1997 Plymouth Voyager Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1997 Plymouth Voyager SE 3.0L 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0L 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 kilometres
Most recent distance147000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

A high-maintenance long term headache

Faults:

It needed a complete transmission rebuild at 85000km costing $2000 (CAD).

Brake issues: Multiple break noise issues, pads replaced more than usual, rear brake cylinders replaced at 145k.

Air conditioning: freon has a slow leak so had to recharge it every 2 years.

Clock spring (controls horn, airbag, cruise control) faulty so repaired it at local mechanic and then Chrysler repaid my costs once recall was issued and I claimed my expenses. This is the one nice experience I have had with Chrysler.

Wipers come on intermittently with no pattern.

Speedometer while under cruise control just drops to 0 while on the highway and then comes back after a few seconds. Makes you wonder about the electrical system.

Strange looking nuts and bolts have been found under the car which is worrisome.

General Comments:

The interior kept in shape and generally very comfortable for short trips and lots of space.

It never left us stranded, but sure emptied my wallet with $200-400 typical invoices at the mechanic.

Generally this thing is a total lemon and I will never buy a Chrysler again. The resale value is so low it's the final insult after spending so much to keep it alive.

I am going back to Honda - at least it keeps its value.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th April, 2003

1997 Plymouth Voyager SE 3.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.3 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carKia Sephia

Summary:

Reliable, comfortable, cost effective, and highly recommend

Faults:

Had the transmission overhauled at 100000. Cost a little over $500.

Recall on the fuel ring. No cost.

Tune-up at 105000. Replace PVC valve, spark plugs and wires, rotor, oil change, and diagnostic/computer. $420.

Need to replace timing belt and all belts for $425.

General Comments:

A very reliable van. I have only encountered these mechanical problem at 100000. Reasonable for wear and tear.

This van drives more like a luxury car. This is great for long trips with the kids and family.

Price is excellent and cheaper compared to bigger cars and other vans.

You won't regret buying this vehicle.

You will see the bad reviews, but if you change the oil every 3000 miles and keep up with the maintenance you won't have these problems. They must have bought a bunch of lemons.

I give this van a A+.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st March, 2003

16th Feb 2005, 10:13

Hi;

Reason for all the bad reviews - check out the engine they had and then compare that to your engine. It is well known that the 3.0L engine is NOT the engine to have, the 3.3L engine is much better - as any mechanic who does Chrysler.

Glad to hear you had such good luck with yours, I am looking at purchasing a used one myself to replace our current Voyager - a 1989 with the old 2.5L engine and 5 Speed manual tranny - wish they still made them. 208,000 miles and still smiling!

1997 Plymouth Voyager SE 3.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 3.3 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance202843 miles
Previous carChrysler New Yorker

Summary:

She has performed great, like every Dodge I have had

Faults:

This is one of the best vans that are made, if you haven't had good luck with one you are a very poor driver. My wife drives this van and I can tell you she does not baby it, I have the tickets to prove it.

It will still make 120mph when ever you want it to. We tuned it up at 113000 and had the transmission fluid changed also. We replaced the front right caliper - it was a factory problem.

Coffee on the air conditioning controls stopped the air conditioning, not a big deal to fix.

We are going to take it for its 2nd tune up and transmission service at 213000.

General Comments:

1. Trans problems are from not using MOPAR trans fluid.

2. She is a Dodge and they need to be run hard from time to time, don't baby it.

3. For a new car it has out lasted my friends new vans, he is on his second General Motors.

4. Use Chevron 30 motor oil, I have 8 Dodges and only one that has less than 200000 on it, multi-vis is not good oil, too thin.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 2002

26th Jan 2003, 00:37

I do agree coffee on the control buttons is a problem, I spilled my coffee too and caused the buttons to stick.

1997 Plymouth Voyager Base Model from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Base Model Don't Know
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance69000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

A Plymouth failure - What happened??

Faults:

Tensioner arm broke at 20,000 included replacing the belts since they were destroyed (belts not under warranty even if another bad part destroyed them - $150).

Wipers turn on intermittently.

Oil leak, took it to the dealer 3 times before it was fixed.

Engine cooling fans relay stuck at 50,00 miles ($130 repair).

And more things, but I can go on forever...

General Comments:

Since we have the 4 cylinder version it is super slow up even small gradients.

It is very roomy, but I would go with a different van if I went with a 6 cylinder.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th May, 2001

17th Oct 2001, 21:18

I have a 96 Plymouth, and yes the wipers turn on intermittently. The transmission seems to be going as well. I would not buy another van from this company.

28th Jun 2002, 12:20

When will Plymouth finally admit that the transmissions are faulty and make a recall. I have a 1997 Grand Voyager and it is on it's third transmission. Other people that I know that have one of these pieces of junk are also on thier second or third transmission.

Average review marks: 5.0 / 10, based on 15 reviews