2006 Peugeot 307 Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2006 Peugeot 307 Touring 1.6 diesel from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.6 diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired8000 kilometres
Most recent distance34000 kilometres
Previous carDaewoo Lacetti

Summary:

A little disappointing

Faults:

Electro valve failed while on holiday.

Switch on brake that assists the cruise control failed.

Dipstick broke off inside of motor.

Seat adjusters came off.

Bad rattles on both doors.

General Comments:

Great motor; very quick with brilliant economy. 1400 km on a tank.

Heaps of luggage space.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st September, 2007

2006 Peugeot 307 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10

Summary:

Competent but undesirable

Faults:

The a/c has a mind of its own!

General Comments:

I really don't like this car, but I'm still not exactly sure why!

Primarily, the car has lots of blindspots, making it feel really quite dangerous.

There's a big gap between the dash and the the windscreen, which makes for an uncomfortable driving experience, and makes parking more difficult as it's hard to judge distance.

The car is still relatively new, so I must admit I haven't had any mechanical problems, and it runs pretty smoothly.

I could be being unfair, but the car seems fairly uneconomical considering the engine size.

The wipers and A/C are liable to go off at any time of their own accord!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th August, 2007

5th Nov 2007, 03:22

You should study your owner's manual to understand how A/C and wiper system works. It is quite straight forward in reality.

7th Nov 2007, 05:24

You have purchased a relatively heavy car with only a 1.4 litre engine. Not an efficient combination. Get a smaller car or a larger engine.

17th Apr 2012, 16:17

Have you noticed if it has a dual climate zone and it's set to Auto-AC?

I am sure it has a rain sensor in wind shield.

2006 Peugeot 307 XS 1.6 petrol from China

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50 kilometres
Most recent distance9700 kilometres

Summary:

Average quality, reasonably priced

Faults:

Windscreen wipers made a creaky noise while working. Dealer replaced them with a new pair, problem solved.

Exhaust pipe joint made creaky noise when changing gear to or from neutral. Dealer replaced the joint twice. On the second time, they replaced it with an imported one, and promised it won't happen again.

Nothing else so far. It's only 9700km now.

General Comments:

What I like about this car:

First of all, the 1.6 liter petrol engine runs pretty quietly and smoothly. Only the noise from wind and tires can be heard while running on the autobahn. And, no vibration is transfered into steering wheel at all while standing still with the gearbox in "D".

Second, the handling of this car is pretty good. The steering feels very direct and accurate. I believe the firm suspension is a major contribution to this.

The cabin is very high, which provides plenty of head-space for all passengers, especially for tall people like me. Compare with other compact cars, this one feels like an MPV, height-wise of course.

What I don't like about this car:

Hot hatch converted into ugly sedan. This car only comes in the sedan version in China. I don't wanna say why. It doesn't affect the everyday driving. But under extreme conditions, such as high speed maneuvers, with the "help" of passive steering rear axle, the tail can easily swing out of control.

The 1.6 liter petrol engine is a bit weak pulling a car weighs over 1300 kg, especially while fully loaded and with the A/C on. I have to push the pedal very hard to overtake another vehicle on the autobahn.

The gas mileage is not cheering either, probably due to the weight. It's 20 mpg (US) in city and 26 mpg combined.

After 10 months of driving, I've decided to trade this in for a better one. Maybe a Focus 2.0 AT, not sure yet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd August, 2007

2006 Peugeot 307 1.6HDI Break 1.6 turbo diesel from Serbia

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 kilometres
Most recent distance32000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Jazz

Summary:

Very roomy - gutless engine

Faults:

Noise from fans since the car was new (fixed by dealer)

Buggy electric windows

Rear passenger side door won't open from time to time

Constant creaking from the suspension from the tiniest bumps.

General Comments:

Very comfortable, and a pleasure to drive on the highway. Too heavy for the engine and needs to be driven hard to not feel the turbo lag (very evident uphill). Fuel economy good, but worse than what was expected (6.5 l/km doing 120km/h) and quite high in city driving. Quite a large car for the money, and I am quite surprised that there haven't been any problems yet, considering how many reports there have been of faulty cars on this site. But come to think of it I am getting a strange noise from the transmission at higher revs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th July, 2007

2nd May 2008, 13:34

I am an owner of a 307 oxygo 2007 model I am not sure about this car in fact I am not to sure how safe it is. What I really do not like is the suspension which is bone cracking. I have had it for a few months and already I am thinking of getting rid of it.

2006 Peugeot 307 Sport 1.6 HDi 110 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.6 HDi 110 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance1100 miles
Previous carPeugeot 307

Summary:

Very well built, and very reliable

Faults:

Nothing at all.

General Comments:

I used to own a Mk1 Peugeot 307 and had nothing, but problems with it. Despite my doubts, I went and bought the Mark2, the face lifted model. All I can say is congratulations Peugeot, they have done a fantastic job on this new model, it feels very well built; I've had no problems whatsoever with it. The new 1.6 engine is very economical, torquey and responsive. The new electrical system is a lot better than the Mark one model.

I recommend these cars to anyone looking for a new car, but do avoid the Mark 1 pre face lift model. Mine is the sport model with leather seats, and they're very comfortable, and the car is a joy to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th July, 2007

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 11 reviews