2003 Pontiac Aztek Reviews

2003 Pontiac Aztek from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired300 kilometres
Most recent distance83000 kilometres

Summary:

Nice to drive - not reliable

Faults:

Intake manifold was replaced at 52,000 km.

Rocker gasket replaced at 82,000 km (no compression in cylinder #4)

Two months later I have no compression in cylinder #6.

General Comments:

I love the car, it's roomy and drives nice.

The engine is a real problem - I am worried that I will have problems from here on it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th January, 2008

2003 Pontiac Aztek FWD 3.4 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.4 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired77200 miles
Most recent distance79600 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Intrigue

Summary:

Reliability seems to be an issue

Faults:

I've had the car about a month and a half:

- Rattle/clanking noise which progressively got worst. I told the used car dealer that noise seemed to be from behind me, under the car. His mechanic and the Pontiac dealer insisted it was the catalytic converter going bad internally. Pontiac dealer replaced it free (there is an 80,000 factory warranty on converter). The noise still there. Finally a muffler/shock shop found it to be rear shocks going bad. Dealer paid for these.

- Infamous intake gasket went (79,400 miles) at the tune of over $700. Thankfully I bought the extended warranty which covered this. GM should be paying for these.

- A couple times the transmission has slipped/shuddered when starting up after shifting from reverse to drive. Anyone else have this - should I be expecting tranny to go next?

- Backlight of radio display half out.

General Comments:

Decent riding vehicle with plenty of cargo room compared to similar size SUVs. Good gas mileage also (easily 25-26 highway).

Concerned about reliability - have already been to shop 5 times and without the car for 8 days. Thinking I should have just fixed the steering rack on my '98 Olds (183,000 miles). I was more confident jumping in the seat of that car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th November, 2007

15th Feb 2013, 18:26

Update. Just hit 150,000 miles. Transmission still slips on start up once in a while, but have been told it is common (a solenoid sticking in transmission). Only major thing since first few months of ownership, was the Body Control Module (BCM) located in the console (under drink holders I might add) went at about 128,000 ($800). Dash gauges went crazy, security light came on, and car died. Happened twice before correctly diagnosed. Just basic maintenance otherwise. Over 5 years, not bad.

15th Feb 2013, 18:29

P.S. GM did reimburse me for a large chunk of the intake gasket repair.

2003 Pontiac Aztek versatrak V6 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles
Previous carPontiac Aztek

Summary:

The best car I have ever had

Faults:

Not a bad comment about this SUV. at all.

General Comments:

The car is awesome. we get between 26 and 28 miles per gallon around town and have got up to 35 miles per gallon on the highway.

The ride is excellent, and the handeling is almost that of a sports car.

It is nice and roomy inside, and I love the look on the outside.

Just can't say enough good about it.

I am currently looking for a second one to trade my jeep in for. they are hard to find here, see lots of them on the road, but never on a car lot.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th June, 2007

6th Jun 2008, 17:59

There is no way they get that kind of gas mileage. I have the same year Versatrek, and I get crap gas mileage; 250 miles per tank. That is only 16 miles per gallon.

So many problems; AWD Disable, riding down the road and the rear hatch light pops on; stop to check and it's closed tight.

The low tire pressure light pops on. I stop to check the air pressure and it's fine.

This car all around sucks, and is costly to repair due to the fact no one can tell me what is wrong with it, so I am spending more of my money and time on rentals than I do for my car payment a month.

DON'T BUY ONE.

7th Sep 2008, 16:53

Aztek sucks! There are no maintenance manuals for it, so combined with numerous problems such as wiring that disables AWD and ABS as well as that crap they use for the transmission fluid, this car is the biggest debacle of the automotive world. I hope GM dies along with Ford!

11th Dec 2008, 08:56

My Aztek has a lot of the same problems that were mentioned, but also has a noise coming from the rear like grinding or bad gears. I tried to get it covered before the warranty ran out, but the GM car dealership told me they couldn't do anything unless it was totally broken. Thank you and good luck.

23rd Apr 2009, 02:16

I have a 03 Venture with AWD. The ABS light and AWD light is on always. Tried tire pressure, still comes on. Now the transfer case is blowing crazy!! $2300 is what GM wants just for the part. I found a used one for $700. I hope it works.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 8 reviews