1994 Pontiac Firebird Reviews - Page 7 of 7

1994 Pontiac Firebird Coupe 3.4L SFI from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.4L SFI Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired14684 miles
Most recent distance122000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Too overpriced for its value

Faults:

The lower engine seals and water pump seals needed to be replaced.

The alternator goes out every two years.

The driver-side window mounts are warped, causing the window to drop down inside the frame.

The radio buttons are starting to bubble and peel.

The rotors need to be replaced yearly due to warping.

General Comments:

This is a great looking car that handles very well.

However, Pontiac took some shortcuts, which are hurtful to the consumer once the car goes out of warranty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th July, 2001

15th May 2005, 14:35

94 3.4L. Alternator every 5,000 miles average as well. Nice car, but this is getting really annoying. This time I contacted AC Delco to get some answers.

1994 Pontiac Firebird 3.4 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.4 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired97000 miles
Most recent distance104000 miles
Previous carMercury Cougar

Summary:

An overpriced sportscar

Faults:

I just had to replace the starter.

The driver and passenger side windows have both gone off the track and the tail lights have had to be replaced.

General Comments:

I like the style and performance of the car.

No major things have gone bad (ex. transmission) but a lot of little things have that are a pain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd October, 2000

26th Jul 2001, 10:41

I also have a 94 Firebird. Never had to replace the starter, but I have had to replace the tail lights. I have a problem with the driver side window due to the auto-down feature, which has flexed the fiberglass window frame out then in and has caused the window mounts to shred. The window must be manually lifted to close properly. Other little problems. Had to have lower engine seals replaced at 100,000 miles.

23rd Apr 2009, 23:41

I have a 94 Firebird and my driver's side window won't even come out of the bracket. I'm not sure if it's the power box needs to be replaced or what. Please comment. p.s. the passenger side is fine.

1994 Pontiac Firebird 2D Coupe 3.4 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
Engine and transmission 3.4 V6
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10

Faults:

Had to replace the rear tail lights so many times, I cannot count.

Tension pulley system replaced twice.

Rear transmission seal replaced.

Exhaust manifold replaced.

Starter just went.

General Comments:

No more American cars for me. This was my first and now my last.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th June, 1999

19th Mar 2001, 20:48

Reliable as my 1994 Honda Civic with 145k.

I traded my 94 Honda Civic for a 1995 Firebird - this car, I bought it with 23,999 miles on it in 1998. I use this car for business, I drive 150 miles daily, right now this car has 135,000 miles on it, no oil leaks, no wear, the only parts I had to replace have been the alternator and fan motor... Do change your transmision oil every 30,000 miles and your engine oil at 5,000 and you will be OK. Also change your spark plugs at 30,000, and air filter, watch your Firebird last just as good as any import...

5th Oct 2003, 11:59

Received a rude awakening. My 1994 Firebird has 140,000 miles on it and needs an engine replacement. Was able to locate a great engine with only 65,000 miles on it. Then I find out that the only way to change the engine is to drop the frame. there are only a few shops capable of this work so I had to contact a dealer. The cost to change the engine is more than the car is worth.

4th Oct 2005, 12:16

Well the engineers at any automotive facility never think about the guy who wants to work on his own car. I love the days when it was so easy to replace about anything that went wrong. Hmmm maybe the manufacture gets a cut of the labor repairs lol.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 22 reviews