1992 Pontiac Bonneville SE 3.8L V6 from North America

Summary:

The 4 banger Killer

Faults:

The Transmission has a hard time shifting into over drive.

Rocker panels rusted away.

General Comments:

I'm 17 years old and I love this first car. It's a big boat, lots of room, I wouldn't trade it for the world. It has 143,000 miles on it and I pound the day lights out of it. It will beat any of those 4 bangers any day! One down side... Can't roach the tires. But I love it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th June, 2004

1992 Pontiac Bonneville SE 3.8 liter V6 from North America

Summary:

Reliable Piece of Steel!

Faults:

Pretty much normal wear and tear. The previous owner told us it was in a very serious front-end accident when new. It has a short so when the rear defrost goes on the power door locks don't work. The latch on the drivers side back door is broken. Horn relay went bad.

General Comments:

I love this car, it was my parent's car before mine and I'm 16 but still love this car even though it's big. I would recommend it to anyone and I personally think it runs better than my brother's 94 Lumina.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st February, 2004

1992 Pontiac Bonneville SE 3.8 V6 from North America

Summary:

This car gets decent gas mileage for its size

Faults:

I had to replace the water pump. I ignored the battery getting lower and one day the serpentine belt fell off. I had to replace the alternator belt. The serpentine belt remained undamaged.

I had to flush the transmission (it had not been flushed in quite sometime).

General Comments:

Overall, the engine is a solid machine.

This car is very dependable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd September, 2003

1992 Pontiac Bonneville SSE 3.8 from North America

Summary:

Great sports sedan for a guy like me!

Faults:

My idler pulley went bad at about 82000.

My Door seals are noisy on the highway.

Had Problems with instrument cluster, including compass, Information center, Amp and fuel gage.

Heads up display will only adjust down.

Brakes make a odd noise when applied hard.

Rotors are warped.

Gets really bad gas mileage in town.

General Comments:

This car is really fast, and pulls very hard.

Handles like a dream.

Very good car for the money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th December, 2002

1992 Pontiac Bonneville SE 3.8 Tuned Port Fuel Injection from North America

Summary:

A very good reliable fast car

Faults:

I needed a Oxygen Sensor.

Other wise the car has ran fine.

Don't ever except the A/C to work.

General Comments:

The car has ran like a champ. I'm only a 17 year old kid I don't baby it either. The car now with 140000 miles needs a simple 200.00 doller repair, not bad if you think about it cause the car has ran great. It is also a very quick car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th October, 2002

5th Apr 2006, 21:08

If you can find me the right car I would be more happy I can see my kids in st paul minn.

1992 Pontiac Bonneville SE 3.8L V6 from North America

Summary:

A high performance bargain

Faults:

The alternator went around 65,000 miles.

Trunk opener doesn't work.

Air conditioner needed recharged at 80,000 miles.

Transmission shifts hard from 1st to 2and when the a/c is on.

General Comments:

This car is awesome. You won't find another touring sedan like it on the road today. This is my second Bonneville, and I would definitely purchase another. This car is truly luxury with attitude.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th June, 2002

1992 Pontiac Bonneville SSEi 3.8 litre supercharged from North America

Summary:

The Airforce called. They want their technology back

Faults:

My alternator needed to be replaced soon after I purchased the vehicle.

A week after that, the crank sensor went, leaving my wife stranded on a major highway during rush hour. Not fun. But the car sure is.

General Comments:

My wife keeps asking just who I'm smiling at when I drive this beast.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th October, 2001

1992 Pontiac Bonneville SE 3.8 from North America

Summary:

I would definitely purchase another!!!

Faults:

The anti-lock brakes are dead.

Interior hardware is very cheaply made and brittle.

The air conditioning system has never worked, despite several service calls.

A ball joint bad at 80,000 miles.

Transmission slips like a wet noodle.

General Comments:

This car is reliable, don't get me wrong. But when I have to get on the ground in 10 degree weather to change the burnt fluid in the transmission, I get bitter.

Also the engine is great - bulletproof as a matter of fact. But the interior sucks. The exterior is awesome. Luckily, I am an auto detailer, I have saved this car from the ruins.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th October, 2001

8th Apr 2007, 07:44

UPDATE: Its probably been about 4 or 5 years since I wrote the original review. The Bonnie is now is my Fathers hands who uses the car for work (he travels a lot). The car still looks great - no rust at all - and now has over 200,000 miles on it with NO signs of stopping or slowing. The thing still packs a punch despite having 200k on it. I'm sure our bulletproof 3.8L will make it to 300,000 miles without major incident.