland

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.9 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance99000 miles

Summary:

Lethal!!!

Faults:

The only thing I could fault with the car was that it is too quick 0-60 in a couple of seconds!!

General Comments:

I love the interior he semi buckets seats.

It handles real well you can throw it into corners at 90mph and it sticks to the road.

My friend has a vtr and he wud not have a look in!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th February, 2007

1998 Peugeot 306 LX turbo D from UK and Ireland

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission turbo D Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired99000 miles
Most recent distance99789 miles
Previous carFord Cargo Van

Summary:

Great to drive, expensive to fix

Faults:

Sliding in corners

General Comments:

When braking into a corner, or doing an emergency stop, the rear wheels (drums) seem to lock before the the front (disks). The other day I had to do an emergency stop in the middle of a corner, the back locked and sent the car into a spin. My speed was approx 30 - 40 mph. Has anyone has this problem before or do they know what is causing this?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th January, 2007

27th Sep 2011, 11:02

There's a load sensing valve on the rear beam, and it would appear that it has seized up. Get your WD40 out and soak the arm in it, then after leaving it a while, free it up with a pair of grips. After cleaning it off, then apply some copper grease to the joint.

1998 Peugeot 306 D Turbo 1.9 D from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.9 D Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired52000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Polo

Summary:

In short, a fantastic car, but please be careful!

Faults:

Trouble being that the oil / crank sump that dropped off spectacularly leaving a 150 odd yard oil streak down my road.

General Comments:

Having passed my driving test in one of the 306, there was no hesitation I was to have one of my own in my driving lifetime. Much to my disappointment, it didn't last the distance as long as I hoped for. I was heartbroken when told the car was deemed a write-off.

Before, had enjoyed the thrill of owning it, always had a little smile when pulling out or overtaking in 4th. I was at one with this car, meaning I could drive it with my eyes closed. It did what I wanted it to do. On a full tank, could cover close to 400 miles when I wanted to.

I did think of having another 306 after what happened, but that was dashed when I was in my mates 306 estate the next day. The same thing happened to him, but on the motorway. His car too was written off.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th July, 2006

1998 Peugeot 306 D-Turbo S 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance76000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Awesome affordable fun

Faults:

There's always a few troublesome cars. These are usually found towards the end of a car's production life. And I seem to have had two of these on the trot.

I bought the car second hand, so maybe in-there lies the problem... but with it being a limited edition with no sign of anything wrong inside or out (besides cracks in the leather) and low mileage I believed it must have been well looked after.

Right, problems:

1). The passenger's electric window clunks when half way down. As if falling.

2). The passenger's door grip continually comes from the plastic door handle.

3). There is an annoying piece of plastic lining at the top of the car just above the doors. On the driver side this continually comes loose and waves about whilst driving.

Biggest problems of all however was when I got a puncture. I could not replace the wheel because it was bolted to the car with somesort of special bolt that needed a specific key to unlock. Having not received this with the car I was unable to get the wheel off! I had to limp home with a flat where the car sat for a week whilst I tried to construct something to get them off... after being snubbed off by my local Peugeot dealer TAYLORS OF BOSTON. Having to borrow my wife's car wasn't particularly amusing during this period as it's a pink Honda Jazz...

General Comments:

With all that's wrong with it you'd think I hated the car right?

Well yeah there's a few problems such as the Glove box being just small enough so it's completely useless (Maybe this is a feature only on my model because a mate's N-Reg XND has a spacious one)... and the car has THE worst turning circle I have ever seen, and I've driven MPVs. As I regularly have to reverse into my drive off a busy road it can get a bit hectic.

Having said that I love this car. The styling is glorious. Mine comes with a rear spoiler, 15 inch alloys in Metallic China Blue. It's a 3 door and it's looks, in my opinion, could match any coupe that would rush past.

