1992 Plymouth Laser Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1992 Plymouth Laser RS (DSM) 2.0 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired102000 kilometres
Most recent distance114000 kilometres
Previous carDodge Shadow ES 2.5

Summary:

Hands down... DSM is king of its class!!

Faults:

Battery failure... had to replace it after the 1st year.

General Comments:

Slap on it some wings and it would fly.

Turbo has serious boost and immediate kick. A+ performance when using premium gas rated 94+.

Very stable at speeds upwards of 120km.

Takes a while for the manual transmission oil to warm up for smoother shifting.

Bucket seats lack additional adjustments.

Some blind spots. Beware when overtaking.

Plymouth stickers should be replaced with the real Mitsubishi ones.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th February, 2001

13th Feb 2004, 06:45

Although I do agree that this is an awesome car (I own it's sister... a 92 Eagle Talon TSi). Unless you plan on working on it yourself (I do everything), or have deep pocketbooks to pay a competent mechanic, (competent, because no one seems to like working on them) don't buy one. I love this car and would never give it up, but it does take a LOT of effort to keep it in great shape.

1992 Plymouth Laser RS 2.0 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired13 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles
Previous carDodge Challenger

Summary:

Just right for me

Faults:

Rear seat speakers failed.

Gas cylinders for the hatchback weakened.

Overhead cam drive belt got sloppy.

Left driving light came loose.

General Comments:

I love it. I have owned nice, classic, driveable cars since 1960. Hot rods, muscle cars and all, too many to list. It would break your heart to know what I bought for $35 in the junk yard. The Laser RS is a neck snapper for the performance enthusiast (me) and a real pleasure to tour with.

It is one of those that will never be for sale. By the way, I am one of those old grey haired guys that loves to blow you away on the freeway. Christine did good with her offspring.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th December, 2000

14th Jan 2004, 13:34

I had owned a laser for a short time. I totaled it however. I loved her... She was a classic, and I would not sell her for a million dollars (well...)

12th Mar 2004, 06:15

I just bought a 92 laser and I must agree she has some snap. there is nothing wrong with mine except the paint is sun bleached. I found this in a lot ready to go to the junk yard cause no-one wanted it. well they're loss my awesome gain.

1992 Plymouth Laser RS 2.0 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired84400 miles
Most recent distance86500 miles

Faults:

Clutch went out.

Fan switch broke.

Needs a new gasket.

General Comments:

I love this car with all my heart. It halls ass!.

The all wheel drive makes it handle superbly.

It looks beautiful.

It's extremely comfortable.

Always starts and runs perfectly.

Everyone tells me how much they like my car. None of them like it as much as me, though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th November, 2000

1992 Plymouth Laser 1.8 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 liter Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired108000 miles
Most recent distance111600 miles
Previous carDodge Daytona Shelby

Summary:

Pretty damn nice

Faults:

It needed new brakes, an entire new set of them.

Also needed an axle.

Most recently, I've been told my engine has blow by. It's leaking every possible fluid.

The fan won't go on and the thermostat is broken.

General Comments:

I really like this car. Sure I can't let anyone sit in the backseat, and it's really annoying having to lean over so far just to roll the passenger window down, but it drives well and is reliable. It's good in winter and in rain. I don't like the whole engine problem though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th August, 2000

1992 Plymouth Laser from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired11000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carFord Tempo

Faults:

- The transmission had to be replaced at 83k miles.

- During certain brief seasons, the car stalls when idling. Mysteriously, the problem goes away after a while. Sometimes an oil change will bring that problem on, or make it go away.

- I pushed the driver's side visor to the side and it broke off in my hand.

- Door handle bolts worked themselves clear out

- Hub cap fell off (believe it or not).

General Comments:

- Tough to steer when parking.

- No power locks or windows.

- long wheel base for a small car.

- Does better than my Tempo did on ice and snow.. unusually well for a semi sporty car.

- Power (non-turbo version) is not great for a sporty car.

- Back seat is pretty useless (small).

- When it's clean, it looks nice. It stays clean for about 36 hours (I live in suburb.. not that much dust). Don't know why/how it attracts dust so quick.

- Always starts well and quickly.. I think I'm on the original battery.. which I've abused a few times (left lights on, etc.)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th February, 2000

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 18 reviews