2004 Peugeot 307 Reviews - Page 3 of 6

2004 Peugeot 307 CC 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired26000 miles

Summary:

Rubbish

Faults:

Peugeot 307 cc, what a nightmare car.

My girlfriend bought this car in 2007, and it's been mostly in the garage all that time.

Fault 1 = rattling noise from inside the roof when driving at speed.

Fault 2 = Kept flashing up about cat converter is faulty.

Fault 3 = ESP kept flashing.

Fault 4 = Water pump packed up.

Fault 5 = Engine signal on all the time on controls board.

And now Fault 6 = Boot won't open using the '0' button.

My advice to anybody that wants to buy a Peugeot - Don't DO IT!!! You will only lose your money; we spent £10,000 on the car and another £5,500 on parts labour etc and now we can't sell it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st September, 2009

2004 Peugeot 307 XR 1.6 petrol from Greece

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance101000 kilometres
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

It makes it all good

Faults:

At 30000 km, replacement of the middle part of the exhaust pipe.

Driver seat began to wear out at 50000 km.

At 80000 km, replacement of a temperature sensor.

Co-driver's seat began to wear out at 90000 km.

General Comments:

Very spacious inside, good engine with very good acceleration (80-110 km/h) and very good handling.

Everything in the interior is like new (except the seats) and some minor noise when it's cold from the B-pillar. Consumption between 8-9 Lt/100 km.

The only thing that could be better is the feeling of the gearbox.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd April, 2009

2004 Peugeot 307 HDI Touring 2.0 turbo diesel from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired1500 kilometres
Most recent distance146000 kilometres
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

Good car, but has serious electrical/fuel injection problems

Faults:

At 146000km engine burst into flames. Did so much damage that the car has been written off.

General Comments:

Up until the above catastrophic event, the car was fine.

Was economical and easy to drive. Wasn't the quickest off the mark, but at highway speeds it had more than enough to overtake with ease.

Liked the styling and room inside the cabin.

Handled well, and always felt safe no matter what the driving conditions.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st April, 2009

2004 Peugeot 307 HDI from Spain

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired66000 kilometres
Most recent distance75000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Space Wagon

Summary:

Good, but electrics are worrying

Faults:

EMS warning light showing for no apparent reason.

Visual display stating that diesel filter needs unblocking.

Engine reverts to "safe mode" (i.e. no power or acceleration) until the engine is switched off and re-started.

General Comments:

It is a really good car to drive, has good vision, handles well, and is quite quick.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th September, 2008

2004 Peugeot 307 XS 1.6 petrol engine from Philippines

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol engine Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired40 kilometres
Most recent distance7000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Graceful to look at, and agile on the road when put to the test

Faults:

The car AC blower number 2 wasn't working; loose harness, was replaced with a new one under warranty.

Slightly rough idle was due to a defective belt tensioner on the AC, alternator and power steering belt. Tensioner replaced under warranty. Never again had any problem.

General Comments:

The car is really good, it is better than the 2001 Volkswagen Golf GL hatchback that I owned in the United States. Those made in Mexico Volkswagens are very bad.

This Peugeot that I drive in the Philippines is an imported unit, and was shipped here from France.

The car is very good, I just don't like the dealer here in the Philippines. Since the car is imported, and it's not a common car here, the collision parts are taking forever to arrive. Bad service from the service center. I am now gonna have to import my own headlight from the Middle East; it's faster. Whenever the car has problems, there are parts available for immediate service, but in collision cases, this is the worst ever.

Sad to see a good car and a good company be destroyed because of these poor and corrupt service centers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th February, 2007

25th Mar 2007, 18:14

VW Mexico DOES NOT manufacture ANY Golf model. It could have been made in Germany.

6th May 2007, 21:25

I own a Peugeot 206 here in China. I really love the car and I intend to bring it with me when I go home. Now I'm having doubts as to whether I'd really bring it home what with this lousy service centers that you've mentioned. I hope these guys will perform better.

18th Feb 2009, 17:32

To an earlier comment -- au contraire, Mexico DOES make both Golfs and Jettas/Boras for the North American market, and manufactures all VW New Beetles for world consumption.

21st Feb 2009, 23:37

Sorry I used to work for VWUSA corporate. Beetles and Jettas (except wagon) are made in Mexico; Jetta wagons are imported from Germany. Rabbit (Golf) are all imported from Germany. Toureg is from Slovakia. I left after the Tiguan was sold, but I know those are european as well. The Eos is imported from Portugal.

17th Aug 2009, 09:34

I have a 2006 Peugeot 307 here in the Middle East and the service is not that great as well, spare parts are expensive, service is cheap. Service is every 10000 km compared to 5000 km for Japanese cars.

I hate the jerk I get from the gearbox when changing from 1st to 2nd. They can't find any solution for it and said that it's natural for this model. Aircon is not enough during 45 degree summer heat.

Overall I like the car for its looks. Road feel is a plus and fuel economy is better than a civic. Its slow from standstill but is really fast on the highway. Body is heavy so it's stable on road. Trip computer is good guide for fuel consumption, and twice I bumped it but did not suffer any damage in the bumpers. But it has damaged 2 Camrys (taxis). Used it for 120000 kms now in more than 3 years.

19th Sep 2010, 01:34

How much do I need to spend to bring my Peugeot from Malaysia to Philippines, please give me some idea.

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 22 reviews