1988 Peugeot 405 GL 1.9 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A reliable and fun to drive family sedan

Faults:

Interior trim was very breakable.

Brake cable snapped at 76,000 miles.

Brake pads needed replacing at 81,000 miles and again at 96,000 miles.

Window motors failed at 88,000 miles.

General Comments:

Was a bargain at £2,000 for a well equipped seven year old family saloon.

Engine reliability was superb.

Interior was comfortable and spacious, but showed its age.

Fuel bills were a bit on the high side otherwise running costs were low.

Excellent handling and splendid performance.

Was an absolute bargain to the seller who received it for £500 when it was eleven years old and had exceeded 100,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 2006

1988 Peugeot 405 GRI 1.9 injection from Czech Republic

Summary:

Reliable good looking car

Faults:

Door locks changed, problems with central locking system.

General Comments:

I've bought this very very used car 2 year ago as my first car. The car was 20,000 kms after main engine repair. It is very reliable when taken in mind the age of it (16yrs). Consumption is great! (below 10 l/100 kms in urban cycle and about 7.5 l/100kms when running on highways). No special problems with it except normal wearing - clutch, dumpers, catalysateur. However the workshop manufacturing is poor so the cabin is very noisy when running over 100kms/h. Excellent engine, running always for the first ignition, no oil consumption.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th January, 2005

1988 Peugeot 405 Mi16 1.9 DOHC from North America

Summary:

A beautiful car, comfortable seats, wonderful engine and drivetrain

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I bought this, a fourteen year old car with 79,000 mile, from a college lad on eBay. I had to install four new tires (Michelin GT Pilot). I have subsequently, as a matter of sensible maintenance, installed a new cat-back exhaust system, timing belt, water pump, new rear break calipers, and spark plugs.

The car loves to be revved to 7,000 and needs to be driven at the higher revs, lower gears, to enjoy the engine's potential.

This model is a perfect example of the type of car which Peugeot should have imported here; the stodgy 405S with the ZF won't win over buyers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th July, 2004

1988 Peugeot 405 SRi 1.9 from Finland

Summary:

Ahead of its time, classic

Faults:

Electric window switch broke.

Rear breaks (disc) were stuck when I bought the car. (The car stopped with the front brakes only).

Peugeot has been so far a lot more reliable than Buick.

General Comments:

Very comfortable ride.

So far it has also been reliable.

Performance is surprising, 0-100km/h takes only 9.5s.

Fuel consumption is only 7.3 litres/100km on highway.

Overall very good car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th December, 2002

23rd Nov 2005, 13:34

Peugeot 405 rear brakes do stick and sometimes get very hot!!! whats the best way to solve this??

23rd Nov 2005, 14:46

I've never looked at the rear discs on a 405 but I know on other makes if you disassemble the caliper and reassemble it with everything treated with copper-based grease, this should free up the caliper.

You might have to work the caliper a little to get it to free up without the spring in place.

1988 Peugeot 405 GR 1.9 from Finland

Summary:

Faster than it looks

Faults:

Clutch wire snapped twice.

Boot floods.

Overheats sometimes when driving in city.

General Comments:

The car is quicker than most of the new 1.9 or 2.0 cars.

But the suspension is too soft.

Nothing big hasn't ever broke down, but the clutch wire snapped two times in a couple of months (fixed badly at the first time, the pedal didn't go all the way down anymore, replaced the whole wire when broke again and has worked perfectly ever since).

When leaving from traffic lights, even a Mi16 can't escape too badly, comes very close to it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st July, 2002

1988 Peugeot 405 GL 1.6 carb from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A cheap little goer!

Faults:

Blown head gasket.

Seized rear brake cylinders, left & right.

Handbrake cable.

Rear trailing arm bearings, left & right.

Master cylinder.

Front discs are worn.

Rear oil dampeners leaked.

General Comments:

The car, even for a standard 1.6, pulls like a dream. The power does not come in until 5000 revs, but when it's there it stays there. It happily pulls up hills at any speed.

Although 14 years without major problems, driving at high speed is not good for it.

It's getting on a bit, but still looks sexy when scrubbed and polished.

Want to do her up, Puegoet alloys, leather interior, spoiler, lowered suspension etc.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th October, 2001

4th Oct 2001, 11:46

I too had a 1.6 Carb 405 and was well pleased with it as a first car. When you consider it only has 92 bhp in that medium to large body it goes extremely well.

What I personally think Peugeot should have done is put that engine in the 205 as a warm alternative to the Gti, it certainly would have been faster than the 205 GT or XS.

I know have a 405 Mi16 but if I weren't really short of cash I'd have my old 1.6 back any day. It always did a superb job at keeping up with the 2 litre carb Sierras.