1990 Pontiac Grand Am Reviews - Page 5 of 5

1990 Pontiac Grand Am LE Quad 4 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Quad 4 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired135000 miles
Most recent distance157000 miles
Previous carNissan Pickup

Summary:

Highway robbery

Faults:

The computer was bad when I bought it as well as the crank shaft sensor. Replaced 2 alternator, 1 battery, heater core, shocks, brakes, and a timing belt.

General Comments:

This car seemed like a good deal. My best friend bought her 1991 2 days before she bought mine, and she had even more troubles than I had.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th December, 2002

1990 Pontiac Grand Am ES 2.3 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.3 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance126000 miles
Previous carToyota Supra

Faults:

Muffler fell off at 110,000 miles.

Heater core hose broke at 125,000 miles.

Alternator belt broke at 100,000 miles.

General Comments:

I payed $500 dollars for this car, sight unseen. I have put 30,000 miles on this car and spent very little money on it. The most being new tires when I bought it. The car averages 25 to 35 miles per gallon consistently. The car runs good and handles great. I drive the car about 500 miles a week and I am very satisfied with its performance. I would recommend a Pontiac Grand Am to all my friends whether they were buying a new one or a used one. Pontiac made a very good car when they made the Grand Am.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th November, 2002

1990 Pontiac Grand Am LE 2.5 Liter Fuel Injected from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5 Liter Fuel Injected Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired93000 miles
Most recent distance96000 miles

Summary:

A high performance bargain

Faults:

Nothing in my ownership, except is was stolen and required some interior repair.

General Comments:

Probably one of the most well-built cars in the world, albeit a bit expensive.

Grand Ams have astonishing quality, so much so that a price cannot be put on one.

Its just a overall great car, its fast.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th November, 2002

1990 Pontiac Grand Am LE 2.3 Quad4 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.3 Quad4 DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired105000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carMercury Topaz

Summary:

Avoid these cars at all costs!

Faults:

Every sensor in the car has gone bad (this is not a typo!)

ECM at 113,000 miles.

Head gaskets, one before I bought the car, one after.

Won't start after running for more than an hour; takes 30 minutes to cool down and restart.

Bad brakes.

Valves are now bad after head is only under a year old.

General Comments:

This car looked pretty, and seemed like a bargain at $2,000. I have since put twice that amount into repairs of this monstrosity. I have researched these cars on-line for a while now, and these cars seem to be nothing but trouble. It seems to me that GM *knew* how bad the Quad4 was, but still chose to inflict these abominations on the public. Therefore, I'll never buy another GM car again, and I'll advise everyone I know to do the same.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th October, 2002

10th Feb 2003, 10:47

You must have gotten a really beaten up car (abused by previous owner)

We still have 2 Pontiac Grand Ams (93 SE 4 door with Quad 4 and a 99 GA GT) both are excellent cars, best we have ever had. Gas mileage is unbelievable on the quad 4 at 450-500 miles per tank. the Gt with a smaller tank averages about 250-300 per tank.

The only thing I have had fixed on the GT is a the Low tire pressure sensor (it is currently under review by Pontiac, GM and Buick for a recall)

As for the 93, it has close to 200,000 miles on the car, its down right now because I broke a spark plug in the head, which is about to be replaced. Of course minor maitnenance stuff such as tires, brakes, shocks/struts and a new muffler along with regular oil changes etc.

I have not hesitated in either of these cars to jump in them and run them cross country.

1990 Pontiac Grand Am SE 2.3 Quad 4 (D) from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.3 Quad 4 (D) Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired152988 miles
Most recent distance194645 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

It is very quick and sharp looking!

Faults:

The previous owner destroyed the head on the Grand Am by drilling out one of the spark plug holes off center and as a result into the face of a valve.

The next thing to go was the starter he had put on the car just before he destroyed the head.

Finally the Transmission went out on me which was 90% my fault from racing with it too much.

General Comments:

This is one of those cars that for some unknown reason is really fast, It has taken other cars that should take it hands down like the 3.1 V6 Cavaliers and the 3.0 Ford Probe 5-speeds and I mean takes them by car lengths.

It's cornering ability's could use some improvement, but, still is decent for an everyday driver.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th October, 2002

20th Nov 2002, 17:48

Just letting you know that its nice to see a Quad 4 with such high miles. I sincerely hope that mine one day sees 200,000 miles, however driving with a broken motor mount for 4,000 miles probably isn't the safest (it is chained down now though.)

11th May 2003, 00:33

Yes, very great to see a quad 4 with that many miles. I used to have one with the quad 4 H.O. 5 speed and had only cold air induction done to it. I raced it at my local drag-strip and ran a 10.1@71 mph in the 1/8 mile. I've beaten many V-8's including 5.0 mustangs and I have never lost to a 4 or 6 cylinder car. Great performance!

1st Apr 2005, 22:56

I'm driving a 90 Grand Am SE Turbo, and let me tell you, that car will MOVE!! I would have never guessed that car would kill WRX's and 5.0's, but it is a sleeper!! The blow-off valve sounds awesome too!

Nikki

1990 Pontiac Grand Am from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired11000 miles
Most recent distance138357 miles

Summary:

This car was super dependable and a great buy!

Faults:

I've had a couple of oil leaks.

I've had to put an alternator in it 3 times.

I've also had to repair the muffler twice.

General Comments:

I spent 8,900 to buy the Grand Am and drove it for 11 years and traded it for 1,000. I got 11 years of use for only 7,900. I believe I got such a great deal moneywise. I loved this car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th June, 2001

19th Jul 2001, 11:41

I currently have a 90 Grand Am and have had more problems than the car is worth. I have replaced the muffler 2 times, the brakes 3 times, the alternator 3 times and the engine once, not to mention all kinds of other problems that I can't even think of. (that is how many problems I've had, I can't even remember) I have had everything imaginable go wrong with it. I just put over $600 into it in Spring for shocks, front end alignment, fixing the windows. The windows stop rolling up or down every other month. Now my wheel well is totally rusted through and the rear shocks need replacing. I am trading it for a 2000 Dodge Neon which my brother-in-law (a mechanic/car sales man) says is a good buy for what I want to spend on a car. Good-Bye money sucking problem causing 1990 GRAND AM!!

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 17 reviews