1985 Pontiac Fiero SE 2.8L V6 from North America


Handling, Looks, and American Torque!


Replaced all 4 discs and pads.

Rebuilt the calipers.

Changed ignition module.

General Comments:

I bought this Fiero to sell, but once I drove it I was hooked. It has awesome torque, and handles like a serious sports car. I've heard all kinds of things about Fieros some good, some bad, but soon enough they will probably be worth money. I wouldn't trade it for any other car. I plan to add a turbo system. Nothing like American Turbo V6 Torque!!! Very cockpit like interior, and very supportive seats. Got to love those plastic non-corroding body panels! it's also great in the winter, despite the rear wheel drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd February, 2004

5th Jun 2006, 12:16

What is wrong with rear wheel drive on the Fiero? The engine is right above the wheels, and that provides more pressure right on them, making them grip the road harder than a front mounted rear wheel drive vehicle.

I also own the 85 SE.

6th Sep 2006, 15:55

I found the Fiero to be mostly fine in the winter. It's only disadvantages are low ground clearance and the inability to steer the driving wheels like you could on a front wheel drive car. It's fine in snow, but not great on ice as it does have a tendency to spin easily.

7th Sep 2006, 15:13

My brother owned an 86 SE Fiero and he drove it in the winter. Said it handled surprisingly good on snow, but he did put 4 brand new tires on it in the fall of that year.

1985 Pontiac Fiero Sport Coupe 2.5L from North America


A real exotic looking Chevette!


Headlight motors stopped functioning.

Starter needed replacing after my dad cracked the plastic housing.

"Check Engine" light comes on and off.

Cruise control stopped working.

Brake master cylinder had a leak.

General Comments:

I very much enjoy my car because of its mid-engine design.

It looks very exotic and handles like a real sport scar.

The 4 cylinder engine is good on gas (27-34 mpg), but isn't powerful enough to keep up with the car's exotic appearance and handling (92 horsepower).

I also like how the body is rustproof and therefore always looks nice.

Drive one sometime, and you'll be hooked! Definitely drives very different than any other North American vehicle!

If gas mileage isn't a big issue, check out the Fieros with the optional 2.8L V-6 (140 horsepower).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th December, 2003

1985 Pontiac Fiero 2M4 2.5 I4 from North America


Great Value


The valve cover got very leaky at 43,000 miles.

The fan switch does not work, but the car does not overheat in traffic.

The cruise control does not always work.

The shift mechanism seems clunky, but has a nice short throw.

Trunk light does not work.

General Comments:

Great handling, better than a lot of more expensive cars.

Excellent acceleration for a 4-cyl.

Suspension is excellent.

Radio is clear and sounds excellent with speakers right behind your head in the seats.

Seats are very comfortable with no wear showing yet.

I am 6'2" and the car fits me very well.

Great legroom.

The trunk is big enough to fit anything you need to put in there, if you know how to pack it all in there.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st October, 2002

20th May 2003, 13:00

That's nice.

29th May 2003, 05:28

You have on of those Good ol Iron Duke Engines in your Fiero!! These engines are quite powerfull!!

27th Jan 2006, 15:26

Iron Duke = Oil Furnace.

That motor burned more oil than an oil furnace. But it was a damn good beater motor.

22nd May 2006, 10:01

I have had mine for about a year it's a good running car when it is running, but my head gasket needs replaced again and my fan won't shut off, but I will get it it fixed and be running great.

1985 Pontiac Fiero GT 2.8L from North America


Great fun car that still catches eyes


Emergency brakes stick.

Clutch was not smooth until it was eventually rebuilt after 75,000 KMS.

Tires seem to wear faster than expected.

General Comments:

The Fiero GT is a very fun car at a very good price.

Small, only if you don't know how to pack. I am able to transport an 8 piece oversized drum set in this car! In addition, I was able to pack camping and hiking gear for two people and transport my wife and myself for a two week trip. Only thing at our feet was the junk food and the cassette case for tunes.

Though, it may be expensive to upkeep due to all the electronic parts that seem to go as these cars get older, I would only recommend the car to people that can afford to keep it up. Great car. I'll be old and gray before I give it up. I'm now 40! (and not gray yet!)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th April, 2002