1995 Plymouth Grand Voyager Reviews

1995 Plymouth Grand Voyager SE 3.3 Chrysler from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.3 Chrysler Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 miles
Most recent distance240000 miles
Previous carFord Aerostar

Summary:

A super van.. I wish I could purchase it again as it was... before the accident

Faults:

After driving this mini van for 6 years, I finally replaced the transmission (after 220,000 miles).

Developed a rear seal leak (oil) around 160,000 miles..

Power steering leak developed around 150,000 miles..

General Comments:

This mini van is the best auto buy I have ever made, and it continues to run as new, even with 240,000 miles.

I drive it about 700 miles a week, average around 25 MPG, and repairs are minimal, with exception of the $900 transmission replacement in 2008 (first and only replacement)..

If a deer did not run out in front of me on the highway (front end damage to radiators, grille, light assemblies, hood etc), I would not hesitate to continue driving this van.. but because of the repairs necessary for inspection... I am forced to replace the Grand Voyager..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th June, 2009

20th Jun 2009, 14:42

I too have a 95 Plymouth Grand Voyage, my wife that is, that has had a transmission change several door locks bad, but for 230,000 is still going strong. Just started rusting about 2 years ago, but is still minimal compared to my 2001 Durango. The van is more comfortable for long drives and is Great for vacationing.

1995 Plymouth Grand Voyager LE 3.8 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance132000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Solid family vehicle

Faults:

Starter went bad at 100k $30 repair.

Air Conditioning Leak.

Driver side power windows don't function.

Cruise went out at 100k.

General Comments:

This has been an excellent product overall. I have not put over $500 into this van, and have driven it 84k miles since I purchased it. If you can find this van with a 3.8L and in good condition for less than $1800, it will provide excellent value as a utility vehicle. I pull a 17 foot boat with the van during summer with ease. This van was designed to carry a 4x8 sheet of plywood, and is a good work vehicle. I have driven newer minivans and there isn't a big difference. When the time comes, I will buy a Chrysler product again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 2006

6th Oct 2009, 11:16

I brought 1995 Plymouth Grand Voyager. I really love it, and I bought from an 88 year old lady who was first owner of the van, and I am the second owner.

Bought at price of 600.00 dollars, and the old lady said her mechanic said it need a new transmission and new air conditioning. I put on new tires, and the transmission is shifting fine.

I recharged 134a in the air conditioning, and it's working fine.

The only thing wrong is the clear coat peeling on top of the van. Everything else looks new.

122,000 miles and still running.

1995 Plymouth Grand Voyager LE 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles
Previous carMazda B2200

Summary:

Great bargain for the money (at that time)

Faults:

Exhaust Flange & Springs only last about 30,000 miles. Have replaced them 3 times.

Rear heater & Air conditioner lines have rusted out twice.

Infinity Sound System (receiver) needs to be replaced as the LED lights no longer work and the CD player is "retaining" a CD and won't "release it back to me".

General Comments:

I've had the vehicle since day one and it has been one of the best vehicles I've owned. No complaints, whatsoever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th July, 2004

1995 Plymouth Grand Voyager LE from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired121000 miles
Most recent distance141700 miles

Summary:

It's a transmission nightmare in a fancy package

Faults:

I have replaced two transmissions in the past 8 months.

I'm afraid to drive it too far in case this transmission also fails.

The dealer who sold it to me has worked with me in helping to finance both transmissions.

I'm at the point where I must save $1,000.00 every 6 months in case I need another transmission.

If the dealers could offer a better transmission, I'd keep the van. but I must consider trading it in next year in order to save money.

General Comments:

This is one of the most comfortable vehicles I've ever driven.

It's good on gas mileage.

It's fun to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th January, 2004

2nd Oct 2010, 17:33

Never take an old car to a dealer -- find a good transmission shop that knows how to really fix stuff.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 5 reviews