The boot is spacious compared to the size of the car itself, though rear legroom is a bit limited... especially when you try and get 3 teenagers in there. The interior isn't to everyone's taste admittedly, and the word "dated" is passed around a lot. But as with the later Meridian HDIs the central console has been given a coat of Silver paint which livens it up significantly.

The half leather seats unique to the D-Turbo S are very comfy, though my particular model's leather has begun to crack due to undermaintenance. The stereo is great, a fact often overlooked. The cassette fascia hides a 5 Disc Multi-changer in the boot... which means you can listen to your CDs without having to fiddle about and makes theives think you've got a worthless cassette radio.

I love this car's economy. My last car was a 1600 Escort and it drank like the irish do on st. patrick's day, so it was quite refreshing to have a car that even when driven "properly" managed to average at over 40 mpg. I've ever managed 50+ on motorway hauls... returning easily 250 miles to the £20, mine for some reason seems to prefer Shell's Diesel to anywhere else.

Insurance is next to nothing and is only in band 5. And it's officially the fastest car available in that band. Hence the fleet of max powered versions floating about.

Now... the car's performance. One word, brilliant! Compared to other road cars the handling is tremendous. I've many-a-time watch other cars breaking heavily behind me 2 get road a corner where my low centre of gravity and sharp suspension allow me to just throw the car into pretty much anything. The brakes are good too, but the ABS is weak compared to the ABS on my father's new Focus.

The engine doesn't like starting sometimes on cold mornings. It always will start, but puts up a fuss.

It sounds like a diesel from the off, and the noise is ever present until you get going... and you hit the magical 1800 rev mark... which is when the car comes alive! The turbo kicks in. THat horrible diesel rumble is replaced by a whoosh usually associated with the high power petrols you dream about. The car shoots off to a 0-60 time officially 10.9 seconds, but I've managed it in under 10... and a top speed of officially 109, but I've managed an incredible 117.

It's fast enough to pretty much own the road until you run into someone with a Scooby.

It still stands today as one of the world's fastest commercial diesels. Only recently being outdone by the TDi-S Leon and the Diesel VX220 and the upcoming Astra XVR-D. But can you pick one of those up for under £4000? DOn't think so...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th November, 2005

30th Nov 2005, 03:19

I've got a ZX TD and agree with you about the performance, these engines are great. I've done the 0-60 in mine in a tad over 10 seconds and also reached 117mph - but that was it, it could do no more lol. Still, it's more than enough. Also average mid 40's mpg and can get over 50 on a long steady run.

Great cars, i'd quite fancy a 306 as they look a lot nicer than the ZX (but they are still more expensive to buy)

30th Nov 2005, 14:57

I agree with the comments about the 1.9TD as I had a ZX Volcane TD which was a great car. I decided to trade it in after 4 years of trouble free motoring for a 306TD. I regretted it as I had endless faults which the dealer could never fix including fuel leaks etc. The Peugeot dealer was hopeless. I gave up after 3 months and bought another Citroen which was fine. I know many people who still have 306's and they've had no trouble at all. I really wanted a 306 at the time, but as with all cars its luck of the draw and no car is perfect. I don't think the 306 is all bad I was just unlucky with mine.

27th Nov 2006, 17:20

There are many many many diesel cars that are faster than DTurbos mate.

Don't get me wrong, I liked my DT very much and it was great fun to drive, but compared to modern common rail diesels, they're old hat and very slow.

1st Feb 2007, 06:04

'I have a k & n air filter on it and that makes a good difference to standard'

If 2-3BHP is your idea of a 'good difference' then your correct! But I doub't it somehow. Air filters rarely give a car much more BHP, they mostly just make the engine noise a bit more raw.

26th Dec 2007, 14:39

My pug 306td 1997 is a piece of crap; it sounds like german tank, the turbo doesn't kick in till 3000rpm, and it sounds like it's red lining all the time. I had it serviced; that ain't done anything, so whatever you do, don't buy one, even though I had 120mph racing a Saxo VTS; it's rubbish and picks up like my nan's mobility chair.

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 71 reviews