1994 Pontiac Firebird Reviews - Page 6 of 7

1994 Pontiac Firebird 3.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 miles
Most recent distance99000 miles
Previous carGeo Prizm

Summary:

A cheaper, but effective and stylish, sports car

Faults:

I've blown the alternator twice in the car since I've gotten it.

Driver's side power window motor broke recently.

General Comments:

This car is somewhat strong off the line, but will burn you down the stretch.

Cabin is very race car like, but backseats and very cramped.

It seems like this car is a gas hog, but it may be due to my driving style.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st September, 2003

2nd Oct 2005, 01:07

How do you have the 3.8 liter V6 in a 94?

1994 Pontiac Firebird Formula 5.7 LT1 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.7 LT1 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance89000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Metro

Summary:

Fast car, good looks, great over all

Faults:

The right turn signal does not flash.

Transmisson mount had to be replaced.

General Comments:

This is a very fast car. I beat a new 350Z. There just made for looks. Girls love the car. Good gas mileage for a V8.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th July, 2003

1994 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am 5.7 LT1 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.7 LT1 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired38000 miles
Most recent distance118000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

If your going to own one sports car in your life, get a Trans Am

Faults:

Headlight motors, both were replaced at 60,000 miles.

Power lock switches, both replaced.

Power window motors needed replacing after 70,000 miles (worn out).

Transmission mounts replaced twice once at 75,000 and at 105,000 miles (too much torque).

General Comments:

My Trans Am has brought me nothing but joy. From beating Z28's to watching the Mustang guys jaw drop as I pull away.

With just a couple of bolt-ons and some exhaust, it has become a serious street machine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd June, 2003

13th Aug 2004, 10:12

Ponies are week! Ponies SHOULD not even be considered "sports cars" or "muscle cars". If it wasn't for after market manufacturers the Pony's would never beat a STOCK Trans AM, let alone beef'd up one!

15th Jul 2006, 15:07

The cobra is a ford factory design from their svt department. Not an aftermarket business.

30th Mar 2008, 23:24

Sorry guys but who gives? Okay, maybe a 94 TA is faster than a 94 Cobra... I'd bet an 04 Cobra would smoke the snot out of an 04 TA! haha. Oooooo! In all actuality, they are very similar cars. If either has a few bolt ons thrown at it, they both make very capable sports cars. If you don't agree, well... to each his own. I just can't wait for a comparison of the 09 Camaro vs. Mustang vs. Challenger!!!

1994 Pontiac Firebird 3.4L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.4L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance77000 miles

Summary:

A very solid and fast car

Faults:

I had a problem with the windows going up were stuck.

Replace oil gage at 70000 miles.

General Comments:

I have had no problems with this car it is great I have only spent $30 on the car in repairs.

This car is very nice looking I have had people come up to me and ask if it is new.

I have put a sound system in the car and it was easy to do and it sounds great, they even have parts just made for the car to make it sound great.

The only problem this the seats are falling apart may need new seats.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th January, 2003

1994 Pontiac Firebird from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired23000 miles
Most recent distance61000 miles
Previous carSubaru GL

Summary:

Looks great, but is unreliable

Faults:

Radio controls on steering column went out completely, volume on control panel works intermittently, radio itself doesn't work at all, but CD still plays when it doesn't spit out the CD.

Driver side window controls had to be replaced.

Serpentine belt replaced at under 40,000 miles.

Transmission replaced at 60,000 miles. Whine started immediately after transmission replacement. Dealer says it's the rear-end, but after an outside shop installed 2 rear-ends and the dealer 2 more, the noise is still there. Outside shop says noise is transmission, dealer (and GM) says it's the rear end housing (probably).

General Comments:

Enjoyed the car in the beginning, now it's getting to be a money pit.

Handles well, looks great.

Rough ride typical of a sports car.

Car has become undependable at just 61,000 miles. My previous experience with a Pontiac was a Fiero. In the future I'll stay away from GM products.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st May, 2002

1994 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am GT 5.7L LT1 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.7L LT1 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired73800 miles
Most recent distance93600 miles

Summary:

Like an exotic without the steep price

Faults:

The dreaded intake oil leak, where the manifold touches the block, started at 90,000.

The water pump leaked at 84,000.

One passenger's side freeze plug developed a hole, therefore, a coolant leak occurred at 88,000.

The torque converter started to fail at 85,000 and shot metal shreds into the transmission.

The driver's side plastic power door lock switch broke.

General Comments:

This is my first car, and my all time favorite. The power is amazing, especially when you open up the motor with just bolt-ons. The engine is still very strong at almost 100k.

The cabin noise is quite loud due to the V8 exhaust note, especially with an after-market cat-back. However, the stereo in the car is great, which makes the inside exhaust note hardly noticeable.

Although the ride is somewhat harsh, the car handles very well in wet or dry conditions. The only thing you have to worry about is it going sideways on the 1-2 shift.

Most of the problems were due to the car being drag raced. I haven't had any major problems due to normal wear and tear.

The worst thing about the car is the poor visibility. The rear spoiler blocks half of your rear window, while the dash is long, which makes the front of the car hard to judge.

The interior is quite "plasitcky". A few things creak and crack during normal driving. The steering wheel radio controls, though, are a nice touch and work well. The red interior lights are a nice feature, as well, keeping the driver alert of all conditions.

This car turns many heads, and many people nod, or even compliment your car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th September, 2001

10th Nov 2004, 22:20

I just bought a '94 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am GT. It has 140,000 miles and runs like a brand new car. It handles excellent, has an enormous amount of power, and is overall a joy to drive. I love the car I am very happy with my purchase. A few things I don't like; the steering wheel radio controlls don't work, the cruise button is touchy (doesn't always work), premium gas is necessary (it runs like crap with regular or mid-grade), and I'm gonna go bankrupt putting tires on the back. HA HA HA!!!

It's an awesome car and I strongly recommend it.

Ps. better gas mileage than I expected too!

28th Aug 2005, 14:48

I purchased a 94 with only 34,000 on it. Everything is original. I have the same problem with the steering wheel radio controls not working and cruise is touchy. I can overlook that because I don't listen to it often, I enjoy the sound of the car to much. Overall it was a great buy and I would never trade this car in or sell it. The power is unbelievable in the low gears. I don't know what 6th gear is like, I haven't got there yet.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 22 reviews