2001 Peugeot 307 Reviews - Page 2 of 8

2001 Peugeot 307 Rapier 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Most recent distance24000 miles

Summary:

If you have children don't buy this car!

Faults:

Exhaust fell off at 24000 miles.

Indicator problem when turning left.

General Comments:

Rear seatbelts are two foot too short for any make or type of child car seat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd January, 2006

25th Jan 2006, 11:19

I have a 307 hatchback (3 door) and have no difficulty in fitting a Maxi-Cosi rear-facing childseat.

2001 Peugeot 307 rapier 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired27000 miles
Most recent distance38900 miles
Previous carPeugeot 307

Summary:

Great looking car, but so unreliable and expensive too run

Faults:

Front wish bone failed at 27000 miles.

Radiator had to be changed at 29000 miles hole appeared.

New C. D player old one cutting out, new one no better.

Exhaust fell of at 33000 miles.

Exhaust brackets had to be replaced twice in space of 3 months this is before exhaust fell off.

Losing brake fluid rapidly at 34000 miles.

Door trim comes off in hand when you open passenger door.

Service indicator shows 5000 miles one day, 9000 miles next day, 4000 miles next day and so on.

Indicators turn them self off before you have turned.

General Comments:

The car drives great and handles well.

The problem is you get to the stage of being scared to drive it as you wonder what will fall of it next and how much it going to cost this time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th August, 2005

2001 Peugeot 307 hdi 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired27000 miles
Most recent distance36500 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Don't buy one!!

Faults:

Only had my 307 for a year and my clutch, clutch flywheel have gone. has anyone else had this problem.?

General Comments:

Really like the car, but don't like to spend £1000 on a car I have had only 1 year.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st March, 2005

29th Mar 2005, 05:48

Yes my clutch and flywheel have had to be replaced twice - the first time the car lost all drive completely when pulling away and the second time it was about to break again so I got it changed. All replaced under warranty though at no cost to me. 2002 model car with both repairs happening in 2004.

9th May 2005, 12:02

I have a 307 hdi which is only 6 months old. It has been diagnosed with a faulty flywheel and clutch. I have so far waited for 13 weeks for parts from France. Has anyone else had to wait this long and what goes wrong with a flywheel anyway?

28th May 2005, 15:36

I've had my 2002 (02) 2.0 HDI for three years, and this is the 3rd alternator, Engine Management unit, and now its gone in for its 3rd clutch.

I'm looking to replace it now, I've had enough...

2001 Peugeot 307 XR 1.4 petrol from Greece

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance35000 kilometres
Previous carSeat Cordoba

Summary:

Very Good..

Faults:

The Air Bag and Horn Faults at 3500 kilometers. Nothing Else!

General Comments:

This car isn't very quick, but anyway has good handling and very comfortable seats.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd October, 2004

10th Dec 2005, 13:40

Hi,

My horn has just recently became faulty, it works when I press it really hard. How much is it to fix?

2001 Peugeot 307 Rapier 110 2.0 HDi from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 HDi Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired68500 miles
Most recent distance68900 miles
Previous carPeugeot 306

Summary:

A car you would be proud to own, even with the minor faults it may have

Faults:

Diesel filter blocked warning occurred twice.

General Comments:

This car is a lot more responsive than the 306 XRDt I owned previously, the turbo boosts very low down in the rev range which makes it very responsive.

The engine is well worn in, since the car has covered 68000 miles.

The standard speakers are not particularly good quality, they distort quite badly with any level of bass.

Occasionally the car handles very nervously on the motorway, you feel like your constantly trying to keep it in the right lane. Then just as suddenly it seems to correct itself and returns to normal?!

The rear door handles do seem very stiff and awkward to open sometimes.

The interior trim does rattle quite a lot, and, even though I bought this car after 68000 miles, it rattles more than my previous 306 ever did, and that had done 170000 miles!!

On the whole though I really like the car. I love the styling.

I haven't owned it for that long, but I have owned a lot os good and bad cars and I know that this car is a good one...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th September, 2004

10th Mar 2005, 06:56

I have wondered if the erratic handling and the loud noises from the front suspension are connected, Clunk and it handles badly, clunk and it is back to normal. I met a chap in France last year and he had been informed by his dealer that this is not a common problem. My dealer told me the same thing so I guess it must be true!!

19th Jun 2005, 03:19

The clonking from the front suspension is from the anti-roll bushes. mine went after only 10,000 miles!!!

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 31 reviews