1987 Pontiac 6000 Reviews

1987 Pontiac 6000 2.5 from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired154000 miles
Most recent distance158000 miles

Summary:

Cheap, fast and reliable

Faults:

About 2 months after I got the car, the passenger side door lock quit work. I'm currently in search of a new door and/or lock.

2 weeks ago I accidentally pulled my rear view mirror off the window, but it went back up easily.

And my radio/cassette player works when it wants too.

No major problems.

General Comments:

I love this car. It hasn't given me any really problems yet. It's a bit rusty, but hey it runs great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th September, 2008

1987 Pontiac 6000 2.5 iron duke from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.5 iron duke Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired222000 kilometres
Most recent distance250000 kilometres

Summary:

Energizer bunny in form of a car

Faults:

Needed to change front struts to pass safety. Did it myself, $150.

Needed to change entire fuel system. Fuel gauge would not move and lines were leaky. $260.

Needed new alternator. $85, minus old one.

Exhaust pipe cracked in half under car making it sound like a souped up muscle car. $110.

Few electrical problems that are my fault when I installed a deck that's too high tech for it.. these problems still linger. My brake lights don't work, and the fuse will blow when I try to replace it. I'm too lazy.

Rust problem is irritating to look at.

One headlight just blew 3 days ago.

General Comments:

No matter the weather, the dangers, the speeds, the long drives.. this thing will not ever stop. I have never had it not start on me. The engine sounds likes its brand new and its quite old. It was free and I don't think it'll never die. I want a new one though, but I don't think I cold give this ugly/beautiful thing up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd May, 2007

23rd May 2007, 18:25

Keep it. If its running good and reliable, its not worth risking trading it in only to get a lemon in return. As long as the car does its job right don't try to push your luck.

1987 Pontiac 6000 from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired67000 miles
Most recent distance191000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

191,000 miles and still going, rock solid vehicle

Faults:

Very few things went wrong with this car, even after several years of ownership. Alternator went out a couple times, but other than that no major problems that come to mind.

Lost several hubcaps before I finally just stopped caring how the car looked on the exterior.

I kept the oil changed regularly and it ran excellent for most of it's life.

General Comments:

Most reliable car I've ever owned. My dad bought it for me my senior year in high school and I drove it for several years afterwards. It was still running alright when I finally sold it at 191,000 miles. Transmission was solid and never had to replace it.

I will always remember this trusty vehicle. Thank God it ran well at a time in my life when I didn't have money to spend on costly repairs. This car was relatively slow, and unattractive, but it was amazingly dependable and that's what I really needed. I've had a couple bad experiences with American made vehicles over the years, but this one was truly a gem.

I look for reliability when buying a vehicle and this one set the standard for which all my future cars will be measured by. I recently bought a Toyota Corolla and we'll see how it works out, so far so good.

I imagine these Pontiac 6000's are very cheap now. Find one with low mileage and it could very well last you for many years to come.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th January, 2006

15th May 2007, 22:14

My Pontiac 6000 has close to 300,000 KS on it! this is one tough beast of a car, but she's close to the end now.

8th Jul 2010, 15:18

Having a few problems, but overall for what I paid for it, AWESOMENESS is the word to be used.

1987 Pontiac 6000 LE V6 from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance205000 miles

Summary:

Death Defying Contraption from GM

Faults:

Replaced both front calipers.

Replaced master cylinder.

Replaced brake pads several times.

Replaced right front disc.

Replaced electric cooling fan.

Replaced thermostat.

Replaced ignition switch.

Replaced horn.

Replaced starter.

Replaced battery 3 times.

Replaced alternator belt twice.

Replaced spark plugs.

Replaced spark plug wires.

Replaced stop light switch.

Replaced hood release.. (with a locking wrench)

Lost windshield wiper fluid motor.

Leaky radiator.

Engine shuts down when stopping suddenly at 1/4 tank or less of gas.

CD Player (aftermarket) skips either ahead or behind 30 seconds if I hit the steering wheel.

General Comments:

This car refuses to die. Time and time again, its been brought back to life. I finally got everything needed to fix it to bring it back up to Texas inspection level just yesterday. I opened the hood and a moth flew out. The car's been driven to death and still refuses to die. I often hear of newer Pontiacs being completely unreliable and breaking down all the time... but with just a little TLC, this car will keep on going. Its been about 4 years since the last oil change, and it defys all laws of engines and physics.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th December, 2005

30th Sep 2006, 18:12

It's true, this car really does defy logic, mine should have died years ago, but it simply refuses. BUY THIS CAR IF YOU SEE IF FOR CHEAP! no matter how rough of a condition this car is in it can be fixed cheaply and it will serve you well.

27th Jul 2007, 17:25

I bought mine in 1987 and it's still going strong. A mechanic has never laid a finger on the engine. Other than some rust problems, this thing is a tank. It will not die. I can't remember the last time I had to bring it in for repair. I believe it was way back in 1993 when I replaced a fuel pump. That's it!

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 21 reviews