1990 Pontiac Grand Am Reviews - Page 2 of 5

1990 Pontiac Grand Am 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.6 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 kilometres
Most recent distance132000 kilometres
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

Disposable

Faults:

Every brake component possible.

Alternator.

Tie rods.

Struts.

Rust and more rust.

General Comments:

Very tricky to get in and out as you sit on a recessed floor.

Not sporty no matter how you look at it.

Interior is very cheaply made.

More rust than an old Jetta.

A good winter beater as I was easily cruising through a foot and a half deep snow, while everone else was stuck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th April, 2006

24th Apr 2006, 21:29

If your car is disposable, dispose of it. it's 16 years old, it's time.

1990 Pontiac Grand Am LX 4 cylinder from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles

Summary:

Probably wouldn't buy another one

Faults:

Head gasket leak at 90k. This was the car's 4th headgasket.

Car had been in our family since day one. Head gasket issues were commonplace.

General Comments:

Average comfort.

Aside from head gaskets, I guess it ran fine.

Adequate trunk space.

Decent gas mileage.

I won't buy another grand am, ever. This definitely was not one of Pontiac's finer vehicles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th April, 2006

1990 Pontiac Grand Am LE 2.3L Quad Four from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.3L Quad Four Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 kilometres
Most recent distance57000 kilometres

Summary:

Heed my warning: AVOID PONTIAC!

Faults:

The car has had several issues. In my ownership (listed in point form to quick reference) :

-SLOW window motors (I think they are on the verge of death)

-Transmission (several issues)

-Rough shifts

-Missing shifts (i.e. has trouble deciding when to shift from 1 to 2, 2 to 3, etc.)

-Horrible shaking when in reverse

-Minor water leaks around all seals

-Power handling (see General Comments)

-Loud knocking sound

-Lower than reported fuel economy.

General Comments:

The Pontiac Grand Am is a car that everyone should avoid. The few positive remarks I have about this car are hidden behind the major concerns. The car will not hold a charge. I have a new battery, and I have checked all connections yet the clock will always reset, locks will not work, etc. The headlights also seem to have problems- if I try to use the headlights and the brakes at the same time, the headlights (and tail lights) go out. THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE. The Transmission has also become a recent major problem. When shifted into reverse, the whole car (violently) shakes.

On the other hand, the car builds up to city speed OK (has issues getting up to highway speed). This is about the only good comment I have for the car.

No matter what the price, or how low the kms (I know the previous two owners, this car did not have a roll back!) avoid any Pontiac!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th December, 2004

6th Jun 2005, 11:27

I believe you just received a grand am that the previous owners did not take care of the care. I feel it's a great car despite what anyone may say negatively about it.

28th Aug 2005, 08:21

Poor care and it's the car's fault? Please...don't knock the whole barrel over 1 bad apple.

23rd Aug 2006, 14:17

I did get mine new and had some of the issues he had, but read on:

The transmission shifting was fixed by changing the torque converter valve at a cost of 45.00. Shaking in rev. Same thing. All of the things he has listed COULD be in the transmission.

Now the water leak and windows is from the weathersealing around the window and door. It gets old and worn out.

If the car was that bad, I would have never got my 3rd one. This is something that happened to my wife and I. "Little Red" had 51k on her and we were way up north, Roanoke Va. We live in Atl, Ga. Red blew a head gasket and there was no one in that town that knew what a Quad 4 was. So back to Raleigh N.C. We had to leave the car for 4 days so it could be fixed.

Long story short - Red was over the mileage to have this done under warranty, but Pontiac PAID for EVERYTHING all the way to my rental car. My mother still has her.

27th Sep 2007, 21:10

Personally I like Pontiac I've had 2 and they never died. very reliable. and I agree no one should have the right to judge an entire company over one product... especially wen they make millions of cars.

20th Apr 2008, 22:37

I had a 1990 Grand Am for 5 years. The biggest piece of junk ever. It rusted out after four years and then the quad 4 engine had internal problems after 67,000 miles. I changed the oil every 3,000 and spent a fortune on that car. I will never buy another GM car again. They even admitted the quad 4 was a disaster!

26th Apr 2009, 13:27

I bought a 90 Grand Am with a quad 4 in March 92 with 22k and it has been junk from day 1. Too many little problems to mention. Big problem head gasket and valve job at 48k. Then started losing compression around 77k head gasket and valves again. Decided wasn't worth fixing again and to see how long it would run. Well its still going on 2 cylinders at 102k just won't quit.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 17 reviews