1995 Pontiac Grand Am Reviews - Page 28 of 28

1995 Pontiac Grand Am GT 2.3 Quad 4 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.3 Quad 4 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired46500 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles
Previous carPontiac 6000

Summary:

An absolute dream

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong except for routine stuff. Tires, brakes, etc.

General Comments:

I have asked for a lot from this car. Everyone told me I was making a mistake by not going with a car from Japan due to the mileage I drive. I sure am glad I did not listen to my "friends".

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd February, 2001

1995 Pontiac Grand Am SE V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance101000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Berreta

Summary:

Simply pathetic

Faults:

First off, about one month after getting the car, the alternator goes out.

Soon after the speaker wiring for the front speakers goes out without warning.

Next the brakes skip without warning every single day which caused a recent minor accident (which could have been very tragic).

The oil seal busted off without warning about the same time, the engine itself is slowing killing itself - the rod is tapping more and more everyday as time goes by.

General Comments:

I have treated this car with so much respect. Giving it everything it has ever needed - frequent engine checks which at first seemed to be a waste of time. Quickly became a timebomb with more problems every time I opened the hood. Pontiac won't give a response to the brake problems even though they know about it, this is critically dangerous.

As for the rod tapping, it seems only right that a car that is so well known should go down with a bang. I'm disgusted. A true nightmare.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th January, 2001

7th Oct 2005, 10:30

Pontiac Grand Am 95,

I changed the transmission fluid and poof, now the cruise control doesn't work and the cold air compressor won't come on. All the fuses are fine and all the relays. Putting the transmission shifter into third gear, the car takes off in third. At zero miles per hour to ten to fifty, all third gear. I didn't even think this was possible because shifting should be controlled by hydraulics in the transmission. Well at least I have the option of stating out in second gear then shifting up to third later, manually. I think it's time for a car company that can build a simpler car without all the modern electrical annoyances, that as a result costs less. What a way out idea!

1995 Pontiac Grand Am SE 3.1 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance89000 miles
Previous carDodge Intrepid

Summary:

The car is turning into a rolling piece of garbage (per our son)

Faults:

Our son owns this car and was told a few months ago that it has a cracked head gasket. There should be a recall on this, because from talking to individuals (mechanics), we've been told that this is a very common defect in these cars. Therefore, if this is a common defect and the dealership knows of this problem, why isn't there a recall? Please let me know who I can write to or call to force a recall on this.

Another problem is the front passenger window. It won't roll up and down correctly, it shattered, had it fixed, and now it's happening again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th January, 2001

6th Apr 2001, 09:16

Tell him not to beat on it when its cold outside. A cold head doesn't like high temperatures too well.

11th May 2001, 13:58

My driver's side front window started out not rolling back up. However, it would only roll up about 1/4" at a time and it took about 15 minutes to roll it completely up. Now, it doesn't go down at all. Very difficult to pay tolls!

I've been told I need to get the control module (by the arm rest) replaced. What did you all do to fix this?

1995 Pontiac Grand Am GT 2.3 Quad 4 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.3 Quad 4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired82000 miles
Most recent distance111000 miles
Previous carFord Escort GT

Summary:

Inexpensive high performance car

Faults:

Got 106,000 miles out of the first motor, about what was expected. Keep having a recurring ABS problem, all wheel sensors have been replaced and it does not seem to have fixed the problem.

General Comments:

Wonderful to drive, the Quad 4 with the manual transmission is quick to respond on some of the twisty back roads in the area. The AC is nice and cold, has never been touched since the car was new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th June, 2000

20th Jan 2001, 22:10

I have the V6 3.1 liter Grand Am with a manual transmission and it has been reliable.

8th May 2001, 17:12

I have the 3.1 V6, great car. Got it at 39K miles. Alternator went at 72K miles. No biggie. Quite reliable, hugs curves well. Anyone know what to modify/replace to boost performance? Would like an extra 25 HP.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 110 reviews