1985 Pontiac Firebird Reviews - Page 3 of 6

1985 Pontiac Firebird SE 2.8 multi port fuel injection from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.8 multi port fuel injection Automatic
Distance when acquired160055 miles
Most recent distance175789 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

A good reliable car for sale

Faults:

Well since I have had the car

I have had to get a new exhaust.

Had to replace fuel pump ($75.00)

General Comments:

Dash is cracked.

Middle console is pulling apart.

Carpets need vacuuming.

Oh ya if you would like to, but email me at billy1369769@yahoo.com.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th May, 2004

1985 Pontiac Firebird SE 2.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired99000 miles
Most recent distance106000 miles

Summary:

Most beautiful car for the money

Faults:

Tranny went out right when I got it.

Rod bearings went out after a few hundred miles. Engine bad.

Torque converter bolt broke off.

Locks messed up.

General Comments:

I've sustained quite a bit of trouble with this car, and being my first it's not been fun. I've spent maybe $6000 so far buying it and fixing it up, more from fixing it up though. Rebuilt transmission and replaced engine. Power is nice, but it's a heavy car. Interior is wonderfully kept up except in the trunk with aged plastic. Everything works pretty much. I basically have another horror story to add. But I love it anyway and driving it makes all the bad stuff disappear, I truly love driving this car. It brings a most wonderful feeling I can't quite describe. It's surely better than most any other car. If only it had the efficiency and power of engines nowadays. They should've put more effort into this car at the factory. I could only compare it's aesthetics to a Ferrari. Indeed I like it far above any corvette.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th December, 2003

16th Dec 2003, 13:05

That 2.8 is actually a hell of an engine, and while it may not be so great performance-wise, I'm telling you from experience that it is one of the most reliable engines GM made. Now that you rebuilt it you shouldn't have any problems for a long long time. (This comment applies to the MPFI engine only, much better then the old carburated model)

1985 Pontiac Firebird Coupe 2.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance100002 miles
Previous carChrysler Concorde

Summary:

High performance bargain

Faults:

The only thing I have had a problem with is the door pin had to be replaced. Cost $5.50.

General Comments:

The car has a nice sporty look, inside & out.

I replaced the V6 with a Chevy 355. It has about 400 horse power.

I paid $400 for the car. No rust.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th March, 2003

1985 Pontiac Firebird 2.8L from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.8L Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired156000 miles
Most recent distance156899 miles

Summary:

A great investment

Faults:

The only thing that has gone wrong with it is the mass air flow sensor.

General Comments:

The handling on this car is great! It really hangs in the curves!

Its got good pep once you get in the higher RPMs.

It is really fun to drive!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th July, 2002

1985 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am 5.0 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.0 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles
Previous carFord Probe

Summary:

Nickel and Dime'd to death

Faults:

Doors, dash, and something in the trunk area rattle.

The car drives rough before it has warmed up.

Transmission had a leak when I bought it.

T-tops leak by windows.

I had a major brake problem when the rear brakes no longer worked, which wore out the front brakes until it broke the front brakes completly. ($700 to repair.)

Gasket in the engine was leaking radiator fluid. I had it fixed.

Heater core inlet tube broke, which leaked into the passenger side floor.

One of the rear spark plugs fell out.

Seats are starting to rip.

Center console cracked.

Rear spoiler material in peeling.

Turn signal light fell out.

The skirting that directs air to the radiator ripped off.

There in a buzzing noise that comes out of the speakers, and its pitch increases with the engine speed.

Cloth on the T-bar in falling off.

Emergency brake doesn't work sometimes.

Wires to the cruise control have broke.

Vents will not change for different settings (floor, defroster, etc.)

AC is not cold. It might just need to be recharged.

Water pump rusted through.

Alternator belt snapped.

Map light doesn't work.

Windshield washer pump was broken when I bought the car.

It still leaks radiator fluid.

General Comments:

When I first bought this car I thought it was going to be an awesome car. But I have had nothing but problems with it, and it has cost me a lot of money to keep it running.

However, it is a whole lot faster than my Probe was, although I got out done by a Duster.

The exhaust has a nice low roar to it, and it lets people know when I arrive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th April, 2002

15th Jun 2006, 03:05

This seems to be a review of an old, unmaintained, car-Firebird or not. A car in this condition is not an indication of how sound the car is, but of its former owner. I have had two third generation Firebirds and both were very good and both were used. The one I currently have is 21 years old. Good luck with this thing. I would just cut my losses and by another. They are very cheap now, if eBay is an indication. The third generation F-body is not very sought after.

21st Jun 2008, 01:37

Wow, that thing must have been rode hard and put up wet. You usually only see that laundry list of problems with the cars over 150,000 miles. They're all the little things that eventually do happen to these cars. The rear disc brakes from 1982-1988 were junk, though. GM should have owned up to that lousy design. I've had to fix mine at least once a year.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 22 reviews