1991 Pontiac Grand Am Reviews - Page 2 of 4

1991 Pontiac Grand Am LE 2.4 from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Distance when acquired9000 miles
Most recent distance189000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

I want a hundred of them

Faults:

I had to replace the muffler lost the converter. Had to replace the bumber and all the other parts of the bumber.

I had to replace the left front side window. The latch that moves the window up and down was broken.

I had to drill holes in the bottom of the floor mat to drain any of the water that filled my car. For some reason the car didn't come with floor drains.

I had to replace my heating vent. The one part that controls my air conditioning and heat.

General Comments:

This car is fast, almost to fast for me.

Good car to handle.

No problems with the gas.

Everything about this car is great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th September, 2004

5th Jan 2005, 09:19

What in gods name did you do to this car? Drive it into a swamp?

12th Feb 2005, 02:25

Drain holes?? Are you fishing with your Grandam. You might need a Jeep Wrangler.. they come with drain holes. Good luck.

1991 Pontiac Grand Am LE 2.5L Throttle Body Injection from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5L Throttle Body Injection Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired102000 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles
Previous carBuick Riviera

Summary:

Nice little car that's easy on gas

Faults:

Transaxle Converter Clutch solenoid malfunctions.

Replaced an alternator.

Seats are worn.

Transmission sometimes shifts harshly from park to drive or from reverse to drive.

There exists a slight miss. It's not the fuel filter nor spark plugs.

General Comments:

This car is easy on gas. I get about 23 miles per gallon (about 9.5 kilometers per liter).

The seats do get uncomfortable on long trips (especially since I am 6 feet (183 cm) tall).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th July, 2004

1991 Pontiac Grand Am SE 4 cylinder quad from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder quad Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired167000 miles
Most recent distance203000 miles
Previous carChrysler Voyager

Summary:

A great bargain

Faults:

My heater core recently went bad.

General Comments:

This has been a very dependable vehicle.

Other than the fun I had changing the headlights. I have no complaints.

Will soon be changing the heater core, I will let you know how that goes.

This car is very comfortable on long trips. and seems to handle well in snow.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th February, 2004

1991 Pontiac Grand Am LE 2.5 DOHC Quad4 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5 DOHC Quad4 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles
Previous carLincoln Continental

Summary:

Car made a Pontiac man out of me

Faults:

TRansmission replaced at 90,000 miles Engine replaced at 93,000 miles Water pump replaced at 85,000 miles.

General Comments:

Since the car was purchased used, the previous repairs were done as needed. The car has performed admirably and has been in daily used since 1997. It is a quick, efficient and basically reliable car with mimimum daily maintenance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th February, 2004

1991 Pontiac Grand Am 1991 Pontiac SE 2.3 liter quad 4 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.3 liter quad 4 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired88900 miles
Most recent distance89500 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

A lot of power for the money

Faults:

Since I have owned this Grand Am, I have replaced the battery and tailpipe.

As far as overall reliability is concerned, it has been a great car.

However, it is showing some rust on the rear quarters and doors.

General Comments:

The performance on this car, leaves a lot to be desired.

For instance, I can pass most cars like they are sitting still.

As far as the interior is concerned, it is very nice and clean, with no wear.

This summer I plan to do some bodywork on the car and paint it.

I never was a fan of smaller, more modern cars, but I really like this car.

As far as the Pontiac Grand Am is concerned, I am glad to have one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th January, 2004

17th Nov 2004, 07:31

I fixed my rust hole by sanding then puting ducktape over the hole then paint.

1991 Pontiac Grand Am LE 2.3L QUAD 4 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.3L QUAD 4 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired115000 miles
Most recent distance133000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Don't drive it hard, you'll drive it into the ground

Faults:

The distributor was not working right, so it had to be replaced.

Recently the engine was over heating due to a small leak in the radiator fluid lines. This caused about 10 things to go wrong. The heat warped the cam shafts which broke the timing chain which cause an interference between the valves and the piston. This in turn putting a hole in the piston. And all at the same time the water pump went. Basically the QUAD 4 cannot take any abuse. It was engineered to work one way with nothing going wrong or else it craps out.

General Comments:

The car wasn't that fast, but it didn't look too bad for its year. The 92 looks a lot better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th January, 2004

11th Apr 2004, 17:30

I find this review questionable due to it starting off by stating the distributor had to be replaced. Quad 4 engines have no distributor. I would agree with he assessment that these engines do have head gasket problems. But if one keeps an eye on the gauges and does not overheat the engine... major problems can be avoided.

18th Oct 2004, 04:00

I agree with the person above. The Quad 4 is truly a great little engine with more power than most v6's. And I know they can take abuse. I had a grand am with a quad 4 and I put 40k miles of hell on that car after it already had 150k on it. Not once did I have a major problem with it. It did try to overheat once, but I did the smart thing, shut it off and fix whats wrong (just needed water) instead of driving on, that's what will kill any motor, not just a quad 4.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 14 reviews