1998 Plymouth Breeze Reviews

1998 Plymouth Breeze 2.0 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 2.0 liter Automatic
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance77000 miles
Previous carChrysler Grand Voyager

Summary:

Super car for the money in 1998; wish I could buy another new one

Faults:

Common repairs like brakes and shocks.

Biggest problems: head gasket, timing chain.

General Comments:

The car had forward styling for its time.

Interior room is enormous for a midsize car, due to the cab forward styling.

It's very quick and responsive, tracks straight and hugs the road, aerodynamic and fuel-efficient.

Braking could be better. The car does not have an advanced braking system.

Repairs were more frequent than anticipated.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th May, 2011

1998 Plymouth Breeze 2.4 liter from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.4 liter Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Breeze

Summary:

When I drive by, all you feel is the breeze

Faults:

Only things that have gone wrong are with normal wear or tear.

It's the smoothest ride I've ever had. Turns on a dime, great car.

The only reason people have problems with it is they don't know how to maintain it or drive it.

I am a mechanic. I hear that every car has problems; not always true, 99 per driver's fault.

General Comments:

Great acceleration. Mine has the 2.4 liter engine with my mods; 220 horsepower.

Handles like a dream. Nothing broken, every little thing works.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th July, 2010

1998 Plymouth Breeze 2.4 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired11000 kilometres
Most recent distance388000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Malibu

Summary:

Great, comfortable, reliable, good looking car

Faults:

The only major thing I replaced was the rear axle, and head gasket.

As well I recently had my power windows, locks and mirrors looked at and fixed. Trunk release was replaced last year.

General Comments:

My Breeze is very reliable for the most part.

Front and back seats are very comfortable.

Controls are logical.

I use this car for getting around town, going to work, driving to my cottage in Pembroke in all seasons. The car is great going through mud and snow. Great on gas. As well I love the design of the car, inside and out. The Breeze has has a huge trunk as well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th December, 2009

1998 Plymouth Breeze 2.0L from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance187000 miles

Faults:

Fan Speed stuck on high.

Head Gasket replaced 3 times.

Front Suspension reworked several times.

AC compressor clutch going bad.

General Comments:

This car has been good to my wife and I. Her father bought it at a state auction and we've had it ever since. Been to California and back (we live in Kentucky). Been to Michigan, Florida, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Virginia. We've had some problems but it's been one of the most reliable vehicles I've had. As for the Fan Speed. If you're fan is stuck on high, your blower motor resistor is faulty. There's a thermal fuse in between two of the contacts. If the fuse blows you'll only get the high speed. You can either replace it which I had trouble finding the part, or you can just solder a piece of wire between the two contacts. 16-18 gage to be on the safe side.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th August, 2008

1998 Plymouth Breeze 2.4L from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.4L Automatic
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 kilometres
Most recent distance230000 kilometres
Previous carFord Tempo

Summary:

Great car

Faults:

I have had no significant problems. At about 160000 km the timing belt was replaced..

Recently, the front suspension is making a noise on the left side.

The air conditioner unit was refilled at about 180000 km.

General Comments:

The car is very reliable for the price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th August, 2008

10th May 2012, 08:01

I had a similar problem, and it turned out to be that my front upper ball joints were bad. It is common around that mileage for them to start making a loud pound or clunk sound when you hit a bump or turn a corner. Unfortunately to replace them you have to replace the upper control arm, because the ball joint assembly (bushings) are pressed in. Unless you can take the control arm to a local machine shop, and have them press new bushings, which is cheaper than buying the whole control arm.

1998 Plymouth Breeze 4 cylinder from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Most recent distance156000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Expo

Summary:

It just keeps on going!

Faults:

The front struts had to be replaced at 100000 miles.

The air conditioner gave me some problems at 120,000 but $400 fixed it.

I accidentally knocked the driver side rear-view mirror off by hitting it with the trash can.

Air conditioner will still on occasion leave the passenger floorboard damp.

Really not bad for over 150000 miles.

General Comments:

I was skeptical when I first bought this car for my daughter. I got a good deal on it as it had 18,000 miles and was not a true new car. After 9 years and she and I driving it for 138000 miles, I am convinced. It just keeps on going.

I would really like to get a new car, but I can't justify it as long as this car keeps going. I use fully synthetic oil every 10,000 miles and use synthetic transmission fluid and change it every 75,000 miles.

It is a good car, but I am really getting tired of it. I wish it would hurry up and fall apart, but I think that I'll am stuck with it for quite a while. Oh, what a problem!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd July, 2007

21st Aug 2010, 15:22

I bought a 1998 Plymouth Breeze with 87,000 miles on it in 2002, and today August 2010 it is still going strong. Only problem I had was the timing belt snapped 5 years ago, but that was expected, since at the time, the car had 100,000 miles on it. I should have changed it when I first bought it. If you change the oil every 3000 miles, the car would last forever almost. Great car.

14th Nov 2013, 11:13

I bought my Breeze in 2011 with 87000 miles. I replaced the head gasket and a main seal, but other than that it has been a great car. Comfortable and roomy inside. Great gas mileage. Looking forward to having it a long time.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 35 reviews