1987 Pontiac Fiero GT 2.8 from North America


A wonderful car


The tachometer sending unit connector broke. This caused the car not to run.

The tilt steering column pins were loose.

General Comments:

I loved this car.

Handled very well even in the snow.

Very comfortable interior as well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th December, 2001

1987 Pontiac Fiero GT 2.8 from North America


Something that turns heads for a small price


My engine is running, but it is about time for a new one.

The driver's side seat is in real bad shape.

Both back side rear windows are cracked.

General Comments:

This is a true sports car for the people who can't spend the big bucks. It's low to the ground, wide, and mid-engine.

I love the way the console splits the two seats apart to give you a cockpit like cabin. It is so different from all of the other cars that pass you on the road. Everyone turns their head to look at this beast.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th October, 2001

1987 Pontiac Fiero GT 2.8 liter from North America


The Fiero is an addictive car to drive


The car leaks a small amount of oil.

THe exhaust manifold leaks.

The headlight motor died (left side).

General Comments:

This is the most fun I've had with any car I have ever owned. The performance is awesome, but the car could use more power. The Fiero needed to have a 200+ horsepower engine option, but it didn't, so that is where engine kits and engine swaps come in. The Fiero was meant to be fast and have power to compliment it's "Ferrariesque" design. However, this car still has power when you need it, and it can definitely hold it's own.

If Pontiac ever comes out with a new mid engine two seater, I would definitely purchase one. There is a reason the Pontiac Fiero has one of the largest followings of any American made sports car. Anybody that has driven a GT or a Formula knows what I'm talking about. This car is a blast to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd September, 2001

22nd Feb 2005, 02:23

No luggage allowed! Are you going to drive a sporty car or a family wagon? You can have another car if you want more trunk space. The trunk is well suited for a pair of mid-sized bags. Not more. You can also make "hot dogs" in a rear trunk :) ) ) And all external "ski carriers" look most ugly om Fiero :) ) )

Fiero's more a beloved "toy car" than a commuter now. Just note it and use it.

1987 Pontiac Fiero GT 2.8 V6 from North America


A rare speedster


Heats up quickly.. so have enough coolant if you live in California!

General Comments:

A first time to drive a mid-engined sports car (where's the Porsche and Ferrari?) and it just felt solid on turns, 10/10 auto transmission, near zero body roll, and you get to the speed limited 120 MPH with no sweat.

The suspension, judging from these bad Massachusetts roads, is awesome and a bit firm. The car growls with a usual American feel and this baby can smoke most 2.8 liter imports.

Truly reliable, truly fast and executes lots of torque at only 2500 RPM. Just one question...

What was Pontiac thinking when they discontinued the Fiero? A true challenger to the other popular mid-engine, the Porsche... remember one thing.. buckle up and expect speeding tickets!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th May, 2001

12th Oct 2007, 13:18

Pontiac discontinued the Fiero due to lawsuits by Ferrari.

12th Jun 2008, 08:59


1987 Pontiac Fiero Base Coupe 2.5 from North America


Great car, I would buy another if I had the money


Rear brake calipers (when it sits in storage for 4 years something is going to stick).

Poor sound system (upgrading currently).

Replaced plugs and plug wires (had a slight miss due to bad wires and lots of corrosion on the plugs).

New tires needed.

General Comments:

I have had my car for about 6 months and nothing has gone wrong with it that wasn't due to sitting in storage for 4 years and just driving.

I turn heads everywhere I go and people think I have an expensive car, and I have only spent about $3,000 with everything I have done to it and purchasing it.

The big sun-roof is a big plus, it's like having a convertible almost.

Even with bald tires and leaky struts the car corners great at high speeds and has almost no body roll.

Great car for customizing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th May, 2001