2001 Peugeot 307 Reviews - Page 3 of 8

2001 Peugeot 307 Rapier 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Don't Know
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles
Previous carRenault Laguna

Summary:

A good second hand bargain for £7,500

Faults:

Door handles stick in hot weather.

Boot doesn't always close properly.

Rattle coming from back. Later found it was the metal bars on the back seat catch release knocking together, wrapping some tape around solved the problem.

Loud clunking sound comes from front when on full lock.

When passengers in the back, mud flaps scrape on the ground when going over bumps in road.

General Comments:

Good looking car, masses of room inside.

Lots of legroom front and back. My son is 6'6 and he fits in the back comfortably.

Perhaps I'm lucky after reading some of the other reports, but so far my 307 has been very reliable, with a few minor faults so far, (although it was recalled 3 times before I bought it).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st May, 2004

2001 Peugeot 307 D Turbo 110BHP from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 110BHP Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired6000 miles
Most recent distance33000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Disappointment

Faults:

Diesel additive fault @29000miles, pending replacement not warranty covered apparently still unresolved.

Anti roll bar fixed after 4 goes at finding clicking noise @ front of car.

Rear brake disc's corrosion even though hardly no brake pad wear.

Alternator replaced as showing battery fault charge, still unresolved.

General Comments:

Shame on the manufacturer.this x car of the year is let down by poor customer service and build quality and as a hole i will never buy or recommend a peugeot to anyone ever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th March, 2004

15th Mar 2004, 09:01

I have a 2 year old 307, and since new there is a noise from the front suspension of the car, usually the left hand side. The dealer has made a number of adjustments to the anti roll bar, and still the noise remains. It seems worse in the wet. Can you give me more details of what was done to your car to get rid of the noise, which can be quite noisy at times!

26th Jan 2007, 10:01

Please check out this web page. It's great and has loads of info on 307 problems. http://www.crushmy307.co.uk/

2001 Peugeot 307 GLX 2 litre petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2 litre petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired1000 miles
Most recent distance20000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Omega

Summary:

Feels as if it drives on square wheels

Faults:

The ignition barrel had to be replaced under recall.

The manifold had to be replaced due to anti pollution fault.

The indicator switch had to be replaced, due to switching to left after a right hand turn.

The driver's seat creaks and feels slightly loose on its mountings.

There is a cracking noise from the front offside suspension, or steering, which has not been rectified.

There is a cracking noise from the rear nearside corner, which appears to come from either the suspension or somewhere inside the boot.

The car has an annoying fault in that when changing gears, the revs do not drop until after you have selected the next gear, and you can feel the engine spinning up through the clutch pedal.

The car is very unstable at speed, and on cornering. Touching white lines or cats eyes on the road throws the vehicle off course, and can be quite disconcerting.

General Comments:

This is my third Peugeot, but I certainly won't buy another.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th September, 2003

2001 Peugeot 307 Rapier 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance18500 miles
Previous carRenault Megane

Summary:

Good, but a few annoying problems

Faults:

Indicator stalk renewed 4 times.

Head gasket replaced due to oil leak.

Modification to rear suspension.

New shocks fitted due to damage from modification.

Radio control stalk replaced due to sticky buttons.

General Comments:

Can anyone tell me if there is a black plastic cover placed between the radiator and the engine block covering the manifold?

My dealer assures me that there is only one for the diesel engine, but I am certain there was one, even though mine is a petrol, before it went in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th July, 2003

31st Jul 2003, 09:42

I have a Jan'02 1.6 manual. There is no black plastic cover between the radiator and the engine block covering the manifold. Indicator has been replaced twice, still indicates left itself. There is a strange whine off the engine when idle, and if you rev it a little. Is this normal? Dealer said it is. Rear suspension modified last Dec, now makes a creaking and cracking sound along with a bad rattle from one side. Occasional banging and creaking from front of car also, anti-roll bar adjusted, still the same. Horn faulty from new, only works sometimes. Dealer has tried twice to fix it. Overall a nice car to drive, especially on long journeys. Little problems are annoying.

7th Jul 2004, 07:29

Just bought a 307 and when I have turned right the indicator instead of returning to the off position indicates left all by its self. Is this a common fault?

13th Jul 2005, 09:35

My girlfriends 307 rapier has the same fault with the indicator stick. When it switched from a right indication automatically it just flops down and indicates left. Bit unnerving really and no doubt caused many people to swear at me. Have a problem at the moment with the engine overheating and the STOP sign lighting up. Oil and coolant levels are OK though.

Not very happy with this car at ALL.

25th Aug 2005, 10:24

My problem is the stop sign coming on, temp flying up to boiling when only just turning the car on. I am losing water, but there is no water in my oil, or any water leak. Does this sound like a head gasket? Is this a common fault with 3o7's.

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 31 reviews