1990 Pontiac Firebird Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1990 Pontiac Firebird Formula 5.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired106000 miles
Most recent distance106357 miles

Summary:

A comfortable sports car

Faults:

My power antenna just broke.

My rpm-meter is off a little.

This car is too fast my sister did a burnout in my neighbors yard.

General Comments:

My interior is perfect you can't even tell it is 12 years old.

5.0 liter engine is very reliable and if you put about $2,000 in it you will get more power than you would with putting $2,000 onto a 5.7 liter engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th May, 2002

1990 Pontiac Firebird Formula 5.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired76000 miles
Most recent distance96000 miles
Previous carBuick Century

Summary:

I love the shape of the Firebird, but not GM's construction of it

Faults:

Passenger window started sticking around 78,000.

Rear defogger stopped working around 79,000.

Transmission mount went around 82,000.

Water pump around 87,000.

Passenger door handle ripped off around 95,000 in the bitter cold.

The entire exhaust fell off first then the rest rotted off.

Hood shocks and hatch shocks were shot when I got it, only replaced once.

Very sluggish when I first bought, replaced entire distributer assembly, wires and plugs, very quick now.

Overall after replacing a lot of stuff it is a very nice car, but GM gets a thumbs down for poor construction and poor use of cheap plastic parts, but the motor seems very strong.

General Comments:

Did not have to change headlight motors yet!!

Very quick for it's age and mileage.

Still looks really good.

Sound good after replacing the exhaust system.

I used to have one and wrecked it, and after putting some time into this one it looks really hot and sounds even hotter.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th March, 2001

7th Aug 2007, 01:23

I own a 1990 Pontiac Formula. Original owner. Made 4 cross-country trips the first 4 years (complete circles around the US, each about 9,000 mile trips each), still own it, and STILL LOVE IT! Excellent performance. Drove it in 120 degrees at Death Valley and 30 degrees below in the north, even after 90,000 miles! Never let me down once in over 17 years! No rot. HOWEVER, the passenger side t-tops always leaked a slight amount during a very heavy rain. Excellent car and the most reliable one I have ever had. Even after 17 years!

1990 Pontiac Firebird Formula 5.0 TBI from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.0 TBI Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance106000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Bad ass

Faults:

On my 2nd radiator.

Used to be the show car for the Orion music company.

Starter.

Ignition.

New front end assembly.

Transmission went out at 75,000 miles.

General Comments:

Not much off the line.

I can take corners at about 90 mph!

One thing I don't understand.

It shifts 6 times, 700 R4 6 speed auto?

If anybody knows why email me at jason_cannon2@excite.com.

K&N air filter system makes about 10 more horse which put me up to 180?

That kinda sucks. Email me and tell me what ya think.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st March, 2001

27th Apr 2001, 22:55

Need more than a K&N, if you want cheap performance. Jet air foil, heavy duty cap, rotor, ignition wires, fabricated smoother air induction using PVC and cut pieces from the original tubing to make it work.

All this gave me 19 rear wheel ponies! Not bad for about a 100 bucks. Get a track auto cap and rotor, don't waste your money on a brand name, they are all the same.

19th Mar 2004, 18:53

I would sell it and get a 1990 with the 5 speed and dual cat exhaust. You will now have 230 horses to play with, and also have a chance against the mustangs...

11th Nov 2005, 15:31

It's the poor gearing that is doing it on your model. Also, the 5.0 TBI was one of the first OHV V8's to break the 25 mpg barrier -- something that makes more sense today than it did when this car was new! So it had only 170 hp, but it has tons of torque and is a penny-pincher on gas even by today's 5.0 standards.

1990 Pontiac Firebird Formula from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 miles
Most recent distance144000 miles
Previous carGeo Spectrum

Summary:

Smart car to buy for the insane driver!

Faults:

Alternator, starter, and battery.

Head-lamp door (power wire shorted across the bell housing).

Power antenna went out.

Transmission started slipping recently (not too bad considering the mileage; it will be rebuilt).

Spoiler cracked (high school kids couldn't find a better place to sit, and I couldn't find a better place to park, $#@^%#@%#).

General Comments:

This has been a great car. Reasonable gas mileage for an American sports car. I would suggest the 5.7TPI, because the 5.0TPI just doesn't have enough torque to get it moving although rolling starts, and sharp corners are a blast! I nearly rolled it going 130+; Thank goodness for the WS6 suspension!

The best part about the car is its dependability. All the problems have come by way of high mileage and daily use. I easily put on 300+ miles a week.

Oh yes, if it weren't for the autotrans & posi-traction, I wouldn't even think about driving it in the snow!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th January, 2001

31st Aug 2001, 18:57

I love my Maui Blue '90 FBF. I am interested in where, if not the dealer, did you get a replacement power antenna. Mine just went out. Otherwise, this has been the most reliable car I've ever owned. JMilkay123@aol.com.

6th Sep 2001, 23:20

Totally understand about driving in the snow... not a fun time.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 11 reviews