1992 Plymouth Laser Reviews - Page 3 of 4

1992 Plymouth Laser 2.0 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.7 / 10
Distance when acquired166928 miles

Summary:

Its still the wifes car

Faults:

Nothing major.

General Comments:

All I can find is that when I try and start the a/c the engine trys to cut out. can anyone tell me why and hoe to fix it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th June, 2003

15th Jun 2003, 14:56

The reason being that when you put the A/C on, the engine management system compensates by raising the revs, before this happens there is a drop in revs and then they will go up again when the EMS kicks in.

1992 Plymouth Laser RS from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired96000 miles
Most recent distance126000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

A very bad investment

Faults:

It constantly overheats. The clips that hold the plastic panels in constantly fall off. The hatchback will not stay open, which makes it really hard to load and unload things from the trunk. The trunk has this annoying squeak every time I hit a bump on the road. The sunroof has a very annoying whistle whenever it is closed. The driver side window does not stay on track and I have to guide it up with my hand every time I try to roll it up. The trim on the drive side panel of the car has fallen off. The protectant on the trim of the windows is chipping off. My hubcap will not stay on; before I drive the car I have to kick it so it will not fall off.

General Comments:

This car does handle the road well.

However, I have had a lot of problems with this vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th November, 2002

1992 Plymouth Laser RS from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired88250 miles
Most recent distance89600 miles
Previous carMazda MX6

Summary:

Good car for the price

Faults:

When I bought the car it was already missing a hubcap. I still haven't been able to find a matching one.

The plastic pieces to hold the carpet in broke very easily when I was taking them off to run some wires.

The screw holding in the drivers side door handle mysteriously keeps falling out.

The hatchback no longer holds itself up, which makes it very difficult to unload things while holding it up!

General Comments:

Very fast and sporty! It is really fun to drive and it takes curves beautifully.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st July, 2002

1992 Plymouth Laser RS from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired112657 miles
Most recent distance113487 miles

Summary:

A great car for anyone and anything

Faults:

The transmission was ruined, it had to be rebuilt.

The passenger side speaker blew.

General Comments:

I really love this car. It is great going around curves and it handles wonderful.

Other than a few expensive parts (transmission), it was really worth it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th July, 2002

1992 Plymouth Laser 1.8L SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8L SOHC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired134000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Laser

Summary:

A fun, cheap, cruiser

Faults:

Nothing yet.

General Comments:

The car runs very smooth and quick. The engine is powerful and is responsive, even at low R.P.M.'s.

The car may not be the fastest, but may be the most fun.

The air conditioner in my car is very cold, but does put a slight strain on the engine. It still does not make the car run any worse though.

The seats are very comfortable in the front, but unless you're a child the backseat may be a little small.

I absolutely love the interior. The instrument panel is good looking and easy to read.

My car does not have power steering, so when you are at low speeds (i.e. parking) it is difficult to steer. Once you get at the top of first gear and into second, the steering feels just fine. It does take a little getting used to if you're not used to it, but the steering is relatively easy for a car with no power steering.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th May, 2002

1992 Plymouth Laser RS Turbo Intercooled 2.0 H.P. from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 H.P. Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired63000 miles
Most recent distance66000 miles
Previous carDodge Ram Pickup

Summary:

A high performance bargain

Faults:

So far, I had to replace the plug wires and the plugs. The wires were causing the engine to misfire at all speeds and these wires in particular are expensive. The turbo was replaced prematurely and so was the clutch.

General Comments:

This car has very impressive acceleration and handling; The technology of this vehicle was way ahead of its time. Other than interior room and a sticky shift, I'm very happy with this car so far.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th May, 2002

1992 Plymouth Laser 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired106000 miles
Most recent distance116000 miles

Faults:

Put brakes all the way around it.

Turn air on the car has a lot less power.

Leaked oil somehow from somewhere.

Starting to click when I turn slightly.

Head gasket blew.

Replaced the gasket and now the car won't run. Dies when it's in gear or around 4k rpms.

Ashtray broke.

Turned the visor and it broke.

General Comments:

The seats are very comfortable. You're sitting on the ground though.

The car hits 90mph quick, but anything past 115mph isn't easy.

Take off really isn't that nice. Lacks HP.

People always saying it's a Eclipse. I wish.

Looks good when it's clean, but dirt seems to love it more then me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th July, 2001

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 18 reviews