2006 Pontiac G5 Pursuit Reviews - Page 5 of 5

2006 Pontiac G5 Pursuit Base 2.2 litre ECOTEC from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.2 litre ECOTEC Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired26 kilometres
Most recent distance12200 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Beetle

Summary:

Good value for the money!

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

I am the owner of a G5 pursuit coupe, and I absolutely love the car. It has a smooth ride and soaks up the bumps and frost heaves in the road with ease. The engine has plenty of power for any driving situation, and the automatic transmission shifts very smoothly. As far as gas mileage is concerned, it is very good. On a recent 650 kilometer trip, I was getting 6.4L/100kms while going 110 km/h and an outdoor temperature hovering around 0 degrees (Celsius). The interior has room for four adults - five would be quite a squeeze, and the trunk is quite large.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st May, 2007

2006 Pontiac G5 Pursuit SE 2 door 2.2 ecotec 140hp 152lb from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.2 ecotec 140hp 152lb Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired42 kilometres
Most recent distance18000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Sunfire

Summary:

Best buy of the year under 20K$ CAN

Faults:

The remote trunk broke, probably a fuse. I got it fixed at the dealer.

Bad view on reverse, but this problem occurs on many 2door models.

Trunk can hold a lot, but only has a small "hole" to get things in, so you can't put large things in it easily, even tho they would fit inside...

If you get what I mean.

General Comments:

This is an excellent car. It has a lot of punch in the first gear of the Getrag 5 speed manual transmission.

Ratios are.

1: 3,56

2: 2,05.

I don't know about the rest.

The handling is awesome compared to the Sunfire, and so is the suspension, the car is very silent (unless you make it roar ;) )

It has a pretty nice sound at 3,200 RPM to 5,000, then it gets "rushy". The engine sounds like it is going to leave the hood in the next second (some people like that feeling, although I don't)

Performance is great. Handling and comfort are awesome (except for the cup holders, they're bad).

The basic sound system is impressive actually... 228w Pioneer, lots of bass, many people ask me if I have subwoofers (which I don't for now)

It's pretty silent on the highway, the cabin is well isolated, the A/C works very well, the seats and interior look a lot better. and in my opinion it IS a lot better than in a Sunfire.

The gauges have a deadly sport look to me (red lights on white background) with green LCD light telling information about"

Fuel economy

Exterior temperature

Oil temperature % of its effectiveness

Average speed

Travel A

Travel B

And some more.

This car, is a beast from the outside, and a luxury car from the inside.

I love it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th June, 2006

21st Jun 2006, 17:59

I have the same pioneer sound package in my COBALT. Look in the trunk to the left, if you have a subwoofer then that's where it will be. I love mine!

1st Aug 2006, 06:02

Yeah I bought a 2006 Pursuit SE sedan and I absolutely love it. I know what you mean for the trunk, it's big enough to hold a lot of things, but the hole is small. I have trouble fitting a big cooler in it, although it would fit if the hole was bigger. I love the fact that the subwoofer doesn't take any space in my trunk. Other than that, everything else is perfect. The passengers love it also, now I'm the one stuck driving all the time cause they like the ride.

25th Sep 2006, 13:06

So in other words... could car to buy? I think I am picking mine up tomorrow!!

Sooo excited... I'm a girl so all the stuff about the engine doesn't make sense... but it sure looks nice!!

26th Oct 2006, 11:46

I'm a mechanic, take it from me, the engine is nice too!! The Eco Tech 4 is a very solid and reliable engine, and offers excellent fuel economy.

28th Feb 2007, 15:24

Purchased a 06 G5 and do truly love it. Great little car, good on gas smooth ride for the most part. Must admit that the stereo system was very important with being in Sales and on the road all day.

Two issues so far in 7 months: The gear shift had to be replaced as my keys would get stuck and often would not come out at all.

Fuel injectors had to be replaced (on a recall).

Really annoying vibration on driver side with a strong wind or at 80 kms/hr. Almost like the windshield is vibrating Will be having this checked with next oil change. Yes I bought this brand new.

28th Feb 2007, 16:37

The G-5 Pursuit is a great car with a great warranty and great dealer service (in my area at least). The Eco Tech 4 is a smooth, reliable and reasonably peppy engine in this car. I'm a mechanic too, and I have had really great luck with GM, Ford and Chrysler, but service has been the best at GM.

20th Oct 2013, 23:32

I am getting a white one tomorrow myself! I'm a guy and it's my first car, and I love 2 doors.

2006 Pontiac G5 Pursuit SE 2.2L Ecotec from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.2L Ecotec Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired75 kilometres
Most recent distance500 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

Nice car, a head turner

Faults:

Nothing yet.

General Comments:

I just bought a 2006 Pontiac Pursuit SE coupe in blue. Car interior is much better than my Grand Am (I posted for 2003 Pontiac Grand Am "A nice first car" (I still drive that one as well)).

This car has a nice interior, pretty good seat fabrics, and is pretty quiet.

The engine has a good punch to it when you need it. Fuel economy has been pretty good.

The only thing is that the some passengers of mine complained that the seats hurt their back (front or back seat). I have no complaints about them. They are comfortable to me.

A/C works very well. It makes my hands numb while I'm driving.

Sound system is decent.

Too bad the automatic transmission isn't a 5 speed (as is the norm now).

My car color is blue.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th May, 2006

16th May 2006, 09:44

I've been thinking of buying one myself. Keep us posted on the good and the bad.

22nd Jul 2006, 18:19

I just drove home in my 2006 Pursuit Coupe GT - it is fantastic! I love how it handles, the 2.4L (with a 5-speed) has plenty of jam for highway driving, gas mileage is excellent, the sound system is kick-butt, A/C is more than substantial (temp is in the mid 90's today)... I can't believe all the great things in this car, and the price was so reasonable!! I am a happy camper!!

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 11 reviews