1991 Pontiac Grand Am Reviews - Page 3 of 4

1991 Pontiac Grand Am LE from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired34 miles
Most recent distance129200 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Beetle

Summary:

Good deal for the price new in 91

Faults:

Cooling system on this car is going bad. Have had to replace water pump 3 times in the past 5 years. I have to have the system flushed regularly now.

Heater core replaced at 105k miles.

Starter replaced around the same time as heater core.

Paint peeled within first 7 years of ownership and was repainted under warranty.

Alternator replaced twice in past 3 years.

Front struts replaced twice in 12 years.

Driver's side door is falling apart. Interior door handle broke off in my hand a few months ago and last week the window regulator broke. Can't find the part as it is a manual window and they aren't carried by the dealer or aftermarket sellers.

General Comments:

This care has been reliable and comfortable for the 12 years I've owned it. However, after not being able to find parts (see window reference) I'm a bit frustrated with this manufacturer. The car isn't that old!

The car still looks great too and people are impressed when they see it. Good condition, clean, etc.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st October, 2003

10th Jan 2004, 22:23

I had the same problem with my driver side window (as well as the door handles coming off) and my dad fixed it himself. I'm sure you can get the parts you need by going to a local junk yard and buying them for cheap.

22nd Feb 2004, 16:59

Same problem with regulators twice found replacements at junk yard ez fix 1/2 hour.

11th Apr 2004, 17:34

Most manufacturers stop carrying parts for model years more than 8 years old. It is bot uncommon to have difficulty finding parts for a 12 year old car. Junk yards are usually the answer.

3rd Feb 2005, 20:35

Parts for all cars are available for 25 yrs after they have been sold...it`s the law.

4th Feb 2005, 10:50

I own a 91 Grand am, I have had to replace the heater core twice now. Can't grip to much about this car as it has over 222K miles on it. My outside drivers door handle is now broken and my window regulator gave out for good in the fall last year. I have been unable to find a replacement part for the window regulator either. We have tried several junk yards (even one that advertised 5000 cars of course no grand ams). I think Pontiac made this nice little car to good therefore no one is getting rid of them into junk yards for us to get replacement parts. If anyone knows where we can get a replacement window regulator for a 2 door 91 grand am driver side, please let us know.

17th Jan 2014, 13:15

I had the same problem and could not find parts. Remove the old regulator and replace the tape yourself. Any auto parts store or online can get a roll over regular tape for no more than $15. It's not easy to get the old one out, but once you do, tape replacement is easy.

1991 Pontiac Grand Am LE 2.4 Litre Quad4 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.4 Litre Quad4 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired99405 miles
Most recent distance142997 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

Possibly the best late model Grand Am you can get

Faults:

Starter has been replaced twice.

Alternator has been replaced.

Gear shifter selector cable broke at 141887mi. Easy fix, and possible fault of the auto shop where I took it to be repaired.

Rear brakes done at 142890mi.

Small oil leak near timing chain cover.

Needs muffler work, e-brake adjusted, and new engine mounts.

Some interior components have start to show their age. The main console has cracked on the side, and the center glove-box broke one of it's hinges.

General Comments:

Overall, this has been one of the most dependable cars I've owned.

The Quad4 is quick for a 4-cyl, but will not impress those that are used to the power and acceleration of a v6 or 8.

Very comfortable for it's type of car, and I'm surprised at how much I can fit in the trunk and back seat.

The interior is kind of plain, and not of very high quality.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th October, 2002

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 14 reviews