1998 Plymouth Breeze Reviews - Page 7 of 9

1998 Plymouth Breeze Expresso 2.4 DOHC 4-cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4 DOHC 4-cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired53751 miles
Most recent distance85500 miles
Previous carLincoln Town Car

Summary:

Good looking, good performing and quite reliable car

Faults:

Motor mounts broken. This was an odd problem. Think car was in accident before I bought it.

Large oil leak from engine seal between engine and transmission -- replaced under warranty. Head gasket leak as well. Replaced under warranty.

General Comments:

An excellent, inexpensive car.

Its ride is harsh, but it's a fair trade off for its razor-sharp handling.

2.4 Liter 4 cylinder engine is adequate. Wish I had a 5 speed with this motor... I could have lots of fun then!

Comfortable, stylish and spacious interior... Chrysler hit a 10 here!

Good stereo.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd July, 2003

1998 Plymouth Breeze Expresso from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance53000 miles
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

The car was a fair bargain for the money, but lost its appeal rather quickly.

Faults:

Required new oil pan in 2000 when dealer replaced plug with wrong one and failed to tell me. By the time I got home the plug fell out and all the oil had drained out.

Started to leak oil at 43000. Monitored it closely and replaced head gasket at 52000 miles at a cost of $850. Judging from the number of head gasket problems with this model, it should have been a recall item.

General Comments:

Generally, this is a comfortable car that handles very well. Pick-up is excellent.

The controls are conveniently located; however, the driver's side cup holder, jammed under the console, couldn't be in a worse position. There's not enough height, so getting the cup out is awkward. In the park position, the gear shift is too close to the cup.

The cabin is roomy enough front and rear.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th March, 2003

6th Dec 2008, 01:22

There was a massive recall for the head gasket and transmission. I'm on my second Breeze and have 200,000 miles on it.

1998 Plymouth Breeze 2.4 Litre from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4 Litre Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carBuick Regal

Summary:

Problem ridden

Faults:

Replaced head gasket at 100,000 miles.

Seats prematurely worn.

Steering wheel badly worn.

Brakes need replacing at least once per year an I am not a bad driver and do not ride the brakes.

Head lights are terrible, very difficult to see the road properly.

General Comments:

Generally the car has run quite well.

Chrysler service sucks, they won't take responsibility for any known problems.

Back seat area is nice and roomy.

Not bad on gas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th March, 2003

1998 Plymouth Breeze Expresso 2.4 DOCH from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4 DOCH Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired66000 miles
Most recent distance76000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Lumina

Summary:

Great car for the price

Faults:

The only thing that went wrong with my car was the alternator was bad when I bought it. But fortunately the dealership replaced it free of charge.

General Comments:

The car does have a lot of pep. It rides nicely, good sound system. I drive it almost every day back and forth to school and work. It gets excellent gas mileage, but now it costs a lot to fill it up because the gas price is $1.729 here.

It's better than driving mom's car everywhere. And to the guys that were bashing the Breeze, they must not of taken too good of care of it, I mean like tune ups, regular oil changes. Your car won't last unless you take care of it. You can't really assume that every car at 70,000 miles, it's gonna break down and cost you so much money. It's probably just that you may have had bad luck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th February, 2003

18th Jan 2006, 14:19

I would agree with you I drove mine very hard and it never broke down on me.

1998 Plymouth Breeze 2.0 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles
Previous carFord Tempo

Summary:

Good car until things start going wrong then its costly

Faults:

My head gasket blew at 43,000 miles. This problem proceed to warp the aluminum engine for a total repair cost of $2000.

Continuing problems with blower/fan.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th January, 2003

1998 Plymouth Breeze from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired29000 kilometres
Most recent distance108000 kilometres
Previous carChrysler Acclaim

Summary:

An OK family sedan

Faults:

The head gasket blew at 108,000 kms and Chrysler would not warranty.

The timing kit needs to be replaced and the parts have been back-ordered from Chrysler for 6 weeks now.

Also experienced an ongoing problem with the dashboard guages and dials. They tend to lose power and then reset. My dealer has never been able to find a solution to the problem.

Rear bumper fell off the car.

General Comments:

I would never buy another Chrysler product.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th January, 2003

1998 Plymouth Breeze Expresso 2.4 liter DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.4 liter DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired4000 miles
Most recent distance109212 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

A decent automobile and fun to drive

Faults:

The car started leaking leaking oil at the back of the engine from the head gasket at 78,000 miles.

The front driver and passenger door seals and driver seat material were wearing out at 80,000 miles, but found some seals at the junkyard for $10.00.

At 106,500 miles the water pump started leaking.

Right now, at 109,212 miles the "Check Engine" light came on. The engine idles and drives fine when cold, but sometimes stumbles and seems to skip under acceleration when warmed up.

General Comments:

Loved my Expresso sporty styling and roominess since the showroom. Very comfortable seats. The audio system was most excellent. It fits me like a glove. The 2.4 liter engine had ample power. I've only use synthetic oil and transmission fluids the first 6'000 mile since I've had the car.She hasn't left me stranded on the side of the roady yet.

A friend of mine had a Stratus said it was the head gasket and the dealer confirmed it even though after the repair I found no hoses or clamps out of place (Odd). Paid $750.00 to fix that. I think this should have been a recall item.

I repaired the water pump myself, but it took me 21/2 days. (Hard to get to.) I changed all the belts filters and fluids while I was at it for $180.00.

If anyone knows why it stumble on acceleration after warm-up, please email me at mblakney@aol.com.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th December, 2002

27th Apr 2003, 11:01

Myself I think it sucks, It will be the third time fixing the head gasket at 96,000 miles. Now two days ago my heating coil went out, I was charged 500.00 the first two times, and was told at least 650.00 for the heating coil.

3rd Feb 2004, 16:24

Probably a bad mass air flow sensor just behind the air filter.

6th Mar 2004, 15:27

My wife just had the same problem of her Plymouth Breeze stumbling after warm-up and I thought it might be something with the fuel or the transmission. Took it to Firestone and they informed us that the problem was the spark plugs and now it runs perfectly fine. You might want to check that out.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 35 reviews