1987 Pontiac 6000 Reviews - Page 3 of 6

1987 Pontiac 6000 LE inline four from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission inline four Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired230000 kilometres
Most recent distance280000 kilometres

Summary:

An old first car that will need work often

Faults:

Lots of things had to be replaced before I got this car.

I had to replace the fan motor because it was all stripped out inside. It's bearings were not functioning and it made a loud screeching noise when I turned on the fan.

The alternator slowly died and had to be replaced. The headlights etc had been pulsing and fading for several weeks.

The inside handle in one of the back doors came right off because of a broken plastic clip in the door.

The wire that connects the seat adjustment handle to the runners snapped.

When I had a blowout on the highway the aluminum wheel got shredded to incapacity.

Most recently the water pump started leaking pretty badly. That was the final straw -I gave the car away.

General Comments:

The 6000 was very comfortable and reliable given its age. I'd have preferred reclining front seats though.

The cruise control and air conditioning never stopped working.

I wouldn't recommend the 6000 to anyone now, but I might have 10 years ago.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th May, 2003

1987 Pontiac 6000 LE 208 MPFI V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 208 MPFI V6 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 miles
Most recent distance201000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile 98

Summary:

Beater

Faults:

I had to replace my rear shocks.

I had to replace my front struts.

My exhaust system rusted out twice, and fell off once.

I had to replace my knock sensor.

I had to replace my electronic control module.

I had to replace my mass air flow sensor.

I had to replace my headliner because it was falling down.

I had to replace both front brake calipers, hoses, and rotors.

I had to replace my spark plugs and wires.

I had to replace my ugly Pontiac hubcaps with cheap chrome ones.

I had to replace my water pump.

The car leaked every fluid it had.

I had to replace the fenders, bumper, hood, etc. several times after I smashed into stuff on accident.

I had to replace my windshield because my ex-girlfriend busted it out with a baseball bat.

I had to replace all my brakes.

I had to replace the serpentine belt twice.

I had to replace the back seat.

I had to replace all the headlights.

I did a lot more to this car, but I can't remember it all.

General Comments:

This car was my first car, and even though I had to work on it a lot, I will never forget the memories of my white Pontiac 6000.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th March, 2003

1987 Pontiac 6000 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired122000 kilometres
Most recent distance440000 kilometres
Previous carVolvo 244

Faults:

Aside from the usual tuneup stuff, not a lot of major things happened.

I've replaced the Mass Airflow Sensor, the 02 sensor, the muffler a couple of times.

The car was starting to rust out bad, but what do you expect with salt on the roads for a few months a year?

The computer failed about 6 years ago and always said the car was warm before it actually got warm.

It leaked from underneath because of the rust, so we had a wet car for the last couple of years. But... 440,000 km (on original engine and transmission) is no push over! That car owed us nothing when it finally died (my son hitting a tree with it didn't help either). Way to go on this one GM!!

General Comments:

The car did handle quite well. I went through quite a few front brake rotors, but since I did my own brakes, it wasn't so expensive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th March, 2003

4th Jan 2010, 23:04

You certainly got your money out of the car. If only cars would last forever?

1987 Pontiac 6000 LE 2.8 Litre V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.8 Litre V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired235000 kilometres
Most recent distance248000 kilometres
Previous carFord Tempo

Summary:

The Goolie is a comfortable, fairly powerful and funky looking car!

Faults:

Very little has gone with this car. I've had a few Pontiac 6000s over the years and I love them. If well cared for, they will serve you well. Brakes and rust repair tend to be the only areas of attention I've had to deal with, and occasionally electrical glitches.

General Comments:

I can't believe other people call this car a Goolie! (the "6" kind of looks like a "G", so we just call any 6000 LE a Goolie). These cars are so hideous looking, but that's the fun of owing a Goolie!

With the V6 engine, this car offers very good performance. The interior is roomy and comfortable. Although plenty of poorly maintained examples abound, there are always a few nice cream puffs out there, so keep looking until you find one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th February, 2003

18th Oct 2010, 11:51

I have sold cars for about 20 years. We call the 6000 LE a Ghoulie too. I thought I would share a funny thing too. They also built a 6000 that had a STE package. We called that a Ghostie. LOL!

Ghosties and Ghoulies. Funny stuff.

When I worked at a Ford store we had Crown Victoria package that was a Brougham. A lot of people would call it a Bro-ham. They would come in and ask if we had any Bro-hams. Sometimes if it were a Mercury Grand Marquis Brougham, they would say "got any of those Grand Mark-isses Bro-hams... Hilarious.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 21 reviews