1994 Pontiac Firebird Reviews - Page 4 of 7

1994 Pontiac Firebird 3.4L 204 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.4L 204 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carChrysler Cirrus

Summary:

Best sports car made affordable!

Faults:

After probably 10 years, the drivers window motor went out. Other than that its been AWESOME!!

General Comments:

This is by far one of the greatest cars made. Pontiac got the job done in 1994. Its fast and reliable. I have beat those cheap import cars that think they're all tuff. They are nothing to the Firebird. I've even raced a 2004 Mustang Cobra and beat it. Don't buy a Mustang! They are no good. My next car is a Trans Am. If you are selling one or know some one who is selling one in Illinois notify me please. The Firebird has everything you are looking for in a sports car. If I won the lottery I would buy every Firebird and Trans Am on the market. My Firebird has never let me down. With simple maintence its lived more than expected and it will continue to live! Firebird Rocks!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th July, 2004

22nd Aug 2004, 23:00

How does a 3.4 (160 hp) beat a supercharged 04 Cobra (390 hp)? I had an LT1 Trans Am and it wasn't pulling much on the 99+ GTs and it has one hundred hp less than the 03+ Cobra. (Not to mention the hundred or so hp from my car to yours.) You must of had some mad NNAAWWSS skills yo. lol

27th Mar 2006, 18:40

This car came with a 5.7L 350C.I. V8, in 1994, it was pushing 285 horsepower... read your facts before you post, please. Also, the 3.4 went with the plain-jane firebird, not the formula.

28th Mar 2006, 07:27

Why don't YOU read the facts before you post?

The car which the reviewer (claims to have) beaten the '04 Cobra with was the "plain-jane" Firebird. With the V6.

16th Oct 2007, 21:00

Mustang cobra =/= kenn bell cobra.

5th Jul 2008, 20:33

I also have a 1994 25th Anniversary Edition Trans Am. It is by far the best car I have ever owned! It is fast and furious. It is NOT a V6. The very rare 25th anniversary model only comes in a 5.7L V8 350 with standard 275hp. I have increased the hp by redoing the exhaust and taking exceptional care of it. Mine has 76k on it and only gets driven in the warm months. It is a fascinating work of art. It is the WHTRYDR (my plates).

1994 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am 5.7 liter LT1 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.7 liter LT1 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance111000 miles
Previous carToyota Corona

Summary:

A lot of fun and performance for a reasonable price

Faults:

I've had the car for almost eleven years and the only problems I've had are with the water pump, which needed to be replaced, and the driver side automatic window, which gave out at around year ten. Everything else has been routine maintenance, like oil and tires and batteries.

General Comments:

It has been a great car. It is very fast, and still looks good eleven years after I bought it. The interior, and exterior, still look close to new. It handles very well. I have the six speed manual, and get about 17miles per gallon around town, but close to 30 on the highway.

It is not real quiet, In addition, many of the side panels are plastic, which makes them pretty much dent proof, but some people don't like plastic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th June, 2004

1994 Pontiac Firebird Formula 5.7L V8 350 CID from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.7L V8 350 CID Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired23000 miles
Most recent distance83000 miles
Previous carMazda RX7

Summary:

Performance: Yes Looks: Yes Reliable: Not even close

Faults:

What hasn't gone wrong?

-Optispark (Distributor) $400

-Water Pump $150

-Plugs and wires $90

-Alternator $90

-A/C Compressor $450

-Heater Core $100

-Radiator and hoses $300

-Routine Brakes $200

-Routine Tires $600

-Window track broke $250.

This is a tally of the COST of the parts and not the labor. I did all the labor myself to insure its done right and to save money. I do all the scheduled maintenance at all the correct intervals just hoping that would keep the repairs I would need to a minimum. (As you can see no such luck!)

General Comments:

I babied this car. Washed & waxed all the time, with some TLC. I wished it did the same for me! But all I can say is this car NOT good for a first time buyer, or for somebody that doesn't like to work on cars. I use to like to work on it, until I started HAVING to work on it!!

I'm not biased about imported cars vs. American (I loved this car when I got it) but after owning and American car and seeing how there built, with not much R&D or Quality Control into them, I'm definitely looking into and imported car.

It does have a lot of power though. More so than its competitors (Mustang and Imported cars)

Average about 16 MPG. 260 mile range on a tank full. Didn't notice a difference heavy or light footed. On the freeway got better though, 285 range.

Has nice clean, bold muscular lines. More stylish than a Camaro to me and not as common. I Like the dash better too. Interior holds up nice.

It handles fairly nice too, for being such a large car.

Internal Engine and Transmission are, so far, strong and reliable.

Inside creaks and rattles a bit.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th April, 2004

25th May 2004, 18:28

I have one too and had all the same problems as you. But still love this beautiful car! You're right, it's not for a first time buyer.

12th Nov 2004, 01:31

I too own one of these cars, but I have yet to have a problem with it. Very powerful car. Handles well. So far I don't have anything bad to say about it.

16th Nov 2004, 10:44

I have a 1994 formula fire-hawk car number 391 with a lot of the same problems you are having. Like the head light motor, heater core, and a mild case or oil leakage. But seeing, hearing, and feeling this car I would have to say I wouldn't trade it for anything else. Although it does cost a lot to keep one of these cars on the road.

31st Mar 2005, 21:58

I want to thank you for the comments and the verry well exact list of problems you have with the car, I was looking into purchasing one, but, now that you have informed me I think I might want to look at another vehicle, because I Am a first time buyer... i thank you, if you have any suggestive cars that would be good for a first time buyer please tell.. thanks bye.

6th Dec 2009, 13:04

I have a 1993 Pontiac Firebird Formula. Which is almost identical to the 94's and haven't had hardly any of the problems others have mentioned. Mine mostly just needs some electrical work done (windows and locks). And the thermostat needs to be replaced. that's all. This car was also bought used and everything is original. Personally, this car is a great car for being in the condition it's in for the age.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 22 reviews