1990 Pontiac Firebird Reviews - Page 2 of 4

1990 Pontiac Firebird Formula 5.0 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.0 V8 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance159000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Starion

Summary:

The greatest car I've ever driven

Faults:

Fuel pump, my starter went out and took the battery with it, headlight motors, other than that, normal wear and tear.

General Comments:

The first Fire-bird I ever drove was a boyfriend's. I loved it. So after that I set out to find my own Fire-bird. I was looking at a truck at a dealership and turned around and there she was. When I bought her I was so excited by the way she handled and how fast she got up and went. I had everybody wanting to race me. And, of course, I beat them, without even trying. I have had this car for over 3 years and I still don't want to get rid of her. She is getting on up there in mileage and I expect things to go out and needing replacement, but I think that car is worth the time and money I plan to put into her to make her like new again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th March, 2003

29th Mar 2005, 13:34

My first firebird was all broke so I plan on fixing it to perfection.

13th Mar 2006, 17:03

1990 FireBird is a nice choice, but there is no way you're going to win races against anything, but a civic. Old muscle is slow.

24th Apr 2006, 00:30

Old muscle is slow?! Who lied to that guy? I have a 1986 Trans Am and I know it will take more than just a Civic. F-body cars rule... no matter the age.

24th Apr 2006, 10:54

Well, you have to compare horsepower and weight.

The new Civic Si is relatively light and has a 197 hp engine.

And to be considered "new muscle" these days the minimum requirements are 400 hp. Heck, the Mercedes SL65 has 605 hp and 700+ lb/ft of torque. A Rolls Royce goes 0 - 60 in 5 seconds.

2nd Mar 2008, 11:13

I own an 89 Formula WS6, black with t-tops, I bought it 4 years ago with 123k miles... now it has 230k! Original tranny and motor.

Extremely dependable, keep it tuned up and it looks amazing in the original black paint.

The 5.0 tbi motor doesn't put out a whole lot of power (the TPI set up is quicker), but all of the compliments from complete strangers and the bond I have with this car have convinced me to keep this forever.

I am part of a F-body car club that me and my friends started, and we show off all of the Firebirds and Camaros. My mom has a 2000 Camaro and next to it in the garage my brother has a bad ass (stock) 97 Camaro Z28. Unfortunately the 'bird stays outside next to my Blazer.

1990 Pontiac Firebird 3.1L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.1L V6 Automatic
Distance when acquired118000 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

Best car ever made

Faults:

Replaced engine mounts, transmission mounts.

New muffler and tail pipes.

New radiator and battery.

New emission control module computer.

Was in a minor accident March 2001.

Changed the hood to a TA vented hood, new passenger fender and front bumper, new passenger headlight cover and bulb.

Sister backed into the driver's side fender and bent the door back, 2 weeks after I finished replacing the other side.

Purchased a 90 Firebird for parts.

Replaced both doors and put a new fender on the driver side. Then got a cowl induction hood with the off center power bulge. I cut out 2 slits above the fog light holes and installed 2 sets of blazer high beams. And covered with screen. Put glow toggle switches under the stock switch. I didn't put the old high beams back in, rather covered the holes with metal screen. Installed strobes connected to the old fog light switch.

Changed the center console, and put a running light indicator bulb in between the window switches.

Changed the stock gauge lights to red.

Replaced the dash.

Replaced the headliner.

Replaced the front seats with "PMD" racing seats.

New hood and trunk shocks.

New trunk motor plastic guide spacers.

Installed 3 stereos, 1 amp, and 1 sub woofer.

Changed the headlight motors, but they aren't working again. Need to get brand new ones.

Christmas 2002, the starter went out.

Trouble shot the problem and changed the ignition switch, checked the key cylinder for shorts, concluded it is the starter.

The Idle Air Control Valve has warn out by leaking coolant, and needs to be replaced ASAP.

Painted a black stripe on the hood with a Firebird on it. The car is finally all red now.

General Comments:

I have liked this car since the day I bought it. It may only be a 3.1L, but it gets great gas mileage and it hauls when it needs to. I can smoke a rice rocket any day. This is the best car ever made. The 3rd gen F-Body.

I plan on getting the 305 TA. Then getting a 350 formula. I'm going to make my 84 a Knight Rider replica.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th December, 2002

6th Jul 2007, 08:38

I m hesitating to buy a Pontiac Fire-bird, someone asking 2800 us dollars for it and it has 87 000 miles, looks very clean, I really have no ideas about these cars, but I like to aggressive look.. i need your opinions please, thanks robgraffiti@yahoo.com.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 11 reviews