1990 Pontiac Grand Am Reviews - Page 3 of 5

1990 Pontiac Grand Am SE 2.3L Quad4 DOHC LO from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.3L Quad4 DOHC LO Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired104000 kilometres
Most recent distance122000 kilometres
Previous carMercury Cougar

Summary:

The SE is a sporty and quick car

Faults:

Crank sensor was the first to go, cost around $500 Canadian for a new one.

Fog lights soon died after the crank sensor.. just replaced the bulbs and they were fine.

Most recent thing was the fuel pump, which blew around 120K kilometers.

The exhaust tips and mufflers seem to rust really quick, for some reason there is lots of moisture in the crankcase.

General Comments:

Extremely reliable car.

The 2.3L Quad4 Low output is very quick in accelerating and puts out around 160hp.

Interior has enough room to fit 4 people other than the driver, comfortably.

Engine noise is pretty loud on the quad4's from the interior, but you get used to it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th July, 2004

1990 Pontiac Grand Am LE 2.4 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.5 / 10
Distance when acquired112000 miles
Most recent distance136000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Z-24

Summary:

One bad apple..

Faults:

After putting 20,000 miles on the car, everything that could of went bad with the car did go bad with it.

First the Oxygen sensors went bad, there are 2.

Then after a complete tune up, including plugs, the boots, air filter, oil change as usual the car was still not right.

It began like back-firing and stuttering, missing out again.. we replaced the coil packs, the coil housing, then the starter because this week it went out as well.

Well about a week later, out goes the fuel pump. We then replaced that.

Well, we tried to fire it up and then after hours of scratching our heads realized a sensor for the throttle had gone out as well as a sensor for something I don't even remember..

To finish, the car was still running like crap.. we took it to a different mechanic who said its gotta be your brain.. We shelled 100 bucks for a new one that failed to be the problem.

For another 50 bucks we had the compression checked to find out the valves had went...

PAY TO SEE A GOOD MECHANIC IMMEDIATELY IF YOU HAVE PROBLEMS WITH YOUR CAR... ITS WORTH IT!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th April, 2004

20th Sep 2004, 23:17

I don't understand half the people that write these reviews. I have a hard time believing the information and reviews written. The majority of these problems seem to be written by the general uneducated consumer.

These engines do NOT have 2 oxygen sensors. Two sensors didn't start in most domestic cars until 1996. Repair shops LOVE seeing you types walk through the door.

1990 Pontiac Grand Am LE 2.5L tech 4 distribuless from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5L tech 4 distribuless Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired58000 miles
Most recent distance82000 miles

Summary:

Excellent power and cab, too many small problems

Faults:

The Transmission fluid pan had to be replaced because it leaked.

The Speedometer didn't work when I got it, and the Odometer runs about 5x too fast (1 mile registers about 5 on odometer.)

The car started backfiring at about 75,000 miles; had to replace the engine coil, plugs, and wires.

The dash lights didn't work when I got it, and for some reason the fuse blew out right after I had them fixed -- trying again with a bigger fuse (10 instead of 5 as marked on fuse box.)

Drivers side window (manual) comes out of track.

Engine mounts are bad, so it rattles when switching to 3rd gear at low speeds.

General Comments:

2.5 L engine is sweet, and doesn't get bad mileage, although I don't know what mileage I'm really getting.

I can out-accellerate a Buick Roadmaster at 50 and up, so I'm pretty happy with performance.

Turning is pretty good, and the hand brake is helpful for making curves.

I picked it up for $1000 plus like $400 in repairs ($140 for transmission pan, and $160 for coil, wires, and plugs).

I was really happy with the cabin size, I'm 6'6", and I'm not cramped driving it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th October, 2003

3rd Feb 2004, 13:54

I got the same car a little over a year ago. I, too have had similar problems, in fact many exactly the same- (backfiring after XX, XXX miles, dash lights, rattling from 3rd gear)

11th May 2004, 08:31

I have a grand Am Le, with 158,000 miles on it, NO problems, paid $595.00 last July, had 147,000 miles on it then, on the hi-way I, am getting 40 miles per gallon, great car.

31st Oct 2005, 10:53

I Brought My Grand AM LE last year with 100,000 miles on it, now it has 200,000 and still running strong, just all depends how you take care of it.

14th Jun 2013, 02:06

I have a 1990 Grand Am LE 2.5 liter engine that I bought back in 2000, and it had 124,000 miles and I paid $1,200 for it. Now it has 264,000 miles on it and still runs strong. It is the original motor and transmission. 2.5 liter engines are very reliable engines.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 17 reviews