2005 Peugeot 307 Reviews - Page 4 of 4

2005 Peugeot 307 SW SE 136 Hdi from UK and Ireland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 136 Hdi Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance14000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 406

Summary:

Expensive to buy, but great to drive

Faults:

No actual mechanical faults or electrical failures, as yet. All four wheels required re-balancing as this was not noticed in the delivery inspection.

General Comments:

Having owned a 406 estate for four years, downsizing to a smaller model seemed like a good idea. Not as well built as the 406, too much plastic. For a top of the range model, slightly disappointed. Handles better than the 406, although not as comfortable. Six speed gearbox is great for high speed long distances. The 136 engine is a lusty performer offering huge amounts of torque, but quoted fuel figures are far from reality. Because of the high gearing and that lusty engine, driving around towns and cities can be quite tedious. One needs to select third gear if you intend to stick to the 30 limit. The brakes, whilst excellent at speed, are quite vicious at slow speeds. I do miss my feather bed 406!. In brief, if you are looking for a seven seater, there is nothing out there that can match the 307 SW in terms of handling or performance. A great long distance tourer, but a poor urban commuter.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st December, 2005

2005 Peugeot 307 XSi 136HP turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 136HP turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance18000 miles
Previous carAudi A3

Summary:

Wish I had never bothered with it

Faults:

New Turbo Charger at 1000 miles.

New engine management system at 2500 miles.

Cruise control fails to cut out when needed to.

Throttle action jerky and unresponsive.

Radio jumps from one station to the next, and apparently if it doesn't like the channel, it switches on the CD changer, which then usually doesn't work after about 5 minutes.

CD changer damages CD's whilst loading them.

New EGR valve fitted.

New CD changer, Sat Nav unit, and display screen fitted.

Fuel consumption has never been better than 32.1 to the gallon, depite the official figures being over 60mpg. I would at least expect 40-45 on a decent run.

Another new engine management system at 8000 miles. Also yet another attempt at fixing all the various electrical problems affecting the CD/Sat Nav/Telematics package, to no avail.

Fuel consumption getting worse, and the performance for a 136HP car is appalling, no power, feels more like a 90hp engine.

Automatic headlight system failed, lights stuck on permanently now.

Rain sensor would not know water if you stuck it in a bucket of the stuff, which means the auto wipers also don't work now.

On occasion, the car simply will not start, like a dead battery, only everything else works, just not the engine/starter. Great for confidence when away from home.

General Comments:

This car is seriously flawed in ALL respects.

Thank God for warranties.

Car is comfortable, which is good whilst you are awaiting the arrival of the AA/RAC tow truck.

Boot is a good size.

Interior trim (Leather) cleans up well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th November, 2005

14th Dec 2005, 17:19

Sorry to hear about your car, although I'm very glad I've read your review. I am currently driving a 2000 306 Meridian 1.8 which I have had for the past 4 years. Everytime I take the car for a service or pass a 307 XSi I get the wants. I have not had a single problem with my 306 in the 4 years I've had it which is why I am still driving it. I know I have been very lucky with my car. I have heard a few bad things about the 307 but your review really fills in the gaps. It's so unfortunate that you've had so manY problems - although you always get a bad egg in the batch, but I can see why you wish you hadn't bothered with it. I would definitely have another Peugeot, but not sure about the 307!

2005 Peugeot 307 SE 1.6 16v HDi 90HP from UK and Ireland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v HDi 90HP Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance1000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 306

Summary:

Value for money, combining equipment, performance, economy and style, with one or two dodgy fittings

Faults:

One of the ABS sensors on the front wheel - the one that also feeds the speedo - went after 100 miles, resulting in lots of error codes on the computer. Successfully diagnosed and replaced by Peugeot within a single short visit to the dealer.

General Comments:

Bigger and heavier than my previous 306 HDi, but with smaller engine of the same horsepower. Manages similar sprightly performance, but not as much torque in 3rd gear as the 306. Most of the power can be found in 2nd gear which is sometimes frustrating.

It corners well for a car that's as tall as it is and the low-profile tyres make for a very sure-footed track indeed.

Fuel consumption is advertised as 50-60mpg, but it's really more like 40-50mpg (the car has a very good mpg meter).

Ride and comfort are pretty good, though the seats are quite hard. His & hers air-con is great and easy to use. Very roomy up front, but a bit cramped in the back. Interior is fairly smart, but let down by a couple of badly contoured door fittings inside from where the mirrors are mounted.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th October, 2005

2005 Peugeot 307 SW XSi 2.0 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance5500 miles
Previous carPeugeot 406

Summary:

Reliable, quick and practical

Faults:

Manufacturer`s recall (front suspension)

Door mirrors sometimes don`t spring out.

General Comments:

Very nice car.

Loads of kit, interior is smart.

Engine is sweeter post service and economy is now climbing to the mid 40s.

The `overboost` on the turbo is very impressive!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th May, 2005

17th Nov 2005, 10:35

How do you know it is reliable? you only had it for a year if that much...

2nd Jan 2006, 15:19

What was the suspension knocking noise? Mine knocks both sides over bumps. Sounds as if coming from the top of the strut.

30th Nov 2006, 18:45

I had the same problems with my suspension, and had the top suspension mounts changed twice.

Now get the problem only in the wet, but changing to the new style anti roll bar clamps is meant to cure that fault.

http://www.peugeotlogic.com/workshop/wshtml/mechanic/307susp/307susp.htm

2005 Peugeot 307 SW XSi 2.0 HDI from UK and Ireland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 HDI Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance2000 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

Very good car for me, and the tax-man doesn't get a lot!!!

Faults:

Went back to the dealer for three days.

Paint Flaws (not de-waxed properly)

Alloy Wheel Damaged by Dealer

Damage to Fuse Box Cover by Dealer

Speaker Blown.

General Comments:

Diesel engine is seriously good, hoping that MPG will improve when run in though! (37 at the moment)

Load of gadgets, cruise control, panoramic roof, speed limiter, 5 disk CD player etc...

Part leather trim really comfortable and roof open make the cabin airy and light

Excellent boot space.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st February, 2005

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 16 reviews